We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Kahuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Domus Kahuna to your Saves list
Hotel Domus Kahuna
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great price, great location, and great people! The security guard Jose was fantastic we looked forward to talking to him every night! Paolo the owner will do anything he can for you. A few of us got sick with the flu while we were there and he made sure we were OK and told us he would call his personal doctor if we needed him to. It is just a short walk to the beach and close to a lot of restaurants and bars. There isn't anything fancy about the rooms but we were only there to shower & sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
18
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The breakfast is a bit of a bummer if you expect too much, other than that, the apartments are great, youve got AC in the bedroom, fans in the rest, a little terrace, kitchen, a small pool and the towncenter 200m away.

The owner is awesome, United airlines lost my luggage for a day and the he lent me a pair of boardshorts and more If i wouldve wanted to. I asked if I could borrow the phone to check the status on my luggage but he told me that he would call for me and take care of it, which he also did

Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My friend and I traveled to Costa Rica this November for a conference. We wanted to stay at a small hotel for a few days before we checked in to the resort where the conference was being held. We picked Domus Kahuna and booked a 2 bedroom apartment because it looked clean and inviting on the website. Well, it was except for a few small issues. The wall in the living room was scratched and had peeling paint right where the futon couch butted up against it. And the futon had a broken leg, making it impossible to sit on. This was fixed quickly, but of course the paint was not. The bathroom was functional, the shower was great. But the tiles and concrete in the bathroom had some moldy areas which should have been cleaned before we arrived. This kind of thing makes me think that cleaning was less than optimal. I can say that about the dishes too, because all 4 of our drinking glasses were found with lipstick and smudges. We were not supplied with a sponge or dish soap, so how could we be expected to clean them? We used bath soap to clean them before using.
I would hope that these easy to remedy problems could be eliminated.
But overall the room was perfect for our needs, the beds were comfy and we did sleep well.
An added plus was that the whole place was enclosed in a high fence with off street parking and at night there was a guard. This made us feel safe.
And the little restaurant on the premises served up a nice little breakfast of coffee, eggs and toast, beans too, I think.
The outdoor space by our room was great and gave some privacy. The pool area was clean and blocked from the rooms.
And yes, it was close to all the town and facilities, a supermarket right across the street and the beach 3 mins away.
The price was right too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was beyond pleased with my stay at Domus Kahuna! For starters, it is centrally located to everything one could need...the beach, shopping, grocery, and nightlife. My friend and I rented the two bedroom apartment and loved it. Paolo, Massimo, and Jose were very helpful, informative, and best of all... are all around fantastic guys! Tamarindo is a great place that I know I will visit again, and when I do, I have no doubt I will be staying at Domus Kahuna. Everything about my stay far exceeded all of my expectations. Thank you guys for such a memorable vacation!!!!! :D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Loved my stay at Domus kuhuna! I traveled to Costa Rica in July 2012 and stayed in Tamrindo to get some dental work done. As a solo traveler i needed somewhere safe, affordable and clean which is why i picked this place to stay. It did exceed all of my expectations! whilst in the middle of everything, (bars, restaurant and close to the beach) it still felt like a little private oasis with a beautiful pool and your own little veranda to sit and relax .In the evenings they had a watchman on duty whom always greeted me when i came back at the end of night and made me feel very safe..Thanks Paolo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Four times in Costa Rica four times at Domus Kahuna
I've been in there for 6 months in total.
The Hotel is in central position very close to supermarket, beach access bank and surfshops.
Pool and rooms are very clean.
Its one of few places where you can eat an excellent italian food in good company of great surfers.
The owner speaks spanish, english, italian and a perfect sardinian.
He can solve any problem
Everything is super.
Best place where to stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hi everyone I am from Costa Rica, and i'm more that satisfied with my stay in domus kahuna the hotel is very beautiful and clean the staff is very friendly, and Paolo the owner he is awesome, I now that any time i go to tamarindo and visit i will be staying at domus kahuna.

Room Tip: Room 7 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domus Kahuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Kahuna

Address: Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domus Kahuna 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefully planned and furnished with a touch of Costa Rican style, residence Domus Kahuna offers comfortable accommodations in enchanting apartments and rooms.Domus Kahuna is a small and peaceful hotel & residence. Constructed during the 2001, Domus Kahuna is an elegantfusion of modern European style and traditional CentralAmerica architecture.Perfectly located at 150mts from the beach and 200mtsfrom the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Domus Kahuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domus Kahuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.