We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Playa Langosta | 50 mts north, 125 east from Barcelo Resort, Tamarindo 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great little place with fully equipped suites. You'll make new friends and you're a short stroll to a world-class beach!

The owner is hands-on and will make sure that you are comfortable and happy to be a guest at his cozy Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by a shirtless guy with bloodshot eyes and a flee covered dog. The pool was filthy and the whole place reeked of sewer. The stove and fridge were covered in grime and the bed sheets had cigarette burns. There was a hole in the bathroom floor. The window by the shower was missing and replaced with a paper bag that did not fully cover the window. With our 16 and 17 year old daughters, we knew staying here would be miserable. There were about 6 men hanging around the courtyard who made us feel very uncomfortable. We decided to find a new hotel even though we had already prepaid $500 (which we never saw a penny of even after talking to the owner on the phone for 30 min). We ended up staying at the Barcelo resort just down the street which was amazing! Thank goodness we switched!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fede007, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I should start by saying that this guest made several false statements (the pool is always in great conditions, there's never been any smell whatsoever in our aparthotel, the only whole in the bathroom is the shower drain) My friend Morice was helping me out the day this client arrived, he is a surfer and probably was coming from surfing and yes, he has a nice german shepard, with no fleas, I should add. The broken window of the bathroom is the only true comment (coincidentally is the only picture he shows in his review) The previous guest broke the window of the bathroom and we had to replace it.
Even though there were no basis for a full refund I offered a 50% refund to this client which he was supposed to come to pick up and he never did.
Ours is not a 5 star resort, it's a nice and casual apartment hotel complex, but I can assure that the place is very clean and well maintained, which is what you will find in most of our reviews.
Probably not the right place for people who enjoy All Inclusive Resorts, like this gentleman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Federico made the stay incredible. There were several occasions where he went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed to ensure an awesome trip. The hotel surrounds a nice courtyard with a pool and great landscaping. The beach is super close and we had a small grocery within sight which added to the convenience. I am already planning my next trip out, but next time we will stay longer than 8 days. Thanks Federico

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in Tdo for a night and had to get away from the party vibe of the city and get some better and less crowded surf. My boyfriend and I found Sunset Inn online and booked a couple of nights. (FYI it's ~20$ cheaper to pay the owner directly and not book online. Call ahead.) The first room we stayed in is on the first floor; it's pretty small and the bathroom is moldy, but it has AC, a microwave and a mini fridge for beers and we liked Playa Langosta and the folks at Sunset Inn so much that we said f--- it and decided to stay. Also, there are no other reasonably priced hotels in Langosta. The second room we stayed in was #6 upstairs, which is a much nicer room, no mold, has a mini fridge, microwave and a hot plate. The beach is a 3 minute walk away. There's boards available to use but they're missing fins. You could bring your own fins you could fix one up and surf for free the whole stay. Again, call ahead for more info. Or if you're lucky you might be able to rent a board from one of the guys around the hotel for an awesome rate.

+
people, surf+beach, communal grill, bikes available (if you plan on depending on this you would benefit from bringing your own tire patch kit and mini hand pump. They're cruisers.) Decent rate (for Langosta), free wifi, market next door, no crowds.
-
no phone and needs some updates and TLC, but the caretaker is currently working real hard on this. Can be loud at night with kids and dogs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We ignored the bad revues and took a chance on the Sunset Inn...bad idea. Luckily we did not prepay the entire month of our dream vacation to Costa Rica. When we first arrived we noticed that the window in our bathroom was missing. Not broken or under repair....just gone. Federico assured us that it would be fixed by tomorrow the next day for sure. When we left a week later it still wasn't fixed. In a community where 24 hour security guards are the norm this seemed like a huge problem. We never did leave any valuables in our unit. His site advertizes bikes and surf boards for customer use. All the bikes had flat tires and were finally fixed a week later on the day we left. Unfortunately my wife had booked this place primarily because she wanted to bike every day.
One of the tenants who is long term works at the local resort called the Barcelo. He has a dog named Mostra. Mostra will bark at the drop of a hat and not just once, but incessantly. There is another dog who does not belong to anyone, but is let into the property every night. Together these two idiots manage to keep the entire neighbourhood awake for hours on end. They have the roam of the property too which just makes matters worse. Then there is the internet which can be off for hours if not days. The bedroom windows with bars, but no screens.... The deck with too few cross members causing unsuspecting guests to break through risking life and limb...and those are the good points. This might be a good place for the surfer crowd who doesn't need much sleep and doesn't care much about security, but I don't think most of us qualify for this discription so STAY CLEAR! Oh yea and the pool is dirty too

Room Tip: Don't do it...you'll be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed in Sunset one month ago with my wife, and we loved it, if you looking for a quiet , and cozy place this is the place to be,
You can save money buying some grocery in the next door store to cook in the fully equipped kitchen. Beach is 2 min walk , at night theres no noise so you can sleep peacefully
Recommend for couples

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great place to stay. Federico treats you like family and the location is great. Excellent place to stay for a surf trip as you're close to Playa Negra, Playa Grande, Avellanas (sp?) etc.

Internet was very reliable which was nice since I had to do some work while down there. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I like the one in front of the pool on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: Playa Langosta | 50 mts north, 125 east from Barcelo Resort, Tamarindo 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Langosta,Tamarindo less than one block away from the beach. 8 units for up to 6 guests with A/C, Cable TV, WIFI and kitchen. Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Laundry room. All surrounded by beautiful multicolor gardens and the constant ocean breeze! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.