We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant right on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Tamarindo main street | Main Street of Tamarindo, 20m Before the Circle, Beach Side, Tamarindo 24600, Costa Rica
+506 2653 0362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 124 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $5 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great restaurant right on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Four of us chose this restaurant after seeing good reviews on Trip Advisor. We all had the Big Hole Snapper, with the head cut off, and it was to die for. The French wine recommended was reasonable and excellent! There is a 2 for 1 nightly drink special. After our first wonderful meal, we decided to return for our final night in Costa Rica and we were treated to a fire show after our meal. On the second night three of us again chose the snapper and one person the lobster. She said she should have asked for the snapper! On both evenings we arrived in time to see the sun set and we never felt rushed to order our meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    68
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Red Snapper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate here two nights out of seven.The whole red snapper was the best ever.It sits right on the beach & the sunsets are fabulous.We even had a great fire show to top it all off.Will come back.Thanks Nico!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Simply excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The owner is French, and it shows. We had the seafood platter on the waiter's recommendation, and it was delicious, with an ample selection of seafood, each piece perfectly grilled, and careful attention to sides. The waiter also recommended an excellent and reasonable (French) house wine. Service was great, the view of the beach perfect, and the staff genuinely friendly. We met the owner on the way out, and helped him convince some dubious Americans that La Palapa is truly an outstanding restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely dinner restaurant on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The setting was lovely, the food ample and prepared well and really enjoyable singer and fire dancers one evening. While somewhat expensive for us, this was one of my favorite evenings while in Tamarindo.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
“We loved it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at La Palapa:  just on the sand with a view to the sea. Great meal, one of the best meals I've ever had. The waiter helped us in the choice of the fish to eat, we  decided to try their grand marnier lobster with their house wine. Try it, Love it! Service was very very good, comparison to other restaurants. This is a must....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.