We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mahayana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mahayana to your Saves list
Hotel Mahayana
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   150m nordeste del Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo 20750, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice little place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located about 5 minutes walk from the beach, this small hotel is very clean and comfortable. The owner of the place Cecile, is really nice and helpful. This is definitely a place I would recommend in Tamarindo, probably one of the best hotel we got in Costa Rica for that price.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
49
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll definetely recommend this place to stay at. It is really clean, bedrooms are quite small but therefore not that expensive compared to many other places in Tamarindo. Cecile, the owner, is very friendly and helpful with all questions to ask. Furthermore, we could experience wildlife just outside our room as there were some howler monkeys in trees opposite the hotel. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Definitely would stay at Hotel Mahayana again! Close enough to the beach and still out of the hustle and bustle of the main strip. Cecile was very friendly and helpful and made our stay very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and had a/c, tv, mini-fridge, and safe box. Each room had an outdoor hammock and patio table with chairs. I highly recommend Hotel Mahayana if your looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

We were into our 10th day in Costa Rica and moving to our new digs at Hotel Mahayana in Tamanrindo. We used the Grayline bus system from Dominical to Tamarindo. It was a long ride (about 7 hrs), but it was very interesting you see the change in the countryside from a sub-tropical area to an almost desert-like area in the northwest.

Located just a block away from the downtown strip, the hotel is in a quiet spot from the hustle and bustle. First impressions from the outside of the hotel is "neat" and well-kept". Once inside you step into a miniature courtyard, with an open common kitchen on one side, the small pool in the middle, and 6 attached rooms, forming a U shape on the outer edge of the sides of the courtyard. The rooms are small, but clean and all that is necessary. The front of each unit has its own table and chairs. Tamarindo is not a large town, but is very touristy - lots of restaurants/bars, clothing and souvenir shops, etc. A few of the bar/restaurants have beach access, where you can sit and eat of have a beverage. Our routine was to head for Nogui's to watch and picture the sunsets. Hotel Mahayana is in a perfect location to access the downtown strip (within a 5 min. walk).

If part of the allure of travel is meeting people from other parts of the world, this little hotel affords and easy opportunity to do that. With the common kitchen and rooms closely adjacent, conversation with your fellow visitors is easy.

Cecile, the owner and operator, was a great help to us both before we travelled to Costa Rica and during our stay with her. Jenny, her help, kept the rooms and courtyard in tip-top shape. When we left Hotel Mahayana we were regretting that we hadn't booked it for a longer period of time (we stayed 5 days). Cecile has a great little spot.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I discovered this hotel on Tripadvisor. Small hotel with fewer than 10 rooms. A little hard to find. Turn at the dirt road by the "Oveja Negra Hostel." I paid $60 per night, which is a good price for high season in Tamarindo. My room had a/c,fan, refridgerator, tv and safe.Communal kitchen. I'd come back.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I miss this place already and am already planning on going back. Great rooms, simple but very comfortable. Jenny the maid is lovely. The shared kitchen is easy to use with a breakfast bar area. We had a couple of social nights with other guests there. We made great friends there too. Cecile the owner is wonderful. Always willing to help. Joins in with socials and very friendly. The star of the show is myar the dog though... Super cute and a great bug catcher! :)
Supermarket 3 minutes away and the main strip 3.5 minutes away. It's right near a crazy golf course too which is always fun after a happy hour!
if this review allowed more stars I would give it 10!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

A very nice place. All the rooms are facing the commune area where the pool (a very little one) and the kitchen are. Fresh coffee is made every morning and the rooms are clean (ac and television). Cecile, the owner is very kind and friendly, she also speak English, Spanish and French and she always available for questions about activities or Tamarindo in general. We paid 118$ for 2 night and I recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mahayana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahayana

Address: 150m nordeste del Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo 20750, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mahayana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mahayana is a few minutes away in walking distance from the beach as well as from the center of Tamarindo and its shops and restaurants. The Hotel Mahayana is composed by 6 attractive rooms with terrace looking onto the outside deck and the Jacuzzi and also a commun kitchen. All the rooms have private hot water bathroom, AC and ceiling fan. They are also equipped with mini refrigerator. Double rooms have Queen beds and triple rooms have 3 single beds, all with orthopedic matresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mahayana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mahayana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.