We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soles y Margaritas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soles y Margaritas
Save
You added Soles y Margaritas to your Saves list
behind Botella De Leche, up the hill from Papayitas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just a 5 minute walk to the beach, with a great view of the beach. The rooms are large and clean and come with an equipped kitchen. The bed was comfortable. We felt very safe there. There is a nice pool and hot showers. There is AC, but we never used it, since we got a really nice breeze by opeing the windows.

The owners were warm, friendly and very helpful. Kurt, the owner is a fabulous surf teacher. He also rents boards for just $5/day (half the next cheapest place).

Occasionally, the water pressure in the rooms went down, but as soon as we mentioned it to the owners, they had the pump on and water pressure was back up in a few minutes.

If we return to Tamarindo, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very clean, very large room for a great price. Full kitchen and bath, a pool outside and friendly hosts. I'll go back to Tamarindo only to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place, great location, great price, and great people. Kurt was our host, our tourist informant, surf teacher, and friend. The rooms are clean, comfortable, equipped, and secure. Wouldn't come back to tamarindo unless I could get a room here again. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Booked this place after the reviews on trip advisor and was not dissapointed. Kurt has a great place and is every bit the laid back surf dude!! It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the main area yet you have all the peace and quiet of being out in the middle of knowhere, its perfect if you dont want the noise,dust and party scene of Tamarindo. The rooms have everything you could need to cook in, and even though its not the newest of poshest of rooms it is clean tidy and more than adequete, the best bit is the sliding doors out to a gorgeous pool with views out to sea. A great place to sit and chill. Kurt is really lovely and helpfull, he rents boards for only $5 a day which is a great price and the boards are good. He reccommended nice places to go yet was never in your face, he just lets you get on with it and come and find him if you need anything. And it is a bargain. $40 for an apartment like this, you dont get any better value for money. Would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We used them 3 times in our trips through Costa rica. They were reasonable prices, on time and polite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

As long as you're OK with a 5-7 minute walk to town and beach this place is great. We found it by chance as we were looking for hotels. We were about to pay $45 for a regular hotel room when we bumped into Kurt who offered us a studio apartment for $30 a night for 2 weeks.

The place is a 4 room building up a hill behind town and is very quiet. There was a great ocean view for checking surf conditions from our balcony. The room was a large studio with full kitchen, couch, cable, A/C, WIFI, good bed and private bath. And there is a nice pool.

Kurt and Yessica were very nice and we felt like friends when we left. He gave me good advice on where to surf and on buying a used board in town (the trailer where they repair boards had a nice selection of used shortboards and fish, but no longboards)

Highly recommended.
http://www.tamarindosurfhotel.com/www.tamarindosurfhotel.com/Home.html

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Coming from Bolivia, we arrived in Tamarindo overwhelmed by the gringo-ey nature of town and were unsure if we were going to stay even a few days. As we were checking out of Blue Trailz (thank GOD!), we happened to run into Kurt in their surf shop, where he teaches lessons. He told us about Soles y Margaritas and his wife Jessica met us to show us the rooms. What a sanctuary! Just a short walk from town, the place is awesome. Unbelievable views, pool, private balconies, comfortable beds/pillows, each room has its own fully equipped kitchen, WIFI, hot water, AC and 2 of the nicest owners we've met. Jessica will do your laundry for $5/load. And it was $20 bucks/night less than the run down Blue Trailz hostel we came from! We intended to stay only a few days, but it turned into 2 weeks. He's also a fabulous surf teacher. So helpful, positive, insightful and a lot cheaper than booking through the surf schools. I was having issues getting up on waves, and after 2 hours with him, my confidence is back and I'm surfing great. What a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soles y Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soles y Margaritas

Address: behind Botella De Leche, up the hill from Papayitas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soles y Margaritas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.