We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Tamarindo Diria in April 2013. Our spacious room (HUGE shower! Flatscreen TV. Veranda overlooking the garden!) was across the street on the garden, which is very beautiful (and quiet), but was only a 2 minute walk from the beach. Breakfast was included and had a great variety of foods, from FRESH fruit and orange juice, eggs-to-order, waffles, cereal, and more. Drinks were good too! The resort is very well maintained, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful location (Tamarindo Beach is wide, flat, and long).

You can set up beach recliners in the sun or the shade, which we did, and just vegetate all day (which we did). In addition, there are several restaurants, just outside the property, but affiliated with the resort where you can eat and charge it to your room! I especially liked the one just north of the garden side that served fire-roasted chicken!

You're a 5 minute walk from the town center at the turnaround, where there are more shops, restaurants, and night clubs.

Tamarindo reminds me of Negril in the late 70's-early 80's: an undiscovered gem. If you're looking for white-glove service, this ain't the place. But if you're looking for laid-back, relaxed, and fun, well, as I said before, we'll be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel, our intention is to make all our guests feel uniquely satisfied... We hope to see back you soon!!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    548
    201
    113
    80
See reviews for
323
596
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Hotel Tamarindo Diria. My kids liked the pools, especially the ones across the street. Our room overlooked the beach and got several great photos from the room including sunset photos.
The room was basically 2 beds and a table with a TV.
The positive aspects were:
1. Great views
2. 3 pools.
3 Good breakfast buffet and you can take your food right to a table next to the beach or to one by the pool.
4. Friendly staff- waitstaff, towel checkout girl, front desk, bellhops, etc. all were super-nice.
5. Close to all of the shops and restaurant in Tamarindo, probably all within 5 minute walk.

The negative parts were:
1. The internet service was inconsistent. It would work well for 5 minutes then be out for several hours. We only book at places that advertise good internet service so I can work a little each day so this was very inconvenient.
2. The room smelled when we moved in, we asked to be transferred but the other room smelled too. The odor reoccurred each day in the late morning so I am not sure what it was but we had to leave the front and beach side doors open.
3. The activities desk in the lobby booked us with terrible companies. The surf lessons sucked. We found a better teacher later on our own - Kelly's Surf Lessons. The turtle watching at night was good except the company the booked us with did not give us infrared lights like they promised so we almost stepped on newly hatched turtles when they started running around. The zipline tour that they booked for us was pretty lame, 11 lines, none of them long or exciting.

Room Tip: Beach side had great veiws. The condos and hotel on the other side of the main road were probably q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your experience with us, we want you to know that our only interest is to give our customers the best service that anyone can provide.

The problem with the internet service was that for reasons of security we were supplying a WPA password for our clients, which after some time we realized every apple equipment had problems to connect to, reason why we decided to change it to WAP2 this month. But we also provide our guests a business room with a computer with internet for free.

Regarding to the tour desk, I have spoke to them about your inconvenience with the turtles for example, and they explain to me that is very important the darkness while they are spawning, that is why only the tour guide was using an infrared light.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, your feedback is very important to us to offer a better service every day.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had reservations for dinner at Shlomy's and arrived in Tamarindo early to watch the sunset. We only had cocktails here, but would definitely come back for dinner or to stay at the hotel on a future trip. The bar is under a large (Banyan?) tree with cool lanterns illuminating the restaurant/bar.The service was prompt and while we didn't order food, the diners around us seemed happy with theirs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your experience at our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Tamarindo Diria was quite lovely in some aspects, and quite disappointing in others. Frankly, it left our group of 6 with a taste to return to an all-inclusive in the Caribbean, rather than a return to Costa Rica.

Highlights:
1) The beach is FUN - good waves for surfing (beginner) and boogie-boarding. Ocean is warm and pleasant.
2) The hotel and pools were nice, clean and well-maintained.
3) The food/drink in the hotel bars/restaurants was average to good, but at least consistent.
4) The breakfast buffet was the highlight for most of our group.
5) Tamarindo is quite a bustling little town - with lots of shops, restaurants and bars for those wanting to venture off the "resort".
6) Wonderful shady, grassy area just off the beach for lounging.
7) Cleaning staff was wonderful (pool cleaners, room cleaners.)

