We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++ Expectations Exceeded!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breeze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breeze
Save
You added The Breeze to your Saves list
Al frente del Instituto Wayra | around the corner from Super 2001, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, New York, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A++ Expectations Exceeded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent the last four days of our three week Costa Rican beach vacation in a two bedroom suite at The Breeze and were blown away. Every detail was attended to from our early arrival and check in, to assistance finding a doctor/pharmacy for my husband's ear infection, to impeccable daily housekeeping, to delicious coffee, to wonderful onsite staff and owners. Everything was professional but also generously warm and friendly. We loved the property, the pool, the privacy, and the location as well. We will definitely come back and highly recommend The Breeze.

Room Tip: We loved the privacy and location of unit 4. Right by the pool with the waterfall for privacy and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days in Tamarindo at The Breeze and am so glad we picked this hotel! The hotel is easy walking distance to the main part of town yet once you go inside the hotel grounds you are in your own sanctuary! The staff is very nice, though the housekeepers don't speak English. The pool is beautiful, and the rooms are nice. We felt very safe. We stayed in a 2bedroom 2bathroom room, with a kitchen area. The small couch in the "living room" is uncomfortable, but everything else about the accommodations are great! We cooked several meals on the outside grill. There are surfboards and bikes you are able to borrow. And if you need anything the manager, Mailyn, is amazing! We loved our stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We (family of 4) spent New Years week at the Breeze. All the other reviews are right on, the place is great. We stayed in #5 and did like the privacy on the patio. Inside was just right as one kid sleep upstairs in the loft and one on the sofa/futon in the living room. The unit was clean and well stocked.

The pool area is just right, shade if you want it or direct sun. The kids loved the pool. The staff kept the pool (and everything else) very clean.

The beach is an easy 3 minute walk and we walked to town all the time for dinner, lunch and groceries. They even had bikes for us to use. One with a surfboard carrier!
It was a lot of fun to meet the other families staying the same week, mostly Canadians and Americans when we were there.
I would highly recommend The Breeze when in Tamarindo.

As for Tamarindo, one thing to note that during the holiday weeks (Christmas/New Years) it was somewhat crowded. At times it even had a bit of a spring break feel. The good news is The Breeze is just south of the main part of town, so you feel apart from the crowds. We found ourselves walking south on the beach (towards Playa Langosta) to avoid the crowds and loud music. Many of the bars blast loud music late into the night.

English is spoken most places, but we wanted to work on our Spanish and the locals we happy to help. US dollars are taken just about everywhere, but some places do not take credit cards, so you will need cash.

The weather during late Dec/early Jan was perfect - think Southern California + 10 degrees. Hot, but low humidity, it felt great to us. Ever dinner was eaten outdoors. It was 94 one day and felt fine. A few mosquitoes, but no malaria to worry about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This vacation in Tamarindo-the Breeze, was definitely one to remember! The property is absolutely beautiful, lush gardens surrounding five modern villas, multiple hammocks in the midst of sunshine and palm trees, a waterfall style pool, and a grilling/eating hut outside. Not only are the staff extremely friendly and helpful, but they also went to such lengths to help us, even after departure. Moreover, being a family of five, some action was needed- the location makes this possible! The beach in a mere 5-minute walk from The Breeze, and also so many other unforgettable activities are within reach of The Breeze's rented bikes.
Everything was just as promised, amazing in very single way!
Thank you to everyone at The Breeze!!

Room Tip: Villa #5 has a beautifully designed patio-area, being surrounded by a wall of plants enables a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Finding a title for my review was hard as others had covered all the names that came to mind. Other reviewers have also covered the basics. This was my first villa rental and it did not disappoint me in the least. I am 100% glad I choose the Breeze over a hotel as I loved being ground level in an intimate environment. I loved the decor, grounds, staff, the monkeys that came to eat dinner each night over my villa. The peacefulness there is great... Usually it takes me 5 days to unwind from NYC life while on vacation and I felt an immediate calm upon arriving. I loved the proximity to the beach and town. I loved having Kaliki just down the block open for all meals and their chocolate cake with ice cream. Did I mention the staff - Fantastic! They arranged all my excursions, drove me to the big supermarket and greeted me with such genuineness each time. The villa had all the amenities I needed. The kids loved the bi-level pool and were always looking forward to cooling down there as there is a wonderful "breeze" there which is refreshing when Tamarindo is hot. This was my paradise while in Tamarindo. I hope you chose to make it yours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at The Breeze for our first three nights in Costa Rica. What a soft landing! The entire place is beautiful with well-maintained and lush gardens and a gorgeous pool. Only five condos, all of which are alike. We stayed in number 2 and it was perfect. We were four adults and a four year old and it felt like plenty of room.

There's a nice kitchen with good coffee to make each morning. The bedrooms are nice sized and comfortable, each with great bathrooms. There is AC in each room which keep the whole place cool. There's also a beautiful grill and eating space shared by everyone. We didn't get to use it, but had dreams of doing so.

The environment is quiet, just on the edge of town within easy walking distance. It feels spacious, clean, and Annabelle (caretaker) and May-lin (manager) are super nice and helpful. We felt like we were in a little paradise just away from the hustle of Tamarindo. So close, but feels secluded and far away. Beautiful!

You'd only make a mistake by not staying here...

Room Tip: 2,3,4 are right next to the pool.. we stayed in 2, which has a grand opening to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Breeze is well located just at the edge of town and within easy walking distance to restaurants, grocery store, equipment rentals and shopping. The 2 bedroom accommodations were perfect for our family of 4 and common spaces were beautiful. The pool and surrounding area was perfect, the landscaping was lush and everything was very well maintained. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breeze

Address: Al frente del Instituto Wayra | around the corner from Super 2001, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 meters from Tamarindo Beach, Guanacaste's finest and newest modern luxury retreat boasts five superb one and two-bedroom homes nestled in a tropical setting. Lush gardens weave around a cascading split-level pool. The front of each home is wall-to-wall glass. Cosmopolitan decor includes stylish red sofas, individual artwork throughout the villas, and luxurious all white Ralph Lauren bed linens. Free WiFi, maid service, 24-hour security, 2 flat screen TVs per home, A/C and fans throughout. Complimentary surfboards and bicycles are available for use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breeze Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.