We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Amarilla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Save
You added Hotel Villa Amarilla to your Saves list
152 | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Providence of Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Villa Amarilla Bed and Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
1 review
“Pura Vida in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel Villa Amarilla offers everything you could want when in comes to hospitality in Tamarindo.

The property is bright and colorful, the rooms are comfortable and the shore of the Pacific Ocean is your backyard! The owners have created a cozy social area complete with hammocks and couches that are perfect for lounging, afternoon siestas and meeting new friends. The hotel is in the perfect location - walking distance to all the shopping, restaurants and night life.

I'm an early riser and one morning I had the chance to chat with TJ as the sun was coming up. He was busy preparing delicious Costa Rican coffee and pastries for all the guests.

TJ is such a friendly, warm person! He shared his story with me about following his dream and moving from the US to begin anew in Costa Rica. He is all heart and soul and has a passion for life that's contagious. This beautiful family truly loves what they do and they are determined to make your visit one that you will never forget.

Thank you Hotel Villa Amarilla, I can't wait to get back! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Kim W,
We are very pleased that you had such a great time here at Hotel Villa Amarilla.
We have made a lot more changes since you have been here.
We have put in a community kitchen, a outdoor living area called a Rancho, and many other things. We hope that if you ever get back to Tamarindo you will come by and stay.
Thanks,
Tj and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buena vista, canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This place was wonderful. If you are looking for a relaxed, clean, friendly, cheap place right on the beach, then Villa anarilla is the place for you. We stayed here with our 13 month old baby, he had fun running around their grass, fenced in area that looks onto the beach. The owners are fantastic and made us feel at home. a light breakfast and coffee was provided in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Manager at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Kim W,
Thanks for the compliments. We made more changes to Hotel Villa Amarilla,
a community kitchen, which is convenient when you have kids and we have masseuses, which is convenient when you are a mom.
Hope to see you and your family in the future.
TJ and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our favorite place in Costa Rica and its right on the beach. After traveling all over for a month we felt at home the second we walked in! Rooms are spacious and very clean, beds are very comfy and clean lines, theres a get common kitchen and sitting area,the grounds are absolutely beautiful and the breakfast was amazing!! We are already planning on going back before we leave. This is a must stay place in Costa Rica! TJ and cindi along with their dogs are great hosts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Jen,
Thanks for the great review. We loved having you two stay here.
Hopefully one day you can come back and see us again.
Take care.
TJ and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

These is the best small hotel to stay in tamarindo, good price and costumer service is found in these hotel . It is a family business that recenly move from USA. If you are visiting Costa Rica and would want to find a small hotel and With amenities warm and Friendly visit these hotel.
Down in Tamarindo are many places to eat , surf and Fish . Do not miss the su subsets.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Erik G,
It was great seeing you again. Thanks so much for coming back and visiting.
We loved having you and your friends here.
See you soon.
TJ and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I may have been the very first guest to stay at Villa Amarilla after it came under new ownership and management. I was there early July of '12.

TJ is the man. Some people were just meant to be in hospitality. I have never been treated so warmly. It felt like showing up at an old friends place.


Location: Right on the beach, in the heart of Tamarindo. Awesome surf breaks right out back. Looking due west over the Pacific makes for perfect sunsets every single night.

Accomodation: The room I had was perfect. Not over complicated. Clean room, comfy bed, killer view of the ocean.

People: The type of people that come through Costa and stay at Villa Amarilla are awesome. Realy great folks in a great place makes for a great time. Making new friends at this place is inevitable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed in Villa Amarilla in February, while in Tamarindo for the wedding of a friend at the Diria a little further up the beach. VA's accommodations were clean, comfortable and affordable. The location was perfect, with the back-gate opening right onto Playa Tamarindo, and the front door only a short walk from the main drag in town. The small garden inside the fence was great for relaxing. The room was spacious and comfortable with both air conditioning and a ceiling fan. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi CJankowski84,
Villa Amarilla is under new ownership.
We have renovated everything, from the rooms to the garden.
We've added a community kitchen, an outdoor living space called a Rancho and many other things.
One day if you are back in Tamarindo come back and stay with us.
Until then check out our website hotelvillaamarilla.com.
Thank you for your review in February.
Tj and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Staying here was a bliss, TJ and Cinde are the most amazing hosts, excellent breakfast, clean comfy accommodating rooms, dog friendly, right at the perfect location to surf and family dinner on Sunday!
I would highly recommend staying here if you need accommodation you can trust and have a wonderful experience at!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Clayton,
Thanks for the great review. We loved having you guys come stay with us.
And Umi (dog friendly hotel).We've made many more changes since you've been here.
Hope your travels are going well.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
TJ and Cinde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Amarilla

Address: 152 | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Providence of Guanacaste, Costa Rica, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Villa Amarilla Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fun friendly hotel. Right on the beach with tropical gardens. We have a Rancho with day beds and hammocks. The Rancho has a chill vibe. It's where you can mingle with other guests from all over the world. There are games and books in the Rancho. Our sound system always has different genres of music playing or you can put on your music. We have a pingpong table, frisbees, paddle boards, soccer balls or just kick back and relax. We have a fully stocked community kitchen if you feel like cooking. Free Breakfast which includes Muffins, French Pastries, Quiche, Papaya, Mango, Pineapple, Bananas, Watermelon, Milk, Juice and of course Costarican Coffee. We have a massage palapa, the masseuses are amazing. We have a salon palapa, if you need blow dry or cut/color. Amenities included in the price of your room are AirConditioning, Flat Screen Cable T.V, Ceiling Fan, Free Wi-Fi (throughout the hotel), Hot Water, Hair Dryers at your request. Need a snack late in the afternoon, In the Community Kitchen you will always find Fresh Fruit. At the reception desk you will find Beach Towels, Sunscreen and Bug Spray. We also carry a First Aid Kit. Free Parking in Front and We offer Free Laundry Service. The fun begins at check-in with a shot of tequila.... "Come a strangers, leave as family" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Amarilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.