We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tamarindo oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast
In Front of Seasons Restaurant | Calle de la Cruz, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounted Scuba trips!
Ranked #5 of 37 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Tamarindo oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The experience exceeded our expectations in so many ways. As other reviewers have said, the Beach Bungalows B&B is a wonderful, cozy and charming place, but the memories we made here certainly will last a lifetime. Trish and her great staff (hola, Edwin!) were extremely nice and helpful, and the breakfasts were fantastic. We also were fortunate enough to meet several other nice couples who were staying at the B&B at the same time, which led to long chats into the night by the pool. We even ended up going as a group on the Antares boat tour (recommended by Trish and definitely worth it). Oh, and can't forget Stella and Parker, two wonderful dogs (Parker is one smart pup, and can fetch you a beer or a towel).
The cabins, four nestled around the central pool, are gorgeous. Small but clean, comfortable and cool with lots of fans, and an open lounging area below. The palms provide cool shade, and the B&B is close enough that the beach and town are a close walk, but far enough to be away from the noise and bustle. The open kitchen off the main house was a great spot for breakfasts and convenient for grabbing cold drinks from the fridge.
Everything about this place is warm, friendly and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a charming, simple cabin with great ambiance, this is your place. The beach bungalows are a nice little oasis in Tamarindo. 4 elevated cabins, each having a daybed and hammock beneath them, surrounding a pool, with a common outdoor dining area. We loved waking up in our cabin, it just had such a warm feeling to it. The other guest we met were great, we loved the family style breakfast table. The breakfasts were delicious, something a little different every day.

Trish and her staff couldn’t be more helpful with dining recommendations, arranging excursions, airport transfers,and storing our bags and letting us use the place after checkout, as we had a late flight home.

Just some Tamarindo Favorites:
-We loved El Be’s, best chairs, hammocks, and bean bags on the beach for no fee as long as you buy a few drinks. Say Hi to Jose and Kevin for us.
-Longboards has great BBQ if you are looking for some American food.
-Patagonia’s has good steak for the area, and the sangria is great.
-The Green Papaya has amazing tacos, and the hot sauce is awesome.
-FT Burritos are delicious.
-Latitude Fireshow was great, dinner was so-so.

We loved the Sunset Cruise from Antares Sailing Adventures, you leave around 1pm and return after sunset, great food, drinks and guitar playing.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place was wonderful! I would recommend it a thousand times over. My husband and I stayed here for a week and we felt welcomed the minute we got there. Trish and her friends were fantastic! From the delicious breakfasts to the help with excursions and planning was awesome. The little cabins were clean, charming, and so relaxing. Thank you to the whole Beach Bungalows crew!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Our time spend at the Beach Bungalows was more than we could have ever asked for. My boyfriend and I travelled to Costa Rica for a much needed vacation and as soon as we arrived we were greeted with smiles and warm welcomes! Everything was just as pictured only better. We woke up every morning thinking that this is a little piece of paradise and we are so lucky to be here. Trish and her staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. Trish even woke up at 3:30 am to make us coffee and breakfast sandwiches for our way to the airport on our last day! She had great recommendations for where to eat (and not eat) and what tour companies and excursions were best. Make sure your try the fish tacos at FT's....so yummy! Without a doubt the best vacation we have ever been on and an awesome first experience with Airbnb! Thanks so much Trish, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights in early March. Bungalows were exactly as promised and as portrayed on the website. Small inside, but very comfortable, clean, and nice. Breakfasts were delicious and Trish and her staff were EXTREMELY helpful with recommendations for restaurants and activities and assisted with reservations. This is not a fancy, four star, hotel but it is a fantastic value and exactly as advertised. The walk to the main drag and beach in town is very short (perhaps 5 minutes) and you really don't need to rent a car if you plan to stay close to Tamarindo. Lack of A/C was not a problem, the nights were cool and there were ceiling, stand and oscillating fans in the room. It may have been warm in the rooms during the day, but who wants to spend the day in the room?! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish D, Manager at The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
We loved having you here with us and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It's our pleasure to help make sure you enjoy your stay here in beautiful Costa Rica, and we hope you can come back and visit us again!! Happy travels, Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

After a long trek we ended our vacation at the Beach Bungalows. Overall awesome experience, the breakfast is homemade and absolutely delicious. The owner Trish was so helpful and friendly, she greeted us with a couple of chilled beers and we loved her ever since. The staff also went out of there way to make sure you were taken care of.
The Bungalows were very clean and chic. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish D, Manager at The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
We absolutely loved having you with us! So happy you enjoyed our home-made breakfasts. Maria rocks!! Come back and see us when you can!
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My boyfriend and I just came back from our stay in Tamarindo. We were lucky enough to stay at the Beach Bungalows for 4 nights. Trish and Claudio were amazing hosts that made you feel truly at home. There are 4 bungalows that each have their own private hammock and day bed underneath to relax as well as a pool in the center. We truly enjoyed our time and can not wait to return next year. Parker and Stella(Trish's dogs) are also amazing!! I miss them already, how they would cuddle up on the day bed and relax:) I highly recommend if you are traveling to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish D, Manager at The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Beach Bungalows! We are thrilled that you felt happy here!! Parker and Stella are looking for you, so you need to come back! Until then, stay warm....
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast

Address: In Front of Seasons Restaurant | Calle de la Cruz, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Bungalow Bed & Breakfast is a cozy and environmentally-friendly project consisting of four raised teak bungalows, each with an upstairs bedroom with queen bed, a bathroom with shower, a safe box, mini-fridge, and overhead fan. Each bungalow also has its own private lounge area on a teak deck near the pool, with hammocks, lounges or daybeds. Also available for guest use is an open kitchen area, barbecue grill, and an air-conditioned lounge with flat screen smart tv and cable. There is wi-fi on the property and free parking in front of the gate. In keeping with a green philosophy, Beach Bungalows uses a state of the art treatment system that allows waste water to be used for irrigation, cools its rooms with fans and screen doors, and uses a UV water purification system that makes water drinkable throughout the facility. Breakfast is included, and guests can make complimentary calls to the US and Canada via magic jack. We have just completed renovations and updates to the bungalows, including new bedding, linens, and bathroom amenities. Although just a short walk from the beach, shops, and restaurants, the Beach Bungalows has been described by our guests as "an oasis" in Tamarindo. We would love to share our oasis with you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Bed And Breakfast
Beach Bungalow Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Bungalows Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.