We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent resort in an Americanized area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A decent resort in an Americanized area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just a standard resort. Rooms are clean. And the food is ok. It's a nice place to start your trip, just to relax for a couple of days. Try to avoid the main street, and venture into some other areas as there are some great restaurants.

The garden that borders the beach is a great place to hangout without being hassled by people who want to sell you things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    614
    239
    125
    91
See reviews for
373
666
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at Tamarindo DIria from Monteverde and Arenal. Besides the culture shock of being in huge tourist area, our lovely ocena view room has been spoled by nightly parties outside that make our room reverberate to the disco beat, the horns, and the partying. It was difficult to sleep with all the noise and drowned out the lovely ocean roar. Then last night, there was a loud, blaring alarm that was the worst yet. THe hotel said it was an ATM someone tried to break into, and there was nothing they could do. They offerred to let us change rooms at 2:30 AM? THe room is clean, but every service is skimpy - only one face towel for 2 of us, the worst coffee we have had in Costa Rica, the beach chairs don't belong to the hotel and cost $10 each .... Overall mediocre. We would not recommned it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been here three times now I thought it was time for a review. Very nice rooms for this part of the world. A/C seems to be on steroids but at least you stay cool. Views are very nice and sunsets are incredible. Bar area is well done. Pool is OK but could use a face lift.
Maid service is spotty on all three visits and needs work and a check list. Some days you get towels, some days they forget. Next day no replacement shampoo or conditioner. Beds are clean and well made. Door security is what you would expect. Front desk seems overwhelmed at times but they do a nice job on check in. English is spoken by all staff. WIFI is extremely slow and does not reach some rooms.
Overall in this town it is the BEST they have to offer. If you want much better try the Four Seasons but be prepared to pay dearly.

Room Tip: Ground floor ocean front are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our transfers, even late at night, were on time waiting for us. Such a pleasure to be taken care of after a long flight. The check-in was complicated, because of lack of communication with the travel agency. I cannot hold it against Hotel Diria. Mistakes are made, but it is how they correct those mistakes that impress me. They moved some things around and we were upgraded to the third floor sunset room, which was very large and could accommodate my adult son, husband and I. These come with fridge. The breakfast is just as advertised. Plentiful with freshly made belgian waffles and any kind of made to order eggs or omelets. Lots of fresh fruit and breads. the change out the steamer table regularly.The pools were very nice, small, but very adequate. There were plenty of lounge chairs available at all times. The front desk staff was very pleasant. Not friendly, but I think they were just working hard to get things done, which is fine by me. Always ready to answer questions and help. The cleaning staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and we always left them very sandy. We loved our balcony and sat there every night. There are NO mosquitoes, can you believe it? I didn't, when they told me, and bought lots of repellent. I never needed it, even when zip lining in the jungle. Maybe it's the time of the year, I don't know. The rainy season is before November. This was a surf vacation for my son and husband. There are side trips and tours you can take, if you do not surf, like myself. But I do not swim either, so there wasn't much for me to do. I do not see much for children to do either. But I loved relaxing at the bar, or by the pool, or on my balcony. The beach was very clean also, with out debris. But you have to rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach. 2 chairs and an umbrella for $12 usd. There are many independents offering to teach you how to surf, but I would stick with a well know company like Costa Rica Surf Adventures. The hotel is very secure, lots of security present and the location is close to everything, and right on the beach. We did not hear a lot of outside room noise, so the rooms are made well. We were in the older section.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Diria complex over 4 days at the end of a 2-week stay in Costa Rica. I use the word 'complex' as it consists of 4 main hotel buildings, condos (for sale), a Casino and 4 off site restaurants. The older complex is right on the beach while the newer buildings are across the street. We are planning to bring a group down later in September, so I was given a quick tour of the grounds and some of the rooms.

Firstly, the location could not be better. It is right in the heart of Tamarindo, so everything is steps away. Surprisingly, I expected it to be noisier, although I was not here over a weekend, so perhaps it was quieter. It is one of the pricier hotels in Tamarindo, so the clientele is a bit older and you won't find too many surfer dudes staying here. The landscaping is fabulous and it is a great place to watch the sunset every night.

Try and get a room in the older buildings on the beach front, as they are larger than those in the newer complex (the most recent one is only about a year old). The older double rooms have a small patio/balcony, two queen beds, safety deposit box, flat screen TV, air conditioning and a ceiling fan, bar fridge and coffee maker. Those travellers used to North American-style hotels will feel right at home.

There are 3 main pools - a smallish one in the older complex and two across the street, including a huge lagoon style pool, with a hot tub and swim-up bar. Towel service is included.

