We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great lunch here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LongBoards BBQ

LongBoards BBQ
Rt 155 | Playa Tamarindo centro diagonal al BAC San Jose cabinas Coral Reef, Tamarindo 206314, Costa Rica
506 26530027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 123 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We had a great lunch here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I know what good Bar-B-Que is, and this was good! It's not fancy at all. Very casual. Service was great, from the owner, I think. I did not think it was very cheap, but it was good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    115
    37
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best BBQ ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I love barbecue and have eaten it all over the States. I had the ribs at Longboard and they were some of the juiciest, most flavorful ones I have ever eaten. My wife had the chicken and that was excellent as well. Great service too. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Killingly, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great food and large portions. Definitely try the onion rings, best I have ever had. The owner was very friendly too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

LongBoards BBQ has some of the best BBQ I've tasted in Tamarindo and beyond. The three sauces that come with all BBQ are equally delicious and add to the already perfectly prepared and delicious meats. The fish tacos tama style are a must try and even though BBQ is their specialty, even their salad is fresh and generous.
Brian has created a welcoming and fun atmosphere, and Eileen provides stellar service and always puts a smile on your face.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Carolina BBQ in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

American owners Stephanie and Brian from Colorodo make a great BBQ pulled pork sandwhich and the smoked fish tacos were fantastic. We live in North Carolina so imagine our surprise when we were presented with both Eastern Carolina style and Lexington style sauce. Seems that Stephanie's grandma is from the Raleigh area and couldn't see them having a BBQ place with out the right sauce. Stephanie was very nice and friendly and helped us figure out how to shave almost an hour off our trip back to San Jose. Great place and a good value. Cash only.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongBoards BBQ also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to LongBoards BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongBoards BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.