We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlos on the Barbie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon.

Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon.
The Black Stallion Hills Ranch | 10 mins drive from Tamarindo., Tamarindo, Costa Rica
+506 8869 9765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: We offer a rustic ranch style evening that's private & exclusive.We specialize in small groups & also do special events for families & friends. ( What we do, is BBQ just for u.) The BBQ is outside in " the shack "under the stars, people relax in the Cafe & Saloon, which is a unique rustic wood design.The best way to descibe the set up is " Costa Rican cowboy Saloon with a surfer twist."We make every evening special & unique ! It is reservations only. Please book in advance. We start at 7 pm & BBQ the best local assorted meats,lomo,ribs,pork,steak,chorizo,ranch chicken & veggies. Then finish the evening with a tropical desert that's always a surprise, followed by a tropical blended some thing good. We start BBQ ing at 7pm. & The food is served no later than 7.30 Pm.We suggest people arrive at 6.30-7 Pm.The good news we have a new paved road so it's a quick trip from tamarindo.The BBQ dinners we do are a feast, so it's very unlikely u will leave hungry.See u soon & Pura Vida !
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carlos on the Barbie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best barbie in Central America. So much meat. Chorizo, chicken, pork, beef, and salad bar is amazing as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon., responded to this review, January 20, 2013
well hope the fun pictures were a success. great to have u guys !! Thank u for ur review & see u soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Best spot In the area. the Air mixed with the Smell of BBQ was fantastic,Alex the Host is a great Cook

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon., responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks to all the great families & friends that have dinned with us recently.We do appreciate u visiting us on the ranch.We love 2 BBQ & have u totally relax while we serve up an amazing feast.
Our goal is to give clients the best private BBQ experience available.

Chefs tip : We have been very creative with more & more tropical fruits & veggies.
U would be amazed at what we BBQ.....super delicious!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best BBQ in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Alex does a great job at Black Stallion, take a pony ride and savour the BBQ afterwards...it is fablous. See you next year Alex! Danny & Lisa

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon., responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks for visiting us on black stallion - U are Always very welcome to enjoy the ranch,
next time come ride the canopy it's an Eco Blast ! U will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed ride & delicious BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a fantastic 2 hour ride.The ranch is beautiful ! the guide/cowboy was excellent
He did a few fancy tricks which was fun to see. After the ride the guys served up fresh lemonade & a BBQ buffet that was really delicious, it was a an perfect afternoon & evening.Ask about the new zip line they are working on looks amazing ! Great place !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon., responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review, we are always doing creative cooking which we love 2 share with our clients.Pls.let us know regarding your wedding fiesta we will make sure it goes like clockwork & make it more than amazing...the last wedding might have made history, ;-)
a great success !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No stress...all good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My family enjoyed a wonderful evening of horseback riding and dinner in Nov. What a wonderful evening. Alex and his staff are wonderful hosts..couldn't make you feel more at home. The Bar BQ ...the setting...perfect. We visited Costa Rica at least twice a year with friends and family and we will make this a repeat visit...can't wait to do it again. Thanks to Alex and his staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon. also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.