We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality in a private oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast
250 meters east of Condos Pueblo del Mar, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality in a private oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just checked out and we miss Jolene, Gary and their lovely B&B already! We spent 3 nights there during out first trip to Costa Rica. Our hosts made us feel safe and comfortable immediately. Their tour and dining tips were bang on. They went out of their way to be available for their guests. Their son is a close by resource for many activities. We were lucky enough to see lots of marine life including dolphins, turtles and sting rays during our boat trip with him. Our room was comfortable and well decorated. What can we say the pancakes were the best we've had. Our favourite was the tropical which included coconut and macadamia nuts......and chocolate chips were optional.
K&P from Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast is a charming, one-of-a-kind, spectacular place that Gary & Jolene put their heart & soul into. They can provide both an exciting adventure stay or a relaxing one from your daily life. Gary & Jolene can likely share with you the best place to go for just about anything. Maria, their maid is a wonderful cook, her meals are just divine to wake up to. Sitting by the pool having fresh Costa Rican coffee, enjoying the setting, scenery and listening to the wildlife is spectacular. Whether it be relaxing on the hammock reading a book, or going for a swim in their pool, or enjoying a delicious meal at one of the several restaurants nearby-- there is never a dull moment. We went on a couple of adventures with their son Brooks who's an excellent and caring and scholarly instructor. Surfing with him, and then going out on the boat fishing and snorkeling was a blast. We caught a huge Dorado (approx. 35 lbs.) with him on our fishing adventure. He then filleted it, put it in a ice chest and brought it back to our room for us. Later that evening, we all went out to dinner and ate freshly-caught Mahi-Mahi prepared by an excellent chef at Ttiki (....a wonderful open-aired restaurant just down the road.) It was seasoned perfectly and absolutely delicious ! What a way to end our excursion out with eating what we had caught, to then sink ourselves into a comfy couch, and sleep on a great mattress with soft sheets. Villa Andalucía has all the amenities you can ask for and is tastefully decorated in a mood-setting Costa Rican motif.

Their home is also at such a great location being so close to gorgeous sandy beaches, many shops, great restaurants, cafes, and grocery stores. There are several car rentals offices down the road but it's not necessary to rent unless you want to explore further out. We only rented a car for a day to venture further north and south, and that was plenty for us....You easily can save the expense of a rental car as everything is right there. Next time, however, we've decided we would stay first in Tamarindo for a couple days, then drive to Nicaragua and then to Arenal back to Tamarindo.

Overall, this place is truly just plain wonderful ! We've stayed at several VRBOs before and this one takes the cake. If something should happen to go wrong, they are right there to help you or steer you in the right direction. With all the years experience they have in real estate, they know what they're talking about and love helping others. Most of all, they truly enjoy the reward of seeing their guests satisfied. And, we really appreciated that. We did as we were suggested to do by them and never was disappointed. We both are particular about eating out and all their suggestions were on point. For those who wish to maximize their time together and want to create a memorable vacation, I highly recommend visiting Gary & Jolene in Tamarindo! Who knows, one day we might be neighbors ?!

Thank you to Gary, Jolene, Brooks & Maria.
Christina & Joe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Villa Andalucia is a beautiful and unique property. Gary and Jolene are available to make your stay as memorable as possible and just what you are looking for. They are knowledgeable about what is available and share a wealth of information with you. Jolene and Gary are the perfect hosts and you feel their warmth from the moment you have contact through your entire stay.

Maria prepares a lovely breakfast and if you have food preferences they are more than happy to accommodate. It is a short walk to the beach and they have whatever you need to make your stay extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita and really loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coe Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Literally just back from our 10 day stay with Gary and Jolene - hard to know where to start with the accolades. From our pickup at the airport by Jolene we knew were in the hands of experienced hosts whose attention to detail was apparent. Gary took us grocery shopping and provided restaurant advice along with an introduction to the Langosta Beach Club. He also took us and the other couple to Lola's for lunch one day and was always there to help. Maria's breakfasts under the watchful eye's of Gary and Jolene were very well done. We liked having the bikes to use around town as well. Memories forever - wonderful people! Our sincere thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Is there an option for 6 stars? 10 stars? Villa Andalucia deserves them all. The owners, property, location and overall experience was truly fantastic! Jolene, the owner, is an interior designer and it shows. The main house and villas are impeccably decorated creating a calming yet unique ambiance. Jolene and Gary were the perfect hosts - giving phenomenal recommendations in the area. We stayed in the main house and felt the utmost amount of privacy. Having said that, it was so nice to have breakfast with the other two couples staying in the villas. We will be back!!

Room Tip: All three rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Villa Andalucía is a charming little B&B nestled off the main strip in Tamerindo. All of the reviews are true and I promise you will have a wonderful time if you stay here. Gary and Jolene will make you feel at home, take you on a private tour of Tamarindo, suggest the best places to eat and provide you with interesting conversation and laughter. The accommodations are very clean, comfortable and private, in fact the entire property is pristine and every piece of furniture and artwork has a little story behind it. If you’re a foodie, get ready for Maria’s Pinto Gallo, French toast and pancakes, not to mention the fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice. We truly loved this place, it’s full of warmth and love, and without a doubt, you’ll want to come back.

R&R

Room Tip: Definitely try and get one of the two villas. Casita Andalucía has the best view in our opinion. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was 14 years ago I proposed to my lovely Wife in the little town of Tamarindo, so we decided to return and see how much it has grown. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, Villa Andalucia. It was Fantastic, the Gary and Jolene were incredible with their knowledge of the area, things such as where to eat, where to shop, the doos and dont's. We accompanied them to local markets even a Fiesta. Something no one thinks of is the holiday time wasted wandering around in search of one thing or another. When we return we will most definitely
Stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast

Address: 250 meters east of Condos Pueblo del Mar, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Andalucía is an elegant Colonial home in Tamarindo that has 2 private Casitas and a suite in the main house available. This romantic getaway was inspired by the classic Colonial Homes of Spain and Nicaragua. Nestled in a private, quiet neighborhood of Tamarindo, Villa Andalucía is a 5 minute walk or a quick bike ride to shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful white sand beach of Tamarindo. A delicious breakfast is served M-F by Maria. There is maid service M-S and an onsite staff to assist you with tours and restaurant recommendations. We have a private surf instructor who also does snorkel tours, spear fishing lessons and romantic beach day tours by boat. Transportation to and from the Liberia airport can also be arranged by us. We hope to have you as our guest soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.