We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LongBoards BBQ

LongBoards BBQ
Rt 155 | Playa Tamarindo centro diagonal al BAC San Jose cabinas Coral Reef, Tamarindo 206314, Costa Rica
506 26530027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 124 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Renton, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Came here multiple times during our visit to Tamarindo. Amazing ribs and pork. Also fish tacos. The owner, Jeff, went out of his way to stop by our table, and made sure to take care of us. Excellent service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    118
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No lace like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing, the people made me feel special and were so warm and welcome. They really made me feel like home and I miss this place and the people so much!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Promising, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Longboards has promise-BBQ has universal appeal when folks want something "toothsome"- but unfortunately that appeal fell away when the sides (and appetizer) were too greasy and lacking in seasoning that the tasty pork ribs we had were "lost in the malaise". My frank opinion is that the fry oil needs to be changed out, and management needs to pay attention to execution. I'm afraid to say the biggest stars of Longboards were the owner and delightful waitress, but in a BBQ restaurant-the food has to be king.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don`t eat here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We tried the pulled pork and it tasted funny. It turned out that we got food poisoning and spent the whole day and night throwing up and we got really ill. Don`t eat here!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Karaoke Tuesdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Tamarindo has "fiesta" at a different place every night. Longboards is right across from Fische which has Salsa (live bands) on Tuesdays -- starting at about 11 pm. Go to Longboards at 9 or 10 and there is a fun crowd doing karaoke. The food, drinks and all the staff are awesome.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongBoards BBQ also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to LongBoards BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongBoards BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.