We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Tamarindo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koi Beach Restaurant

Koi Beach Restaurant
100 Meters Norte Del Hotel Diria | Right Next to Iguana Surf on the Beach!, Tamarindo 00000, Costa Rica
+506 8705 7638
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 113 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Thats Amore is located on the main street, right in front of the beach in Tamarindo Costa Rica(formerly known as Koi Beach Restaurant. We serve lunch everyday but Tuesday from 12-5pm with a delicious selection of panini's, pastas, salads, hamburgers & more! Dinner starts at 5pm and is served till 10pm with specialties in Pasta, Seafood, Steaks & More! Everyday from 5pm-6:30pm we offer an amazing sunset happy hour which includes 2x1 cocktails & Wine on our outdoor patio overlooking the ocean and beautiful sunsets. We look forward to serving you and hope to see you soon!
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Best restaurant in Tamarindo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited Koi 3 or 4 times for lunch and dinner during our stay in Tamarindo. The servers were great, the owners were incredibly friendly, and the food was delicious. My absolute favorites were the lobster pasta that was recommended to us as the current special and the passion fruit mojitos!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you visited Koi numerous times on your vacation. Repeat customers are the best compliment/feedback we can receive. The lobster pasta and the passion fruit mojitos are quickly becoming are best sellers! Thanks again and hope to see you again if your travels bring you back down this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    161
    27
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tori was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Tori made the evening. We were seven and she was great. Food was good and we enjoyed Matixando. The young boy with them was a joy to watch as he played along with the group. Had an interesting conversation about auto racing with one of staff. A pleasant time was had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Koi Beach Restaurant. We are very happy to hear Torian made such a great impression with your group. We pride ourselves in hiring the best staff, not just great servers, but servers with personality that can really add to someones dining experience, and Torian has not disappointed! We offer live music 4 nights a week here at Koi, and Matixando has been a great addition to the line up. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your evening here and we look forward to serving you in the future if your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great sushi and drings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't leave Tamarindo without a visit to Koi. Be sure to try the Passion Fruit Mojito- the best -
I had a wonderful light dinner which was perfect after a day in the sun. I started with a caprese salad of beautiful fresh tomatoes with layers of mozzarella in between and sprinkled with basil and drizzled with a wonderful balsamic sauce. I followed with the tropical roll a sushi roll with salmon, and ahi with a little piece of mango inside- yumm- wish I could have one now. The staff was nice but service was a bit slow- but in fairness - they were very crowded.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Koi Beach Restaurant. We take feedback from our customers very seriously and are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience. Our passion fruit mojitos are quickly becoming a favorite on our cocktail menu. Being from Italy, the caprese salad is also one of my favorites and we have searched and searched for the freshest ingredients to make it as close to the real thing as we can and I am glad to hear you appreciated it.
I want to apologize for the slow service, It says you visited us in January and unfortunately we were trying to deal with the holiday rush with a fresh new service staff. It took a little bit to get everyone up to Koi standards, but I promise this is not common practice here at Koi and we can happily say that our staff is now completely trained and ready for any rush. If you happen to be back in this area please stop in so we can prove it to you:)
Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stopped by here for lunch one day. First of all, sushi is only at night. We sat at a high top table and could see some of the beach because we were in the second row. If you were further back, there would be no beach view. We ordered sandwiches which were good when they finally came. It took WAY too long for the food to come. You could have asked for french fries or a mixed greens to accompany the sandwiches. Our waiter forgot to ask us so we were brought the mixed greens on our plates when we wanted the fries. We didn't ask for the fries for fear how long it would take to get them. If I ever return to Tamarindo, I won't be coming here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
First of all I would like to apologize for the experience you had here at Koi. As you can see from our other reviews, bad service is not something we are known for. We do have quite a transition period we go through in December, which is the start of our high season. That is the time we hire our new seasonal staff and have to go through the training period right as town is getting busy, it is not an excuse, and I am sorry if the service was not up to your standards.
In regards to the beach view. In all of Guanacaste there is a 50 meter rule, where you can not build within 50 meters of the tide line, our building is built directly behind that line. There is natural green zone in front of us that can not be touched which does hide some of the ocean view with some short trees, but not much.
My wife or I are here for every shift and wish we would have known about your situation as I can promise you we would have fixed it right then and there.
If you happen to travel down this way again, please stop in, we would like to offer you 10% off your next visit to show you the experience you had is not standard practice here at Koi Beach Restaurant and we would love the chance to make another impression.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved Koi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriends and I loved this place! We visited at least 4 times during our week stay in Tamarindo. They have 2 for 1 cocktails from 5-7 :) the owner, staff, and food were all amazing...definitely some of the nicest people we met on our trip!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf83, Owner at Koi Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Jenny, Thank you so much for sharing your Koi experience with other travelers. We really appreciate all reviews and take customer feedback very seriously. To hear you visited us numerous times on your vacation is the best compliment we can receive! Our daily happy hour is becoming more and more popular with 2x1 Cocktails from 5-6:30 and then live music starting at 7-we are glad you were able to take advantage of the happy hour! Hopefully your travels bring you back our way, and if they do please stop in and say hello.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Beach Restaurant also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Koi Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.