We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of falafel bar

falafel bar
Across the street from hotel portofino | In front of largest white building in town, Tamarindo 32333, Costa Rica
+506 2653 1268
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 124 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We came here for a quick bite. Fresh & tasty falalel, reasonably priced, prompt and friendly service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    64
    19
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hummus was delicious and we tried all of the "plate" meals and all were really yummy. we ate meals there twice and had take out falafals again our last day. The pita bread was fresh and really tasty. The family running the restaurant were lovely and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“yami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

yes the food was great, desert deliciuos and owners really nice couple:) visit when in Tamarindo, try home made humous

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best falafal I have had, and I've had many!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Everything is homemade and it shows. The pita bread is soft and fluffy, like a cloud in your mouth. The falafal, again made from scratch, is perfectly spiced and cooked, melts in your mouth. The vegee's plentiful and from local farmers. I had these scrumptious coconut covered chocolate balls for dessert.
It is owned and operated by a beautiful family from Israel. I talked surfing with their youngest son who surfs most days up and down the coast.
So happy I found this place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place for lunch in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Authentic falafel DELICIOUS! Awesome prices, great service, quick and delicious lunch. By far my favorite place to grab a healthy lunch that is amazing in a hurry. You have to try the chocolate ball for dessert as well!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falafel-Bar, Owner at falafel bar, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much
It,'s really warms my heart to read the comment you wrote
We cook with love and so happy that customers come and share our love of the kitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed falafel bar also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to falafel bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage falafel bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.