We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and Fresh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of falafel bar

falafel bar
Across the street from hotel portofino | In front of largest white building in town, Tamarindo 32333, Costa Rica
+506 2653 1268
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 137 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick and Fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you're looking for a quick bite to eat the falafel bar is a great little place to try. Nothing fancy, but the food is fresh, the portions are decent and they serve really good pita bread! I had the chicken shwarma, and it was delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    73
    22
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome falafel with all the fixins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is a godsend for vegetarians and is the real deal: awesome falafel (not too dry, not too herby, just right), finger-licking sides (cabbage salad, beet salad, tabouleh, eggplant, hummus, etc.), and delightful owners.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite lunch in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped by the Falafel Bar for the third time in our one week trip. Absolutely love it. It's one of the less expensive places to eat (about $6.00 - $7.00 per pita) and you won't leave hungry. Our favorite is the schwarma and the mint iced tea. Don't pass this place up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Easy Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place was a great "stop in" place. We were very hungry when we got to Tamarindo and did not want to pay to much for a good meal. It was a simple walk from our hotel ( Hotel Mimiri ) and a relaxed atmosphere. The food was great, there was vegetarian, vegan options, as well as gluten-free. The service is good, much like the rest of the places in Costa Rica. I would recommend this place if you just need a quick bite to eat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD- Not expensive and fresh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything was great, food was fresh and inexpensive, healthy, great people, try it and be amazed.We go there everytime we travel to Tamarindo, Try everything on the menu.AWESOME FOOD-great staff wonderful owners.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed falafel bar also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to falafel bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage falafel bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.