We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarindo Beach

Tamarindo Beach
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Attractions in Tamarindo
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The beach is really nice. You can walk by the beach or have surf lessons. I found some parts of the beach a little bit dirty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    232
    87
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful beach but the sand can be dirty. I did not like how dirty my shoes were after walking on the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
190 attraction reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great beach especially if you surf
Very sandy and long
Good restaurants nearby
I would highly recommend Costa Rica
Fun place and not too dear
Great bars and beer
San Jose is very nice too
I would recommend you rent a car
Fairly straightforward and cheap

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“@@@The best surfing & something else @@@here we start ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hello people :-) I recommend tamarindo beach.... This beach is beautiful, the water is warm and have great waves for learn surf and practice .... There's a lot surf school with good prices.
A lot bars, clubs, casino, hotels, hostels, I personally recommend le beach club... I had a lot fun there ....hotel tamarindo diria is pretty nice and exc view of the ocean For 100$ .. I also was in botella de leche for 20$, pretty cheap ! enjoy it !!
There's a lot young people, surfer from over the world looking for beach, surf and party !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pretty, but lots of locals that are kind of sketchy. Watch your stuff. The surf is awesome and its a nice walk on the beach up to Playa Grande.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarindo Beach also viewed

Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tamarindo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarindo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.