We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
250 meters east of Condos Pueblo del Mar, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashland, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A week in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous week at Villa Andulucia. From the moment of our arrival, Gary and Jolene treated us like royalty and we soon felt like long lost friends. The spacious, immaculate and exquisitely decorated accomodations, beautiful gardens & pool - even better than the pictures - provided an intimate and private respite in the friendly town of Tamarindo. Waking to the sound of howler monkeys and stunning sunshine was only topped by Maria's scrumptious breakfasts - I still can't decide which was my favorite! We highly recommend a fishing trip (or 2) with Brooks. He is an amazing wealth of knowledge about the natural resources in the area. We landed tuna, dorado (mahi) and even a black marlin - all within 13 miles of shore - and had lots of dolphin escorts. The full day fishing is definitely the best bet. The local restaurants will cook your fish for a very nominal fee - or you can use the grill at Villa Andalucia. Tamarindo beaches are beautiful, soft sand, warm water and very clean. Get a custom made swimsuit while you are there - it's worth it! Gary and Jolene were invaluable in their recommendations of restaurants and things to do, insuring that we had the opportunity to do as much (or as little) as we wanted. We even had the opportunity to attend the local rodeo/fiesta in a nearby village. We will definitely return to Tamarindo - as long as there is room at Villa Andalucia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
101
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Gary and Jolene are a huge part of why my recent trip to Tamarindo was a beautiful experience. They are as helpful as you want them to be, but will definitely give you all the privacy you need. The rooms are gorgeous, I can't say enough about how Maria's breakfast is so much better than any of the restaurants, the location is perfect (a very short walk to the beach), and the rates are great.
Jolene helped with booking all our tours and our transport to the airport and had very helpful tips for getting around town.
They are extremely accommodating hosts and didn't deny any of our requests.

Room Tip: Definetely pick one of the casitas. You get more privacy and a lot more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the beautiful casitas at Villa Andalucía and we loved it. Gary and Jolene are very nice people and made us feel at home right away. I have stayed in many places from 5 star resorts to small hostels (we are from Europe and love traveling) and this was one of the best. Maria's breakfast was very nice and Gary gave us some great tips for restaurants nearby. We had a rental car, but really didn't need it here because we walked to the nearby beach, shops and restaurants. We also went on the catamaran trip (Sailing Hibiscus) which Gary recommended and we really enjoyed that, great food and beautiful sunset! I miss Costa Rica and would definitely want to stay at Villa Andalucía again.
Claudia & Emile

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Villa Andalucia is the perfect place to stay in Tamarindo, and Jolene and Gary are the perfect hosts. The beaches, restaurants and shops are a short stroll away, and if you are lucky like I was, a monkey will visit in the Villa's courtyard. Maria's breakfasts are the perfect way to start your adventures for the day. Whether it is a fishing trip or a nature walk by Jolene and Gary's son, Brooks. or a zip lining, tubing, surfing or spa day, they will point you in the right direction. Everything is beautifully decorated by Jolene, and the courtyard and pool is a perfect place to relax at the end of the day. Thank you Gary and Jolene for a GREAT vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in Casita Seville for a week for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The owners of the property, Gary and Jolene, are gracious and friendly hosts and we discovered that we loved chatting with them and their family as well as the other guests just as much as we loved our quiet down time in our casita or in the hammocks or pool on the property. Upon arrival, Gary gave us a helpful tour of Tamarindo and we tried and loved many of his recommendations for restaurants. We spent most of our days walking down to the beach, making little excursions to nearby towns and beaches, relaxing on the property, or doing one of the activities Jolene arranged for us (like massages and fishing). We felt very pampered having breakfast and coffee ready for us most mornings. The casita was beautifully decorated, well equipped with everything you would need, and refreshingly air-conditioned, and the grounds were green, lush, and well groomed. Don't be surprised if you see an iguana at breakfast or a howler monkey crawling across the roof! We were sad to leave Tamarindo, but we can definitely see ourselves coming back to Villa Andalucia for a future anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast. Gary and Jolene were friendly, excellent, knowledgable hosts. The accommodations are spectacular and the food was delicious. We hope to return again soon.

Gord & Shaun

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just checked out and we miss Jolene, Gary and their lovely B&B already! We spent 3 nights there during out first trip to Costa Rica. Our hosts made us feel safe and comfortable immediately. Their tour and dining tips were bang on. They went out of their way to be available for their guests. Their son is a close by resource for many activities. We were lucky enough to see lots of marine life including dolphins, turtles and sting rays during our boat trip with him. Our room was comfortable and well decorated. What can we say the pancakes were the best we've had. Our favourite was the tropical which included coconut and macadamia nuts......and chocolate chips were optional.
K&P from Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast

Address: 250 meters east of Condos Pueblo del Mar, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Andalucía is an elegant Colonial home in Tamarindo that has 2 private Casitas and a suite in the main house available. This romantic getaway was inspired by the classic Colonial Homes of Spain and Nicaragua. Nestled in a private, quiet neighborhood of Tamarindo, Villa Andalucía is a 5 minute walk or a quick bike ride to shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful white sand beach of Tamarindo. A delicious breakfast is served M-F by Maria. There is maid service M-S and an onsite staff to assist you with tours and restaurant recommendations. We have a private surf instructor who also does snorkel tours, spear fishing lessons and romantic beach day tours by boat. Transportation to and from the Liberia airport can also be arranged by us. We hope to have you as our guest soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.