We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food & excellent crew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA PACHANGA

LA PACHANGA
GUANACASTE, Tamarindo 20100, Costa Rica
+506 8347 7001
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 109 restaurants in Tamarindo
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: SMALL RESTAURANT WITH BIG REPUTACION WHERE YOU CAN EAT THE REAL TRADITIONAL ITALIAN FOOD, HOMEMADE PASTA,RAVIOLI, PIZZA, FISH, MEAT AND A LOT OF VEGETARIAN DISHES, ASK FOR GLUTEN FREE PASTASPECIALS EVERY NIGHT AND LIVE MUSIC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“excellent food & excellent crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Best Italian food we have had so far. You have to try their fresh and self made pasta, it's a must while you are staying in Tamarindo. Also their red wines are a great choice. We also rate the crew (owner, cook and waiters) as excellent. Thank you very much for a great time we have had while enjoying an excellent dinner at your restaurant. Caroline & Annina

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    133
    26
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meals we had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We happened upon this little restaurant by accident one night and were pleasantly surprised! Its a little off the beaten path, but not so out of the way that you should skip it. We had a week stay in Tamarindo and had dinner there 3 times. Everything was wonderful. The servers are very accommodating owner, Icho, was the nicest guy ever. He even prepared Eggplant Parmesan for our last night because he knew I was a vegetarian, and it was the best I've ever had. Don't miss out on this gem!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Meals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Four of us, two couples, made this our new year's eve dinner spot. We had a bottle of red wine and a rum and pineapple drink - all good. We ordered the special smoked cheese bruscetta and the caprese salad, which were wonderful (just took a while for them to come out). I ordered the pasta puttanesca, my husband had the spinach and ricotta ravioli, one friend had the bolongnese pasta and the other friend had a hawaiian pizza. All the pasta dishes were out of this world good and the pizza was good, although he wouldn't recommend going there specifically for the pizza. We also ordered two chocolate mousses to share which I would say pass on - they were more like a chocolate pudding out of a box. But honestly, the pasta dishes were so good that the dessert was an after thought anyways.
If you like pasta we highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Don't miss this when you are in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ate here twice during our 10 heavenly days in Tamarindo. The food is prepared as you order it. The food is really the best we had. There are many specials every night and we were lucky to have found this wonderful gem. Also Manuel was our favorite server. Ask for him. During the day he will take you jet skiing on the beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The meal we had at La Pachanga was the best one we had while in Tamarindo. We ate on a Tuesday night during happy hour. The drinks were two for one and the pizzas were also two for one. The pizza was superb and the nice visit we had with the owner topped off our visit. I wish I could get this quality of authentic Italian pizza here at home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA PACHANGA also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to LA PACHANGA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA PACHANGA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.