We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koi Beach Restaurant

Koi Beach Restaurant
100 Meters Norte Del Hotel Diria | Right Next to Iguana Surf on the Beach!, Tamarindo 00000, Costa Rica
+506 8705 7638
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 103 restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Thats Amore is located on the main street, right in front of the beach in Tamarindo Costa Rica(formerly known as Koi Beach Restaurant. We serve lunch everyday but Tuesday from 12-5pm with a delicious selection of panini's, pastas, salads, hamburgers & more! Dinner starts at 5pm and is served till 10pm with specialties in Pasta, Seafood, Steaks & More! Everyday from 5pm-6:30pm we offer an amazing sunset happy hour which includes 2x1 cocktails & Wine on our outdoor patio overlooking the ocean and beautiful sunsets. We look forward to serving you and hope to see you soon!
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Awesome place. Great food. Excellent beverages!! Beautiful scenery and excellent service from all of the staff. No complaints here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed our beverages:) If you make your way back down here please stop in again and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    161
    27
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

i'm back in Tamarindo, and like last year I went to this nice restaurant where i've been a lot of times during my christmas vacation in 2011 and the big surprise was that now is better than ever, a wonderful terrace with ocean view, easy price and the amazing italian home made pasta menu that completes the big offer of sushi, fish and meat...i've been there yesterday and I already booked for tonite...my suggestions are : meat lasagna, gnocchi in cheese cream and specially candies ravioli filled with shrimps and tomato fresh sauce

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Koi Beach Restaurant. We are so happy you came back to visit us again, return customers are very important to us. So you have noticed the changes! Our new ocean front patio, tropical decor, new chefs with a delicious new menu are just a sample of some of the changes Koi has gone through this past year. We are so glad you like the home made/hand made pasta, our new Italian Chef is amazing and has influenced the menu a lot. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks for the pictures by the way, they are great! It must have been one of our four live music nights we have here at Koi, glad you got to experience it. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Best restaurant in Tamarindo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited Koi 3 or 4 times for lunch and dinner during our stay in Tamarindo. The servers were great, the owners were incredibly friendly, and the food was delicious. My absolute favorites were the lobster pasta that was recommended to us as the current special and the passion fruit mojitos!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you visited Koi numerous times on your vacation. Repeat customers are the best compliment/feedback we can receive. The lobster pasta and the passion fruit mojitos are quickly becoming are best sellers! Thanks again and hope to see you again if your travels bring you back down this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tori was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Tori made the evening. We were seven and she was great. Food was good and we enjoyed Matixando. The young boy with them was a joy to watch as he played along with the group. Had an interesting conversation about auto racing with one of staff. A pleasant time was had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Koi Beach Restaurant. We are very happy to hear Torian made such a great impression with your group. We pride ourselves in hiring the best staff, not just great servers, but servers with personality that can really add to someones dining experience, and Torian has not disappointed! We offer live music 4 nights a week here at Koi, and Matixando has been a great addition to the line up. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your evening here and we look forward to serving you in the future if your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great sushi and drings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't leave Tamarindo without a visit to Koi. Be sure to try the Passion Fruit Mojito- the best -
I had a wonderful light dinner which was perfect after a day in the sun. I started with a caprese salad of beautiful fresh tomatoes with layers of mozzarella in between and sprinkled with basil and drizzled with a wonderful balsamic sauce. I followed with the tropical roll a sushi roll with salmon, and ahi with a little piece of mango inside- yumm- wish I could have one now. The staff was nice but service was a bit slow- but in fairness - they were very crowded.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Koi Beach Restaurant. We take feedback from our customers very seriously and are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience. Our passion fruit mojitos are quickly becoming a favorite on our cocktail menu. Being from Italy, the caprese salad is also one of my favorites and we have searched and searched for the freshest ingredients to make it as close to the real thing as we can and I am glad to hear you appreciated it.
I want to apologize for the slow service, It says you visited us in January and unfortunately we were trying to deal with the holiday rush with a fresh new service staff. It took a little bit to get everyone up to Koi standards, but I promise this is not common practice here at Koi and we can happily say that our staff is now completely trained and ready for any rush. If you happen to be back in this area please stop in so we can prove it to you:)
Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Beach Restaurant also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Koi Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.