We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chillout with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portofino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Portofino to your Saves list
Hotel Portofino
10 north Cruza por Langosta | frente Spa Maya, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“chillout with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel has a very good location and staff was great - they even let us to leave the car on a private part. The apartment was big, bathroom with a nice, big shower, kitchen. Very close to the beach (also very wide with nice waves).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here with our two Kids and it was great. The rooms are not the newest but they are clean. We had an apartment and it was a good price. In the small kitchen we prepared our breakfast. Hotel Portofino has a pool and this is great. This hotel is in the center of Tamarindo and close to the beach so we did not deed a car for our activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came in October from Germany and we are so glad to find such a nice hotel. Hotel Portofino is located in the center of Tamarindo close to the beach and the restaurants. In our apartment there was a kitchen so that we made our own breakfast. We had only a few minutes to go to the beach. In the neighbourhood, there is a super market, where we bought our breakfast.
The best: They have a good offer for all visitors in October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very affordable for Tamarindo, we only paid $38 for a two bedroom apartment with kitchen! The swimming pool was nice and a pleasure to use the whole time we were there. Walking distance (about 2 mins) to the beach and the hotel is located right in down town, near resturants and more.. Thanks Nando for such a great experiance and sweet smells the whole time!!

Room Tip: Apartments are nice for 4 people or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011 via mobile

I would like to start off by saying, if your going to whinge about dust and dirt don't come to Costa Rica! You're here to enjoy the country as best as they can give you. Portofino hotel offers the best for $50 a night! A full kitchen help to keep beers and food so you save money, (grocery store two shops down- convenience much?!) it was fun using an old school stove top! The living area was great! Old school but cute, biggest tv I've seen in a Costa Rican hotel so far, two great sized bedrooms w/ big double beds, massive closet. We spent two nights elsewhere, went for a walk and came across portofino. The manager was so nice, showed us a room n we took it straight away. As soon as you walk through the gate it's like a whole different world. Massive courtyard decorated with palm trees flowers and pebbles leading out into the pool area. The balcony was a great place to have breakfast is the morning with a view of tamarindo through the trees. It was peaceful , barely any noise. The room was cleaned everyday no issues there. More than happy to leave a tip! The only issue I had was the shower system which took a while to get used to. Takes some time to get some heat in it but after everyday coming home from a 40-45 degree day I couldn't complain who need hot water. The AC rocked I actually wore pajama pants to bed! I would live in this aparment !
Also there's the best and cheapest bikini store right next door. The lady is Argentinian, designs her own bikinis and she is good at it. I searched every shop in tamarindo and was ecstatic when I came across her shop. The Best. Amazing :-)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Hotel Portofino was the one disappointment of our holiday reservations in Costa Rica. We were 4 in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was not clean. We had to clean it ourselves before we opened our luggage. Hazel, the manager, was unsympathetic. When we showed her that we could write out name clearly in the dust on the counter, she merely said that it couldn't be helped, that Tamarindo is a dusty place. An advance deposit was required but Paypal was not an option, only a wire transfer through a bank, with my bank taking a fee and Portofino's bank taking a fee. Furnishing our old. The windows don't quite close. The screens have holes in them. We had the smell of smoke from neighbours' burning something two evenings in a row.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Rooms were clean, but very old looking. Beds, pillows, and furniture were all dated. Coffee maker in room is not a coffee maker. It is a rinseable basket that you must use with boiled hot water (only in 2 bdrm units). TV only in suites, not in single bed rooms. Bathroom was fine but expect off and on hot water. It is normal in this part of the country. On the plus, pool and hot tub are pretty but was not working when I was there. It was being serviced the day I left. Service is great, owner very pleasant, and willing to negotiate a good deal. Located right on strip and dozens of restos, bars, cafes, and a grocery store within a 2 min walk. Beach less than 3-4 min walk away. WiFi worked well. Don't expect the Hyatt, but prices are good, so if you wish to save but not sacrifice on cleanliness, this is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portofino

Address: 10 north Cruza por Langosta | frente Spa Maya, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a promotion:Apartment: 1 person $28/night 2 person $48/nightCabin: 1 person $22/night 2 person $37/nightShared room: $10/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.