We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Meal in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Fly Bar & Grill

Dragon Fly Bar & Grill
behind the Hotel Pasatiempo | Past La Baula Pizza-next door, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
+506 2653 1506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 107 restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: don't have a street address - it is on the road between Hostel and Hotel Pasatiempo
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Dragon Fly Bar and Grill is a great place to have a very nice dinner. It is off the main beach road, but walking distance to all the hotels. Unlike the beach restaurants, the Dragon Fly has a very unique menu for Tamarindo and there is something for everyone. it is set in a wooded area and is an open air place. The service was EXCELLENT (unusually attentive for Tamrindo). It has a great variety of dishes and a large wine list. This was by far our best restaurant experience in all of Tamarindo.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    165
    64
    20
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a staple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The only thing Dragonfly is missing is a view of the ocean. My wife and I love it and stop in at least twice a trip for dinner. The food is great and the service always has a smile. You can't go wrong with two orders of Corn and Jalapeno fritters to start ( the new recipe is to die for) and the Fiery Thai Beef / Seared rare Yellow Fin Tuna. Thank you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant on a side street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Dragonfly restaurant is located on a side street of the town. It is all outdoor seating. We decided on the mahi mahi for the evening which was good. The portion was not unusually large. We also enjoyed the mango daiquiris at $8 each.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I would normally give this a "excellent" rating but think that perhaps the prices tend to be a little high for what it is. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I had the chicken curry and my husband had the Thai beef. Both were unique and probably one of the best dinners we had in Tamarindo. The atmosphere is very good but not excellent. We met some very nice younger couples at nearby tables, which is always lots of fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Harder to find, but well worth it - YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We ate at the Dragon Fly on two occassions - once in a group of ~20, then again as just a date (2 people). The service is a bit slow, but we found that is consistent across Costa Rica. There was also not a lot of foresight into the group and how to pay at the end which was an oversight by both and a delay at the end of a nice meal.

HOWEVER, the food was fantastic! We hadn't found a lot of seafood available in general in Costa Rica. Shrimp definitely, and a bit of fish. Most of our friends had beef or a variation thereof. No bad meals over 16 people.

On our second date the service was similar. So was the food. We just learned, generally, to start with an appetizer vs. thinking about dessert!

Make sure you try the "Pepino." It is like a mojito but with vodka and cucumbers instead of lime and rum. Very refreshing - one tasted like another :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Fly Bar & Grill also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Dragon Fly Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Fly Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.