We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is THE place to stay in Tamarindo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp to your Saves list
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“It really is THE place to stay in Tamarindo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. It's clean, fun and the price is right. The rooms are large with good air con and they don't crowd them with tons of beds like a lot of hostels do. Each room as 3 beds. I've stayed in smaller rooms with 8 beds. The bathroom has multiple showers and toilets so you don't have to wait and it's clean with good hot water.

My friend and I took the surf lesson with Wences who did a great job and we were catching waves pretty much immediately. They have a fun bar at the hostel with some of the best prices in town and great music. We only stayed here one night and then moved to a hotel on the beach but we came back every night to the bar. It's mostly a young backpackers crowd so if that's you and you like fun this is where you want to go.

The owners are fantastic, our hotel on the beach was robbed and the thiefs stole everything I had. The staff at the hotel weren't very helpful so I came back to Oveja Negra and they let me use their phone and internet. The next day Santiago gave me a couple of his shirts to help me out. How many people would go that far to help?? Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    5
    9
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calamba, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was first drawn to the decor since it was colorful and the atmosphere was relaxed,
Initially happy but i guess first impressions lasts because when i saw that they gave us beds that were dirty then my happiness faded. There was a lot of sand on my bed... then we had to ask for the sheets. The room felt muggy even though there was aircon. I think the room just needed airing out.
A younger crowd hangs here.
Shared bathroom at least was clean and had a lot of stalls.
We then left for its sister hostel and we found it better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been there for one week. Took some surflessons, rent the bords and were in the bar next to the hostel. Everything was as it should be! The guys running the place where very nice and helpful.
It's also a good place to make party, because sometimes it's a little bit loud in the evening because of the thin walls. :) if you are in tamarindo it's definetly the best place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Oveja Negra was recommended to us when we were passing through San Jose, and we re-arranged our travel plans to shorten our time in La Fortuna, in order to give us time to stop in Tamarindo.

Oveja Negra is a surf-hostel, though not everyone that stays there surfs (my girlfriend and myself included). They do offer surf lessons, but they do not harass you about taking them.

The two guys who run the place, Menses and Santiago, are awesome. Both are very laid-back, good humored, and a lot of fun to go out with.

There is a large living room, with a few couches to enjoy their big screen tv. There is also a pool table inside, and a ping pong table outside.

The kitchen is big and they have two fridges, so you can really stock up on food (and beer!).

Outside, there are a few patio tables, and people usually congregate out there in the evening to hang out, have some dinner, drink some beers, and in general have a good time.

The rooms are pretty big, and cleaned daily by the maid. They are also air conditioned.

This is THE hostel to stay in if you are going to be in Tamarindo. Its well located, and is full of fun, social people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I really liked that Hostel. Good atmosphere, nice owner and guests. Very laid back and relaxed. They have a pool table, Pingpong table, big kitchen and big TV. They also rent movies every few days.
I had a Great Time!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

If you are looking for an awesome time stay here. The owners are so laid back and chill and the vibe is just awesome. Not to mention it's locationed next to a liquor store and 1 minute walk to downtown. Amazing place!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The staff was really friendly, but at we did not got sheets for our beds at check in. (they have some, ask for) But they ask every day, if we are interested in one the daily tours. The rooms are nice with diffenrent colors, but the walls been pretty thin, so that it was in the room sometimes realy loud. Every room has a air condition.
They cleaned the rooms and shared bathrooms every day, but it feels not that clean. The bathroom has three toilets and showers for girls and boys are seperate. Sometimes it was that busy that you need waiting time for using.
There is a big public place, where you could use the computers, play Pool or table tennis or only relax in the hammocks or infront of the TV or only for meet new people. Realy nice!
For surfer is everything in the hostel (incl. Space for the boards in every dorm). You could take surf lessons or rent a board for 10$ per day. They give you tips for other beaches too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Address: Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.