We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked 2 nights, stayed 2 weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

Save Saved
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Playa Langosta | 50 mts north, 125 east from Barcelo Resort, Tamarindo 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booked 2 nights, stayed 2 weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in Tdo for a night and had to get away from the party vibe of the city and get some better and less crowded surf. My boyfriend and I found Sunset Inn online and booked a couple of nights. (FYI it's ~20$ cheaper to pay the owner directly and not book online. Call ahead.) The first room we stayed in is on the first floor; it's pretty small and the bathroom is moldy, but it has AC, a microwave and a mini fridge for beers and we liked Playa Langosta and the folks at Sunset Inn so much that we said f--- it and decided to stay. Also, there are no other reasonably priced hotels in Langosta. The second room we stayed in was #6 upstairs, which is a much nicer room, no mold, has a mini fridge, microwave and a hot plate. The beach is a 3 minute walk away. There's boards available to use but they're missing fins. You could bring your own fins you could fix one up and surf for free the whole stay. Again, call ahead for more info. Or if you're lucky you might be able to rent a board from one of the guys around the hotel for an awesome rate.

+
people, surf+beach, communal grill, bikes available (if you plan on depending on this you would benefit from bringing your own tire patch kit and mini hand pump. They're cruisers.) Decent rate (for Langosta), free wifi, market next door, no crowds.
-
no phone and needs some updates and TLC, but the caretaker is currently working real hard on this. Can be loud at night with kids and dogs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We ignored the bad revues and took a chance on the Sunset Inn...bad idea. Luckily we did not prepay the entire month of our dream vacation to Costa Rica. When we first arrived we noticed that the window in our bathroom was missing. Not broken or under repair....just gone. Federico assured us that it would be fixed by tomorrow the next day for sure. When we left a week later it still wasn't fixed. In a community where 24 hour security guards are the norm this seemed like a huge problem. We never did leave any valuables in our unit. His site advertizes bikes and surf boards for customer use. All the bikes had flat tires and were finally fixed a week later on the day we left. Unfortunately my wife had booked this place primarily because she wanted to bike every day.
One of the tenants who is long term works at the local resort called the Barcelo. He has a dog named Mostra. Mostra will bark at the drop of a hat and not just once, but incessantly. There is another dog who does not belong to anyone, but is let into the property every night. Together these two idiots manage to keep the entire neighbourhood awake for hours on end. They have the roam of the property too which just makes matters worse. Then there is the internet which can be off for hours if not days. The bedroom windows with bars, but no screens.... The deck with too few cross members causing unsuspecting guests to break through risking life and limb...and those are the good points. This might be a good place for the surfer crowd who doesn't need much sleep and doesn't care much about security, but I don't think most of us qualify for this discription so STAY CLEAR! Oh yea and the pool is dirty too

Room Tip: Don't do it...you'll be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed in Sunset one month ago with my wife, and we loved it, if you looking for a quiet , and cozy place this is the place to be,
You can save money buying some grocery in the next door store to cook in the fully equipped kitchen. Beach is 2 min walk , at night theres no noise so you can sleep peacefully
Recommend for couples

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great place to stay. Federico treats you like family and the location is great. Excellent place to stay for a surf trip as you're close to Playa Negra, Playa Grande, Avellanas (sp?) etc.

Internet was very reliable which was nice since I had to do some work while down there. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I like the one in front of the pool on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

nobody even works at the place. nobody was there to check us in. internet was bad when it worked. place needs serious work. beds are horrible. doors dont really lock. do not stay here. no lights in stairs. Fell down them one night. the deck is falling apart along with everything else. smells bad and mold in room. when it rains all the water comes in. tons of other options around than this place. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Sunset Inn is a peaceful and small resort. It has spacious, clean rooms equipped with wifi, and there is a pool for everyone to enjoy. It is also just a short walk to a nearby grocery store and the beach. The staff is warm and cares deeply about the satisfaction and pleasantness of the experience for everyone who visits the Sunset Inn. I would come back and stay here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Just enjoyed Christmas week 2010 at Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, and staying at Sunset Inn. Federico runs a uniquely special almost self-run 'Hotel' at Sunset Inn - I say 'Hotel' because, really it is a small building of individual apartments, all looking out over the pool, and just steps from the beach, it runs itself so smoothly and feels like a Hotel while you are there. Rooms are cleaned and beds made daily - the sweet woman who takes care of the Inn (sorry, i forgot her name) has to contend with families, and individuals who are on vacation and at the beach and in the pool - so it must be a mammoth task, but each day she cheerfully took care of our two-bedroom apartment and left it neatly, with clean towels and sheets.
This is a simple, yet tasteful spot, and the 'vibe' between guests was friendly and warm on all levels. There is a covered patio with a charcoal grill - various guests used it without issues, and we cooked the fresh red snapper we had purchased at Pedro's fish shack in Tamarindo - it was delicious! Kitchen utensils and plates etc could use an update - don't plan on setting the table for a party of six ... But for beach life, country-style - it was fine.
I am a bit of a surf dog, and this was a family surf and relaxation trip with two 17-yr-old boys. Sunset Inn is not an 'upscale' place if you are looking for 'spa' treatment, etc. It is a perfect mid-scale place to stay if you are looking for a secure quiet spot, (single point of access thru the locked front gate) with good wi-fi, working a/c, pool, and where you don't have to hear or put up with tourist traffic and dust as in Tamarindo town, yet you can walk to the beach any time of day or night .... then THIS is the place for you.
The name Sunset Inn is appropriate, as you will be only 200 yards down the road, sitting on the sand, watching the sun set into the western Pacific.
Federico is an exceptionally responsive and straight-up kind of guy, who was a joy to deal with and who was very resourceful on our behalf. He is frequently on-site, but does not live at the Inn, making it a truly self-run operation. Thanks Federico.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: Playa Langosta | 50 mts north, 125 east from Barcelo Resort, Tamarindo 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Langosta,Tamarindo less than one block away from the beach. 8 units for up to 6 guests with A/C, Cable TV, WIFI and kitchen. Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Laundry room. All surrounded by beautiful multicolor gardens and the constant ocean breeze! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.