We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LongBoards BBQ

LongBoards BBQ
Rt 155 | Playa Tamarindo centro diagonal al BAC San Jose cabinas Coral Reef, Tamarindo 206314, Costa Rica
+506 2653 0027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 137 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went here one day for lunch because it was recommended to us. My daughter (3 yo) doesn't eat many things so my husband ordered the shredded pork platter so everyone could have some. My 5 yo loves food so we weren't surprised to see him munch it down but my 3 yo couldn't get enough. She loves the food and all the different sauces that we tried. The owner is american and very friendly, he was great with the kids. The place is very friendly, casual, good people watching but it is the food you will go back for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    147
    54
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Locals suggested this place and its very good! you must order the Pork sliders they are amazing! The owner is very friendly and an expat.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some like it Hot!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Food was excellent, a little pricey for BBQ but its a true sweat box. If you like to eat and sweat like at a true BBQ in the south, it's worth the visit, if air conditioning is what you need on a 100 degree day, you might want to pass!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It's a nice but noisy atmosphere with okay staff and okay food. It was fun to watch soccer on one of many flat screens while eating bbq. Cool place to kick back and have beers and fun. Wifey and I ate there twice in one week. I had the bbq pork the first time (very fatty & not to my liking). My next time there I had the chicken which was much better then the pork and they offered several different dipping sauces. We shared onion rings too and they were just okay, not great. Hope this is helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A real BBQ joint in Central America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I work in the Santa Rosa national park and come to tamarindo for my days off. Long boards is an amazing restaurant! .

it's one of the only places I have found to get a real hamburger like your mom makes them at home! They also have amazing nachos with pineapple slaw in top and pulled pork. So delicious!

The staff are always so friendly and willing to chat about their favorite surf spots, and other things to do in the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongBoards BBQ also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to LongBoards BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongBoards BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.