We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL TROPICINA BE SUR I BE BACK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HOTEL TROPICINA BE SUR I BE BACK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I just returned from two days at the Hotel Tropicana. the hotel was sold and new owners are simply brilliant ... they all washed thoroughly change them bedspread, they redid the garden feels they have the taste to work. Andrew at the reception was incredibly kind, he quickly responded to our requests. it shows that he loves what he does they do it with sensitivity and passion. plus they speak three languages ​​French. English, Spanish and ...
lunch was parfais the portions are generous and made ​​us the leader of the eggs to our liking. simply delicious coffee ...
for the price they had a promotion during my time at $ 59 per night double occupancy with breakfast included perfect for families and surfers. I did not complain for the price this hotel is super, I'm very surprised to customer service and quality of services we imagine that for $ 59 we think we have no right to anything, its not the opposite be like a 4 star hotel but without paying top dollar. Congratulations to new owners and I souaithe your a beautiful continuity. for sure you'll see me again very soon ..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    519
    195
    112
    77
See reviews for
310
567
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Apparently one can only write a review every three months for each place visited. I visited three months ago to Diria and booked a tour (and paid in advance as required) through their tour desk in the lobby. DO NOT USE THEM! They took my money and the tour guide never showed up. They told me they would refund my money in 6-8 weeks - still hasn't been done despite my nagging and nagging. I will write every three months to TripAdvisor about this. ARGH!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Truly an amazing place with wonderful staff. My husband and I stayed at Diria for 7 nights and had no complaints - that is pretty amazing in it self. The hotel is right on the beach and you have a private entrance directly to it. The continental breakfast was delicious - very hardy, not just bagels and cereal. They have a wonderful concierge there with the name of Rolando - he was helpful to me even before we arrived in Costa Rica. He helped me book my shuttle from the airport and sent me a packet of details for different tours and trips we could take once we arrived. When we got to CR, he was extremely friendly and helped suggest different bars/restaurants we could go to on a daily basis - he even provided what nights had bands/specials/events etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel must be the best in Tamirindo, the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms well decorated with air con, hair dryers, all you would expect from a 4 star in the Uk. The pools and ground are well kept and the food was lovely. The staff were not great, I would describe them as disorganised, check in was a bit of a shambles, one person telling us one thing whilst another person telling us something totally different. The restaurant staff were no better, although this did improve on our 2nd visit. The food was fantastic, we had our best meals here without doubt. if I was going again I would stay here. It's location is perfect and it is of a really good standard, I just hope the Staff improve!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hozkhar
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I spent 4 days with my wife and girls at Tamarindo Diria and it was the best election I have ever made.
The hotel is beautiful, not luxurious, but it has everything you need for great vacations: Nice rooms, some of them with the view to the most beautiful sunsets. Also it is right in front of the beach, so you just walk out of the room and in less than 20 seconds can be in a nice white sand beach.

The place also has 3 pools, 2 in the side of the beach, including one specially for under 4 years old kids ( where we spent almost all of our day) and in the othe building accross the street a large pool with a wet bar included.

The service is amazing and with great standars. I requested for a second crib at 9:30 pm and they tried so hard to help me and did it succesfully even the hotel was full of babies.

The food is great, beginning with the breakfast which offer a variety of Costa Rican tipical foods and traditional north american plates like pancakes for example. Also the option for fresh fruits are large.

For surf lovers is a great spot taking into account the beach in front of the hotel is well know for this sport. Out side of the hotel there are so many surfers offering lessons. Did not try with them .
The room we stayed had no view to the sea but it was clean, large and with the services we needed: tv, air condition, nice bed.

While I was there 2 weddings had place. They were small but really looked nice.

The only thing I would change from the hotel is they allow guest, specially foreigners to smoke in their facilities and the new tobacco law in Costa Rica. I reported to the manager a person who was smoking close to children pool and the manager came to this person and let him now about it. But I think they must have advertising about this new law and the right the persons who do not smoke have for enjoying such a nice place.

I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are amazing, pay a little bit more but it worths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for almost two weeks and had a great time, breakfast was included everyday so that was a great start. The beaches are nice and safe. You can enjoy yourself at either of the two pools. Shop on the beach or at the shops along the town. Book your excursions at the hotel or near by or just do them yourself. We had a car so we drove to other beaches in the area, Areanal and checked out the waterfalls, spa, and volcano. Went to Monteverde cool little town. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Would Definatly stay here again. You can't find a better spot.

Room Tip: We had the ocean view, has a nice sitting area in the front. We had the king size bed which I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was the 2nd of 3 hotels we stayed in & I have to say my least favorite.Tamarindo is a town/village and the hotel is situated both sides of the main road.We were ocean side so had a sea view where the main complex is situated. This side has a much smaller pool shaded by palm trees next to the main building.In my pics you will see a large lagoon type pool with a spash bar, this is found over the road with other rooms.If your looking to stay in Tamarindo this is by far the best hotel.On arrival you enter a large open reception area in marble, you can see straight into the lounge/bar & pool outside with the sea behind.The hotel is a typical large chain hotel. Rooms are small but have everything you need & very clean. Once inside your room you could be in any hotel in the world thats part of a large corporation. Having just tried pina colad made with fresh pineapple I was eager to try one here. Again standards of a large chain, bottled juice not fresh! The food here again typical of what you would find in a large chain hotel, bar food. I like to experience the country & didnt get the vibe here.
If you step outside the hotel & turn right you will fall into the town where there are several places to eat & quite a few shops. It is by no means large but the most built up area around.The road is muddy with large pot holes typical of the region so beware.
If I went again to Tamarindo I would stay here as its the best hotel in the town. However I will not be going back to Tamarindo, would rather go further down the coast. We only stayed here a few days & spent the time in the sea or by the pool. There isnt much to do here.
Staff were ok but not as helpful as in our previous hotel. We are not the loudest & sometimes you needed to be to get served in the bar or be prepared to wait a while.
The iguanas in my photos are all around the complex, when i opend my window in the afternoon the rooftop from the ground floor had well over 20 basking in the sun. It adjoint our floor on the balcony & if you offered one food they all came running!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nearer the main building with a smaller pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront hotel with Costarican flavor, located 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.