Lowlights:
1) THIS IS NOT A RESORT: not a single activity for guests. No activities in the pool. No fitness centre. No yoga. No classes or activities of ANY kind. This is just a hotel with a few pools.
2) The hotel is SPLIT IN TWO BY A VERY BUSY STREET. The big pool is across the street. The smaller pools and beach are on the beach side.
3) If you pay extra for a water front room: You have the BUSY street on the other side. (Honking horns, partiers coming home at 3AM, dust, cars, cars, cars.)
4) Really spotty air-conditioning in the rooms. And it was HOT in Tamarindo (40 degrees C)
5) Spotty wi-fi
6) SERVICE - this was our biggest issue. No one seemed to care if we had a good time, or got a drink. At the beach bar, there could be 4-5 bartenders behind the bar and NO ONE at the bar, and they'd all pretend not to make eye contact and it would TAKE 25 MINUTES to get a drink!!!! I will admit that the daytime service was MUCH better than the evening service. The reception area service was also terrible. They were rude, unhelpful, and inflexible. What was weird, was that as soon as you left the resort, the Ticos were WONDERFUL. I'm thinking the staff at this hotel must not be treated very well, as getting any type of smile or base level of service at this place was near impossible. Don't even get me started on the teenaged towel girl!!!!

Anyway - Tamarindo is well located to visit other areas in Guanacaste and beaches. We went to Playa Avellanas and Lola's, which frankly, was the highlight of our trip. We had a great trip with friends and family, but owe very little of that to the Diria or its lack of hospitality.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have bugs. Poolside rooms are across the street from the beach, but far quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comment, is very important for us to know what you liked and what you did not like .

Regarding to the concept of a resort, a resort is place used for relaxation and recreation, we do have activities at the tour desk but are not complementary, as you mentioned at the beginning of your comment, all inclusive hotels are more related with complementary activities.

Part of our exotic beauty is that we are a small beach town, which in point of fact make our main street which is perfectly paved, a little crowded during the day, but the sound of the waves, our gardens and vegetation planted in the surroundings, protect the sound very well and decorate the property, specially the beach front area.

About the service, we strive to enhance it every day, I apologize in the name of our hotel if there were uncomfortable situations that we could not solve during your stay.

Thank you once again to tell us about your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I just spent one of the best vacation weeks ever in Costa Rica.
The Diria is the perfect place for a surf vacation with all of the amenities of a world class beach resort.
I stayed in the Condo's across the street. This was a more private area with its own pool and swim up bar.
Our condo was 2 floors and 3 bedrooms and was immaculate.
The view from the 6th floor condo was breathtaking and the sunsets unbelievable.
The service at the hotel was very good.
The surfing was the best and we were lucky enough to be surfing with the Costa Rica Surf Adventures crew- Cesar, Rigo, Javier and Kenneth.
What a great time. We will be planning next years trip very soon

Room Tip: Condo's offer more privacy and better views. Little longer walk to the beach but that is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments, it is our privilege to satisfy our guests needs and make your vacations unforgettable. We will be very pleased to have back in our hotel anytime, regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is clean, large and very pretty. It had a nice mix of travelers from young people to couples to older people and families. They have rooms beachfront and garden (across the street). Originally we stayed garden side to save a couple of bucks. There were a few more bugs (mosquitos etc) since you're facing the garden and the view was ok (garden, pool). The room was fine but due to another issue with we moved to beachfront. YOU MUST STAY BEACHFRONT!! It was like moving to heaven. The sunsets are incredible. Thank god they moved us there! The food at the resto was OK at best. Most of the people who worked for the hotel (especially the manager) friendly and helpful. But I loved this place and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: BEACHFRONT is a must. Upper level far from lobby (center). Towards the left wing #301 - 310.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your time and review. We strive every day to give the best service and facilities to our clients. We hope to have you back soon, regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The property is beautiful, our room #624 was across the street from the beach and of this we were happy as it was much quieter as it is farther from the clubs/beach. Our room was large, modern and well appointed. Very clean, good water pressure and lighting (only 1 of 2 hotels we visited that actually had adequate lighting !). Our balcony had a wonderful view on the beautiful pool surrounded by luxuriant vegetation - just lovely. We loved everything about our room. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we had on our tour with a large variety of everything and lots of great tasting choices. Not crazy about the beach itself as there are lots of rocks in the sea (not quite sure how the surfers don't bang into these...but then again I know next to nothing about surfing). I love the ocean but I found that the water was not clear (due to sand particles) and the waves were a bit rough for my liking as I'm the snorkeling, floating around doing nothing type of swimmer. Beach is not very large and is full of surfers, dogs and their owners and a few souvenir hawkers some of which were a little irritating. In my opinion a way cool place if you're in your late teens, 20's and want to surf & meet other young people. I'm a little sedate and like my peace & quiet so although I loved this hotel, the Tamarindo Beach area is just really not my style. But I would definitely recommend this hotel if the area and activity type is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: From what others have mentioned, seems there are differences in the room qualities. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we work hard to give an special place and service to every one of our guests. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience at hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront Hotel and Resort with Costarican flavor, located in Tamarindo Beach, 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.