We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast
250 meters east of Condos Pueblo del Mar, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast is a charming, one-of-a-kind, spectacular place that Gary & Jolene put their heart & soul into. They can provide both an exciting adventure stay or a relaxing one from your daily life. Gary & Jolene can likely share with you the best place to go for just about anything. Maria, their maid is a wonderful cook, her meals are just divine to wake up to. Sitting by the pool having fresh Costa Rican coffee, enjoying the setting, scenery and listening to the wildlife is spectacular. Whether it be relaxing on the hammock reading a book, or going for a swim in their pool, or enjoying a delicious meal at one of the several restaurants nearby-- there is never a dull moment. We went on a couple of adventures with their son Brooks who's an excellent and caring and scholarly instructor. Surfing with him, and then going out on the boat fishing and snorkeling was a blast. We caught a huge Dorado (approx. 35 lbs.) with him on our fishing adventure. He then filleted it, put it in a ice chest and brought it back to our room for us. Later that evening, we all went out to dinner and ate freshly-caught Mahi-Mahi prepared by an excellent chef at Ttiki (....a wonderful open-aired restaurant just down the road.) It was seasoned perfectly and absolutely delicious ! What a way to end our excursion out with eating what we had caught, to then sink ourselves into a comfy couch, and sleep on a great mattress with soft sheets. Villa Andalucía has all the amenities you can ask for and is tastefully decorated in a mood-setting Costa Rican motif.

Their home is also at such a great location being so close to gorgeous sandy beaches, many shops, great restaurants, cafes, and grocery stores. There are several car rentals offices down the road but it's not necessary to rent unless you want to explore further out. We only rented a car for a day to venture further north and south, and that was plenty for us....You easily can save the expense of a rental car as everything is right there. Next time, however, we've decided we would stay first in Tamarindo for a couple days, then drive to Nicaragua and then to Arenal back to Tamarindo.

Overall, this place is truly just plain wonderful ! We've stayed at several VRBOs before and this one takes the cake. If something should happen to go wrong, they are right there to help you or steer you in the right direction. With all the years experience they have in real estate, they know what they're talking about and love helping others. Most of all, they truly enjoy the reward of seeing their guests satisfied. And, we really appreciated that. We did as we were suggested to do by them and never was disappointed. We both are particular about eating out and all their suggestions were on point. For those who wish to maximize their time together and want to create a memorable vacation, I highly recommend visiting Gary & Jolene in Tamarindo! Who knows, one day we might be neighbors ?!

Thank you to Gary, Jolene, Brooks & Maria.
Christina & Joe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Villa Andalucia is a beautiful and unique property. Gary and Jolene are available to make your stay as memorable as possible and just what you are looking for. They are knowledgeable about what is available and share a wealth of information with you. Jolene and Gary are the perfect hosts and you feel their warmth from the moment you have contact through your entire stay.

Maria prepares a lovely breakfast and if you have food preferences they are more than happy to accommodate. It is a short walk to the beach and they have whatever you need to make your stay extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita and really loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coe Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Literally just back from our 10 day stay with Gary and Jolene - hard to know where to start with the accolades. From our pickup at the airport by Jolene we knew were in the hands of experienced hosts whose attention to detail was apparent. Gary took us grocery shopping and provided restaurant advice along with an introduction to the Langosta Beach Club. He also took us and the other couple to Lola's for lunch one day and was always there to help. Maria's breakfasts under the watchful eye's of Gary and Jolene were very well done. We liked having the bikes to use around town as well. Memories forever - wonderful people! Our sincere thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Is there an option for 6 stars? 10 stars? Villa Andalucia deserves them all. The owners, property, location and overall experience was truly fantastic! Jolene, the owner, is an interior designer and it shows. The main house and villas are impeccably decorated creating a calming yet unique ambiance. Jolene and Gary were the perfect hosts - giving phenomenal recommendations in the area. We stayed in the main house and felt the utmost amount of privacy. Having said that, it was so nice to have breakfast with the other two couples staying in the villas. We will be back!!

Room Tip: All three rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Villa Andalucía is a charming little B&B nestled off the main strip in Tamerindo. All of the reviews are true and I promise you will have a wonderful time if you stay here. Gary and Jolene will make you feel at home, take you on a private tour of Tamarindo, suggest the best places to eat and provide you with interesting conversation and laughter. The accommodations are very clean, comfortable and private, in fact the entire property is pristine and every piece of furniture and artwork has a little story behind it. If you’re a foodie, get ready for Maria’s Pinto Gallo, French toast and pancakes, not to mention the fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice. We truly loved this place, it’s full of warmth and love, and without a doubt, you’ll want to come back.

R&R

Room Tip: Definitely try and get one of the two villas. Casita Andalucía has the best view in our opinion. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was 14 years ago I proposed to my lovely Wife in the little town of Tamarindo, so we decided to return and see how much it has grown. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, Villa Andalucia. It was Fantastic, the Gary and Jolene were incredible with their knowledge of the area, things such as where to eat, where to shop, the doos and dont's. We accompanied them to local markets even a Fiesta. Something no one thinks of is the holiday time wasted wandering around in search of one thing or another. When we return we will most definitely
Stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Gary and Jolene,
This was our first experience with VRBO outside of the U.S. I read your reviews before deciding on your place for our stay. The comments were all positive , and I liked the fact that there were many recent reviews. The experience was everything the other reviewers expressed. When we travel, we like to experience the area as the locals see it. You as host, helped us see as much of the culture and the area itself as possible. You were gracious host that took us to a local fiesta, took us to a produce market, and took us to another beach area for lunch. You reccommended many restaurants which were all wonderful. You also told us about a small flea market in the town on the weekend that sold things from local artisans. We enjoyed our accommodations at your bed and breakfast. They were beautifully decorated inside and on the grounds. We enjoyed spending time with your other guests, eating breakfast together, going to restaurants with them, and traveling to other places. We loved Maria's cooking; it was as great as all of the reviews. You were also so kind to send a loaf of the German bread used to make the French Toast, home with me. It was a nice treat that I shared with my family when we returned. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of your place, and liked the fact that everything in the town of Tamarindo was in walking distance. You as host, made this experience stand out above other travel we have done.Thanks so much for everything you did to make this vacation one of our best ever. Richard and Wanda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast

Address: 250 meters east of Condos Pueblo del Mar, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Andalucía is an elegant Colonial home in Tamarindo that has 2 private Casitas and a suite in the main house available. This romantic getaway was inspired by the classic Colonial Homes of Spain and Nicaragua. Nestled in a private, quiet neighborhood of Tamarindo, Villa Andalucía is a 5 minute walk or a quick bike ride to shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful white sand beach of Tamarindo. A delicious breakfast is served M-F by Maria. There is maid service M-S and an onsite staff to assist you with tours and restaurant recommendations. We have a private surf instructor who also does snorkel tours, spear fishing lessons and romantic beach day tours by boat. Transportation to and from the Liberia airport can also be arranged by us. We hope to have you as our guest soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Andalucia Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.