We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Rutland, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here in the middle of April with my husband and teenage daughter and it was not very busy. Rooms and facilities were immaculate. We were in the rooms across the street from the main hotel which is just a short walk and also gives you easy access to the shady pool with a bar and the adults only pool. The Beds were comfortable and the bathroom adequate with a huge shower. They are a little stingy on the towels. Also these rooms are near where they have wedding receptions and one night the music went on until late. The lawn in front of the beach is nicely shaded with comfortable chairs if you need relief from the sun. You may want to save your chair when you go down to breakfast as seems to be a popular spot.
Breakfast is great with lots of options. The hotel is located right in the middle of Tamarindo so it easy to walk to shops dining and activities.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The concierge desk staff are great and recommended some great trips which we enjoyed. Definitely do the Palo Verde trip. The guide Juan Carlos is incredibly knowledgeable!.
No ice machines but they will give ice at the bar.
We had a wonderful time and would visit again

Room Tip: I was worried about having a room across the street but they are very nice and you are near the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    525
    197
    112
    77
See reviews for
312
573
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the time that we arrived through our stay and our departure, the staff was warm, friendly, courteous and aimed to please. The rooms were spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast buffet was absolutely fabulous. The entire resort is built on comfort and a relaxed atmosphere. The resort is located right on the beach and centrally located near souvenir shops, other restaurants, and banks. We will definitely be back! Muchas Gracias a todos los empleados del Diria! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking time to share your comment, your opinion is very important to us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Diria’s location is what attracted us to this hotel. Tamarindo beach is beautiful. If you surf the waves are in front or to the right (looking at beach) of the Diria so it is convenient. They can lock up your board for free. There is a $30 a day room charge if you keep the board in your room. Our room was on the top (3rd floor, rm 318) ocean side. Upon checking in we found the traffic and the person on the bull horn announcing bar specials as they drove through town a bit much. We asked to move to the 1st floor ocean side and were given room 147 – perfect. The first floor has rooms on the street side and the ocean side so the traffic noise is muffled. If noise is an issue for you, ask for a first floor room on the quiet side of the hotel – room 147 or higher on the ocean side. We loved walking out of the room to the beach however, sitting on the patio is like being in a cubicle with little privacy. Breakfast was great with a ton of options from pancakes, cereal, and fruit to made to order omelets. We found town a bit shady at night however, there were 4 of us, not sure if I’d feel safe with just my husband and myself. We did see howler monkeys in the trees across the street one time. We found most of the staff friendly if you engage them. Hated the wrist band but understood there isn’t a good way to keep people who do not stay there out. When you lay out by the beach on the Diria property you are hounded by people selling trinkets, they are relentless. Try to ignore them and this emboldens them to get your attention. It is really annoying. Overall the hotel’s location is an attraction however; I prefer smaller more personal hotels in Costa Rica, this hotel is a large resort on the beach.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a first floor room on the quiet side of the hotel – room 147 or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After traveling around Costa Rica, this was a perfect place to relax before heading home. You just can't beat the view! I would agree with other review that the service was not as good as the other places we were in Costa Rica, but it was great for surfing, swimming, and relaxing. I recommend asking for 1st floor sunset rooms as they have a patio right out to the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Stay in a sunset view on the 1st floor where you will have a patio right out to the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your time and comment, we strive every day to give our clients the best service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We gathered at the Tamarindo Diria to celebrate a wedding. Our party numbered forty and included small children, teens, adults and grandparents. Everyone had a good time. The hotel facility is dated but the staff stays on top of any maintenance request. The rooms are small and the bathroom was tiny. But the ocean view was perfect. You can't beat the beach and the four pools (one adult only) were a nice addition. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast with a wide selection of choices. The service at lunch and dinner was very slow. The location downtown within walking distance of other restaurants made this a non-issue.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms offer the best ocean view. Ask for one at the ends so that you are not looking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The title sums it up: The Diria knows it is the best spot in Tamarindo - the only centrally located luxury in town - and that attitude comes across in so many ways. Compared to other four-star resorts, and considering the price point, especially for Costa Rica, people often expect to be cared for. The Diria is just not interested in doing that. I have stayed there three times, and each time, that arrogance comes across in both individual treatment (telling me I booked through Expedia and that I could not have indicated that I wanted a king-sized bed, when I actually booked through Hotels.com and there was a bed size notation, only I couldn't show them because the internet access they promised didn't work. They basically shrug.), as well as more systemic carelessness, like no mini bar/fridge in some rooms (despite descriptions online), not taking care of coffee and milk at breakfast. Though of course some of the staff (including a parking attendant who has been there for years) treat you with typical Costa Rican warmth and hospitality, this last visit I started to get the feeling that the staff weren't treated or paid very well, or were at least overwhelmed.

Having said that, those issues are truly small stuff because the resort is, as everyone well knows, gorgeous, well-maintained, and the perfect balance of authentic Costa Rican and luxury to satisfy even a fussy American. The buffet breakfast included with each room is nothing short of stellar, as is the setting in which you eat it.

I have always liked that you can find someplace to sit, whether you want to be among people at the main pool and bar area, or right on the beach under an umbrella, tucked under a tree in front of the ocean, sitting in the shade next to the swim-up bar, etc.

A tip about when to stay - in the wetter seasons, the beachfront eating area and the swim-up bar at the pool with the islands across the street are not open, but I don't mind. This was my first visit during dry season and the crowds were a bit overwhelming, as were the aggressive vendors on the beach.

Room Tip: Decide whether it's worth it for you to go for the ocean view room (all ocean view rooms are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MD USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a first floor room with lovely views and a great beach. Breakfast is included but the food was pretty awful, flies on a lot of it. If you want bottled water, there is an extra cost as they get it from the bar. I just hate wearing those stupid plastc bracelets, especially in 95 degree heat with matching humidity. Make them keep it loose so you can take it off. I don't think they checked anyway.
Our room was nice and the maids work very hard to clean every day but ants are a problem. The beach is very nice there $12. for an umbrella and 2 chairs each day everywhere along the beach. If you want to surf or take surfing lessons with luxury when done, this is the place. There are much cheaper accomodations in Tamarindo with only a short walk. If you have children, note that marijuana is highly visible and openly available there. No one seems to care about it.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are across the street. Be specific when requesting a room in the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront hotel with Costarican flavor, located 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.