We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's beautiful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location is incredible, right on the beach but you can lounge on some chairs on the grass. The pool is there if you like but the ocean is right there too. If you want to relax, go right ahead, otherwise you can go ziplining, surfing, fishing, etc. There are shops and restaurants right across the street, you can stop reading reviews and just go ahead and book it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    549
    202
    113
    80
See reviews for
324
597
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

There is absolutely nothing, nothing bad we can say about this hotel. My girlfriend and I positively loved it! This hotel offers you the kind of imagery and feel only seen on films. It was paradise! Perfect couples retreat.
We had a beach-front room, 20 second walk to the pool and restaurant, just perfect! The staff is accommodating and helpful. The rooms are impeccable and spacious. The grounds are really well maintained and rival the best hotels in the world. The complementary breakfast is the best you can expect, delicious! This is the jewel of Tamarindo without a doubt.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Bottom end, beach front. Is close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is ran by criminals . They doubled charged me for my room for over a week and after 6 months of giving them every piece of information required they now tell me I stayed in 2 rooms. Which is absolutely insane .they made a mistake and now I have to pay them over $1200 extra??????? Crooks never going to Costa Rica again EVER EVER .
I have spent hours in the phone with the resort passing meput from person to person unroll finally I get someone who " no speaky the English "and hang up.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and stay a million miles from these crooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My girlfriends and I try to take a vacation every summer around the same time. This year we decided on Costa Rica. We like to pick new places, but there’s one thing that remains the same in our choice, and that’s a beach. So, we decided that Tamarindo, Costa Rica would be our best bet. We wanted a place that was reasonable but located on (if not close to) the beach. We decided to stay at the Tamarindo Diria hotel, and we’re happy we did. From the second we stepped foot on the resort, the service staff was friendly and accommodating. After having read a few reviews about the hotel on Trip Advisor, I knew to ask for the hotel across the street from the lobby and they moved us there for no additional charge. The hotel room was clean, and had a nice balcony with direct view of the swim up bar, but there was nothing extra fancy about it. The swim up bar was pretty dead, so the girls and I kept referring to the pool as “our private pool”. After speaking with the bartender, Maria (really nice lady), we discovered July is low time for the hotel and that December is when the hotel has concerts and events. We decided to take surfing lessons one day, and it wasn’t hard to find an instructor. On the beach side of the hotel, there were instructors lined up right along the beach. We were able to haggle the price from $40 to $20 a person for lessons. We didn’t eat food on the hotel site, but there are plenty of restaurants close by. One being the Copacabana. The four of us at a delicious seafood dish, had a beer, and split a dessert for about $25 a person. Excursions were about 4 hours away from this site, but were also definitely worth it. Something to consider while there. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: I almost changed my hotel due to the negative reviews I had seen on this, and am happy I didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, N.Y.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked a 5 night stay from a Groupon at the Tamarindo Diria Resort and were very pleased with what we found. We were given a pooolside room across the street from the beach (4 minute walk) with a large freestyle pool. The room was not excessively large but very comfortable and very clean. The beach was great, there was a grass terrace where we could sun on comfortable chaise lounges and only steps to another pool. Watching the surfers was allways entertaining and the water was warm and inviting. Andre Gagnon, the Concierge, and his staff did everything to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Their recommendations for restauarants were always on target for our varying palate. Speaking of places to eat, the breakfast buffet at the Tamarindo Diria was quite a bargain at $22 per couple. The food was fresh and they liked to change the variety daily but the egg station was always available and plenty of fresh fruit and baked goods. We usually ate lunch at the beachside bar at the Diria under huge Banyon trees. Decent food at a good price. We ate dinner 3 nights at the Flying Bull across the street from the resort and we were never disappointed. This was the only place that we went to that offered inside air conditioning if we wanted all others were al fresco. We got a free bottle of wine with dinner and the food was excellent. Mariana the hostess was friendly and answered any questions we had about the menu. We also dined at Seasons which was a little hard to find up a unpaved road but the meal was quite tasty. We were surprised to find the do not accept credit cards, cash only. Our last night we ate at El Coconut also a great meal just a few minutes walk from the resort. All in all I highly recommend the Tamarindo Diria.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights after touring around Costa Rica and it was ideal for relaxing and chilling out. Good 4* hotel - our room (very comfortable with super view of the pool on that side) was across the street but this was not a problem as it was only a short walk to the beach. Perfect sandy beach with lots of shade and sun and not at all crowded. There is another pool on this side. The hotel staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Drinks at the bar not overpriced for a 4* hotel and service was very good. Our package included breakfast - good choices although we'd have liked a few more 'Western' choices in the hot food. We ate in three restaurants all owned by the hotel - all provided high quality food and good service but The Flying Bull was 'that little bit extra'. First class service and superb food - huge portions and we certainly couldn't manage a starter AND a dessert!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent two nights here in mid June. Our room was across the street. It was very luxurious and had a beautiful view of the gorgeous pool. It was a short walk across the street to the beach. There is also another nice pool on that side. The hotel grounds were lovely, and the beach was great. The sunset view from the beach was magnificent. The breakfast was delicious, and there was a wide variety of healthy choices. The beer in the bar was very reasonably priced. We ate at several good restaurants in Tamarindo. We would recommend El Coconut, Copacabana, and Nogui's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront Hotel and Resort with Costarican flavor, located in Tamarindo Beach, 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.