Breakfast was included, and the quality and service were very good. Aside from the restaurants on the premises, the Diria also owns a pizza/pasta restaurant, an informal roast chicken place, a grill house and a tapas-style bar. I ate at two of them and they were both average.

There is wifi throughout the entire complex (including the offsite restaurants) with a single password, and aside from one instance, had no trouble with online connectivity.

The service level is very good throughout the staff - friendly, responsive and helpful. The tour desk can arrange virtually any type of excursion for you, so the place is a real one-stop shop.

Some might say that it lacks Costa Rican authenticity and charm, but you can't fault the standards that they are trying to uphold. Overall, I think it is a great place to relax and be pampered. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Diria for part of our honeymoon and purchased the honeymoon package, which is an excellent value and highly recommended. The hotel, which is located in the small beach town of Tamarindo, is a convenient one hour drive from Liberia Airport.

There are two parts to the Diria. The hotel/resort is comprised of a group of buildings clustered in its own section of Tamarindo right on or next to the beach. The first part of the buildings are right on the beach. The second part of the buildings are across the street but only a few minute walk to the beach. The grounds are well laid out with a good mix of pools and beach and lounging under trees or on the sand. Everyone was extremely friendly and made our stay a wonderful experience. The tour desk people are very organized and had our itinerary pre-booked according to our specifications, which made the experience much more relaxing and enjoyable.

My wife and I had some of the best food there that we have had in a while. It was absolutely exquisite. The breakfast buffet is amazing and is well stocked with numerous food choices, some of which change on a day to day basis to keep things exciting and new. Note, get the fried cheese if you go! My wife and I got second helpings each morning because the food was that good. We filled up on breakfast and were able to skip lunch several days, which saved us money. Dinners were excellent too! Prices in the hotel and in town are comparable to the U.S.A.

Also important to note, much like most of Costa Rica, Tamarindo is a relatively safe place to go. We went out into town several times during the day and at night and felt safe.

The only con we have of the Diria was the quality of beach it is in front of, i.e. the beach in front of the hotel is quite rocky. I stubbed my toe several times. The water is not clear like in the Caribbean, which makes it look cloudy and difficult to see what is on the bottom when treading around in the water. With that said, you can walk five minutes down the stretch of beach in either direction and there are no rocks. Other than that, this is a highly recommended hotel/resort.

Room Tip: Try and get into the building that is right in front of the beach instead of across the street. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent a week at the Diria, on a breakfast only package. The whole experience overall was quite good. Check in was OK, desk clerk didn't speak english well it seemed as she gave us our keys and that was it, no explanation of what the hotel had to offer or anything. Bell hop took our luggage to the room, quite pleasant and helpful explaining the basics. The room had a fridge but nothing in it, not even a bottle of water to get one started. Having nothing in the fridge was fine in that we don't use the mini bar much but I think the Hotel could at least put a bottle of water in to get guests started. So one of the first things we had to do was find a store to buy bottled water. So if you go be prepared, there a two small market grocery stores close by so not too difficult to get, one is on the same side of the street as the Diria, just beyond the property line. A second store is on the oppposite side of the street, just a little furhter down, under a big Heineken sign.
The room 325, was a really good size, newly painted, flat screen TV and a great terrace. We had a third floor room overlooking the beach just a delightful view and morning waves crashing on the beach. Bathroom came with only a shower, which was a good size and well maintained.
The room safe was complimentary, only issue they put it on the top shelf which made it somewhat difficult to reach and I'm 5'8", anyone shorter might need to use a chair to access, especially if an item gets pushed to the back of the safe.
Breakfast was superb, lots of choice, fresh fruits, yogurt, selection of breads and pastries, buffet bar had chice of 7 items, an omlette,egg bar where you could have eggs or an omlette made to personal specs, and a waffle bar where a lady made up fresh waffles. Coffee pots and warm milk were always on the table for your personal use. One could take breakfast in the main dining room or you could walk down to beachfront terrace restaurant area and enjoy breakfast watching the surf roll in under the shade of a huge Guanacaste tree.
We did not have a problem getting a lounge on any day, the ones around the pool were made of the hard white plastic, very unforgiving on ones backside. The lounges place on the lawn area where most people seem to like to sunbath are a mesh cloth construction and much more enjoyable to relax on under the shade of the many palm trees and other trees spread out around the beach front lawn. On the beach there are the white hard plastic kind again, set up with sun umbrellas for shade, these required a tip to the setup man.
Eating out was very easy from this central Tamarindo location, there are many restaurants within an easy five minute walk of the hotel, our favourite became the Patagonia for supper and the Nibbana for lunch.
Overall a great location, a fine hotel and a great beach.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are great, the main floor rooms have a nice covered terrace but a limited bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront Hotel and Resort with Costarican flavor, located in Tamarindo Beach, 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.