We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Villa Amarilla, Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Amarilla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Playa Tamarindo | between Hotel Diria and the Licoreria Las Palmeras in front of the Restaurant L'Eden, Tamarindo, Costa Rica (Formerly Villa Amarilla Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
“Hotel Villa Amarilla, Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I went to Costa Rica for the first time with a group of friends. My friends were the ones who researched places to stay and they chose Villa Amarilla. Where do I start..... The location was perfect for everything. I loved being able to walk everywhere. The hotel owners Cinde and TJ were the nicest most gracious hosts I have ever met. They made us all feel so comfortable and right at home. We had a blast being on the beach everyday. The water temp was perfect!!! The hotel was clean, beds comfortable and the flat screen TV's a nice touch. We loved getting together at the end of each day and having a cocktail watching the sunset and talking about what we did during the day and what the plans were for the following day. It really was like being at home. We are looking forward to going back and staying at the best hotel in Tamarindo... We love Hotel Villa Amarilla!!!! Thanks TJ and Cinde!!! You ROCK!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
19
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was amazing. It has direct access to the best part of the beach. The rooms are very clean and have good A/C. The best part about this place are the owners, Cindy and TJ. Lovely people who go that extra mile and it makes a world of difference. The place has a very laid back and social vibe to it. Cindy was like my 2nd mum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
fessaries,
Thank you so much for the great review.
We loved having you here and hope that one day
you will come back and see us....p.s. thanks for the great
compliment.
Cinde and Tj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thanks for all the great information on Hotel Villa Amarilla. My boyfriend and I just got back from spending the holidays there. What a FANTASTIC hotel!!! TJ and Cinde are the nicest people. I felt like we had been friends for a long time. Their hotel is so beautiful and clean. It has such a comfy, home feeling. Having direct access to the beach was incredible. The location is perfect to walk into town for shoping and yummy food. The backyard was the perfect setting to watch the beautiful sunsets, a sight that will be in my mind forever. There is also an outside living room like area which is great to socialize with the other guests. We met 3 guests who are now lifetime friends!! The outside kitchen was perfect to make a meal, ohhh and the ladies who give the massage..... awesome.... There is also a nice man Diego who can set you up on any tour or sport activity you want. I learned how to surf, and had a blast on the zip line. We had the best time and are already planning our next trip back in June. Hotel Villa Amarilla is our Costa Rican home away from home. We look forward to seeing the owners TJ and Cinde again and making new memories

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you walk in it feels like home. Cindy is awesome, she is the real reason we stayed. Although you can't beat the ocean view, clean rooms, great back yard, two women doing massages beachside, full use of the outside kitchen and awesome dogs. This is a place I will recommend over and over. Best spot in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Manager at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Zak,
Thanks for the great review, you guys were a lot of fun....funny....
We know you guys love to travel all over, but we hope you
will come and see us again.
That's the best part of this business is seeing our friends(you guys) return.
Tj and Cinde
P.s. Bacardi is so big now.
see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Branch, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We happened on Hotel Villa Amarilla on a two week trip to CR...my wife said "lets stop at this quaint little place and ck it out"...we did and we had such a great time , we stayed an extra day. The Owner is an American from Cal. who has only been there a short time, but he was always attentive and his lady friend made sure all our wants and needs were met....the place is right on the Pacific Beach of Tamarindo, the rooms were large, clean, and there was free wi-fi. A continental breakfast was included in room cost and served early at 6:30 am....their friendly dogs were a hit with us, as we are animal lovers....weather was perfect on the west coast. They recommended several nearby restaurants, JOE'S was our favorite! Kellys Surf Shop was right across the street and you can rent surf boards for $5/hr at Joe's also..highly recommend Villa Amarilla...a small (only about 10-12 rooms) but accomidating hotel...their court yard has hammocks for resting ,plenty of free fresh fruit and pastry, reasonable price...under $100/night

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, 20 second walk to the beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
OBXEASYRIDER,
We are happy that you and your wife and friends had such a great time in Tamarindo.
It is a great town with great places to eat and fun things to do.
Thank you for mentioning us on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it
One day we would like to come visit you and your wife at your hotel.
Keep it touch.
Cinde and Tj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thanks Cindy and TJ for the great stay we had on Tamarindo.

Me, my wife and newborn 5 month son stayed there for two nights. They are making a great job at the place. It is very clean, quiet, comfy and the most important: right at the beach.

We really had no problems while there and it was very difficult to leave at sunny sunday morning.

Cindy also helped babysitting our son while we're learning to surf right in front of the hotel.

Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Room number 5, fantastic ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Daniel,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that the 3 of you had a great time here.
Seeing the mama turtle come up and lay here eggs right in front of Hotel Villa Amarilla. What timing. You have a lovely family and we hope you will always consider Hotel Villa Amarilla as your home away from home.
Safe travels wherever you go...see you soon.
TJ and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is filled with colorful Costa Rican charm-right on the pacific ocean! It has the feel of being your own private beach house! The rooms are clean and comfortable, especially for the price. Guests are welcome to hang out in the patio area and I became friends with all the other guests. Since I was traveling on my own I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in such a hospitable environment. Owners, They welcome each guest with a shot of tequila to start your holiday off right-plus you're right in town! Cinde and TJ will do anything to make your stay in Costa Rica be memorable and you'll leave here with two new friends! You won't regret staying at the Hotel Villa Amarilla!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Bev,
Thank you for recommending Hotel Villa Amarilla
as a great place to stay in Tamarindo.
We really enjoyed having you here.
We now have yoga for our guests (friends).
Hope we will see you in the near future.
Safe travels wherever you go..see you soon.
Tj and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Amarilla

Address: Playa Tamarindo | between Hotel Diria and the Licoreria Las Palmeras in front of the Restaurant L'Eden, Tamarindo, Costa Rica (Formerly Villa Amarilla Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Amarilla (yellow village)is a funky, fun, feel at home hotel. You check-in as a guest but check-out as a friend. For the past year we have been renovating everything. Everything is brand new. Lush tropical gardens facing the beach, to new beds and the softess sheets and comfy pillows. In the morning get to know our other friends (guests) by sharing coffee, muffins and fruit for breakfast in the Rancho. A/C, cable t.v. hot water and Wifi are also included in the rooms. We our right on the beach with the most beautiful sunsets. Here in Tamarindo, people stop what they are doing just to watch the sunsets. We are in the center of town (right next to the Diria), big yellow hotel with a surfer on the front of the building along with a parrot, a monkey, iguana, a couple of fish and a frog. You can't miss us, don't miss the experience of the Hotel Villa Amarilla. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Amarilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Amarilla to your Saves list