We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value, Staff, Location, and People!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Surf Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coral Reef Surf Hostel to your Saves list
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Playa Tamarindo Diagonal Bac San Jose, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Value, Staff, Location, and People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

100% happy with everything the hostel offered us! When I return to Tamarindo there is no question I will stay there again. Updated bathrooms, cold AC, close to the beach! At night you can have a chilled in night or go a few steps out the door and be at a bar. Thanks Coral Reef for the great times!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I travel all over the world and have stayed in hundreds of hostels but this one is amazing!! The atmosphere is so chill and inviting. Amazing people and staff always around to go places with or cook a meal with. In the perfect location and great rooms!! Check this place out if your in tamarindo!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rooms are really clean and nice, staff is incredible! This is the second time I have stayed here and they have made some really good improvements. Hot water, clean washrooms, hammocks... what else could you ask for in a hostel :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

For the the first night of our visit in tamatindo we staied in another hostel and it was terrible! Then a friend told us to come to coral reef. I'm so thankful for that tip because we had such a awesome time in there!! Everyboady there is so friendly and helpful. They treat you like friends and not like tourists.
Jeff, the owner, is renovating the hole hostel. And he's making a really good Job! You got the newest rooms, a realy modern and glean bathroom and a kitchen like you are home! There is everything you need, except spoons but they promised us to by sone ;)
We wanted to stay 6 days in tamarindo, in the end we staied 12.
Best hostels!! And awesome time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The vibe here was absolutely perfect for us! Super relaxing, plenty of sunlight coming through the windows into the Dorm room, beds felt fresh and clean and the cleaning staff was very friendly. The Hostel also felt very safe and we could leave our surfboards around outside all day and night. Super short walk to the beach, literally a minute away. I asked them and the receptionist man for help often (in my broken spanish) and they were very accommodating! Showers were brand new and bathrooms were private. Hostel has a large hang-out area that is off the road (so it was quieter) but we heard Howler Monkeys everyday even though we were right downtown.

Room Tip: They finished a brand new dorm while I was there. I poked my head in and it looked great and also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Skate ramp, BBQ area, full kitchen, new pool table (with ALL the balls, not common), everything available for cooking and cleaning your own meals (eating out is pricey as), the supermarket is literally around the corner. We experienced no bugs whatsoever, except for mosquitos which are absolutely everywhere here at the moment, but none in our rooms and the staff burn coils etc.
We stayed for over a week and had no problems whatsoever. I've stayed in more expensive and much dirtier places than this, it is basic but has everything you need. This is epic and by far the cheapest option in Tamarindo. Great position. Restaurants all around. No complaints. The staff are legends.
The family who own this are so friendly and really helpful all speaking English very well. They also organise tours here at the front desk. This place used to be their home and are currently transforming it and making it better all the time. Freshly painted unique rooms with AC if you need it. They even cooked us a fish BBQ Costa Rican style with salads which wouldn't happen at other hostels! Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Reef Surf Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Surf Hostel

Address: Playa Tamarindo Diagonal Bac San Jose, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Coral Reef Surf Hostel makes for a cheap, simple and easy stay in the heart of downtown Tamarindo. Did we mention we are a two minute walk from the beach?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Reef Surf Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Surf Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.