We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp to your Saves list
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Honduras
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More than a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This guys know about the sharing the travelling experience! It´s not all about the hostel, it´s the good vibes that Salti gives to the customers which makes this place an awesome and unique destination. Costa Rica offers many options for travelers but this one makes you feel at home and still takes care of the wallet. You get even more than what you are paying for you bed, here you know for sure that you will have a great time! Customer service at the hostel is just magnificent! Oh, and make sure to take one of their surfing courses!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here with my boyrfiend in November 2010 while travelling through Costa Rica for my second time. The hostel was clean, the owner was friendly. He provided us with a lot of tips on local beaches other than Tamarindo. We had an awesome time there and hit up some wicked surf beaches.

Not only is this a hostel, but it's also a surf school and provides surf rentals. It's all in one! There are some great common areas....large living room with seating, big screen TV and a computer (wifi too). Pool tables, counter seating, shared kitchen, outdoor tables/chairs and hammocks.. Bathrooms are shared....girls and guys are seperate.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but try to get a room with a window and a working fan. During our first night we stayed in an interior room, the a/c didn't work and the fan didn't function well. We had a very hot sleep. Once we moved across the hall....we were able to opent he window and only use the fan to be comfortable. No a/c required. It made our stay much more enjoyable!

The hostel may seem noisy during the day...and especially late evening before the bar scene starts up, but there is a security guard on duty in the evening....and a quiet time of 10 or 11:00, so it's pretty awesome!!!

Room Tip: Try for an exterior room that will have a window as well as a fan and a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was my second trip to Tamarindo, and second time staying at La Oveja Negra. Thanks again for another awesome time in Tamarindo!

As a side note, the first time I was in Tamarindo (Nov. 2010) I had booked a different hostel farther down the road, but seeing how isolated and dull it was, quickly went on the search for a better atmosphere. La Oveja Negra clearly stood out, and I was quite happy I made the move.

Everyone who comes through Tamarindo needs to check out La Oveja Negra - it's the place to be! Fun staff, great vibe, awesome rooms and amenities, and all very reasonably priced! The main room has a pool table (great for late night drinking games!), tons of couch space, and a giant tv. There is also a computer for use and free wifi. Nice large kitchen with everything needed to cook up a great meal. Free coffee all day long. What more could you ask for in a hostel?

The owners (2 Argentine guys) are really fun and always into socializing with the guests. They also provide surf lessons (I took a lesson from Wences last fall and it was great), board rental, and surf trips. This time I took a surf trip to Playa Avellanas with Wences and crew and had a great time.

The proximity to the beach and party spots makes this the perfect location for any backpacker! Check it out! Oh, and don't miss Romy, the hostel mascot! He's a cutie!

Room Tip: Dorms and privates available, all very reasonably prices (dorms ~$10-12 US, privates from $15 per pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

i went to la oveja negra after staying one night at another hostel a few blocks from there. The difference between one and another was huge! la oveja is modest in terms of facilities, but none of the details that one could claim about care much, and this is because the hostel has a joyfull and juvenile spirit where people are very dynamic and friendly! (in other words people rock every F#@%$% day and night)
i was travelling with a friend and planned to stay 3 nights at tamarindo, but after staying two nights at la oveja we made friends with the owners (2 argentinean guys) and the rest of the people staying there. when we decided to leave tamarindo we realized we had stayed there for 10 days! i believe that when you travel its nice to share and get to know peolple, and in la oveja we found great friends who made our vacations in CR unforgetable. i hope to go back soon and ride some waves with these dudes!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh Cave
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Absolutely the best part of our Costa Rica trip. We'd travelled all round for a month and this place nicely rounded it off. Such cool guys running the hostel, again it is a hostel so if you want 5* treatment then stay in a hotel. For cheap simple living, which in that climate is all anyone really needs then this is the place. We played football with the Argentinian owners every night on the beach, everything is nearby i.e. shops, supermarkets, beach, bars, restaurants. We surfed as well which was good but there weren't amazing waves. So chilled out it is a must stay for backpackers. The bathrooms are fine men and women and the bedrooms are fine for the price, approx $7 i think. There were house parties every night there and it just demonstrated how cool life there really is. If you want a surf experience and have a good time then stay here, if you're not prepared to be staying in immaculate room serviced hotels then you shouldn't be in Costa Rica, that's not what its about.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Address: Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.