We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Botella de Leche

Save Saved
You added La Botella de Leche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Botella de Leche
Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Calamba, Philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed during the off season so when the owner saw that we were on the fence if we wanted to stay here or the one next door, she made the choice easy by lowering the price.
Our priv room had a large bed and a bunk bed, the bathroom was nice, cute lil whimsical touches here and there.
Our room was tidied up, everyday, whether we like it or not. >.o;; id rather
We actually were not fond of the (plus ac was missing its remote) aircon and asked for a fan, when the owner found out she was really worried and insisted that we used the ac. such a sweety.
(+)
Hammock right in front of your room
Picnic style table and chairs in front of your room
air conditionare available

(-)
so many rules.. no hanging clothes in front of your room and etc
kitchen is not desirable to cook in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
16
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YUL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was there for 2 weeks. Good price for a single bedroom, about 250m from the beach. Difficult to find, they dont really use adresses in Costa Rica, but its the immediate neighbor of Pura Vida hostel. The place was good to meet people and the swimming pool is a nice touch but the dogs drink from it. Expect lots of dog and cats begging for food when you eat. The rooms are not very clean but standard for CR. Room service almost worthless. No hot shower, only unheated running water. AC off from 9-20h. The place can get noisy after 11pm, the security guard likes to watch loud football games early mornings. BUT THE WORST IS THE KITCHEN! Pans are all encrusted with dirty stuff and spin around the handle (good luck cooking with that), fridge is barely cooling, food/drinks always get eaten by someone else, garbage always full with many insects flying around, owner's animals beg for food. I cooked only once, stick to restaurants if you stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was a fun place to stay in. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. They cleaned the dorm rooms daily...each dorm room had AC at night which was an unexpected amenity for $10 a night. The bathroom, while in the dorm room which was great, needed a scrub. Kitchen was fairly stocked with pots/pans/dishes. It was straightened up daily, but needed a little extra cleaning love. Overall, this place was pretty cool (stayed a week) and I would recommend staying here if you want to be away from the noise of "downtown" Tamarindo.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

For the price, it's decent. Personally, when another traveler says "which pan" and the choice is one with stuff encrusted on it and the other doesn't even have a flat surface, I can't really raise my recommendation above decent. A/C is turned off during the day in the rooms. Crammed in like sardines in the dorm room. Far from the beach. Stayed there for five nights; saw the owner a handful of times and the one time I did ask her for a recommendation, she acted like I was imposing on her. Oh, and they took the towel I brought from home; when I told them this, they said they'd look for it... apparently they must still be looking...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

As sOon as we checked in the lovely host said "just jump in the pool and then we will get you checked in"! It was very hot that day! The rooms are very clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price. We stayed in 2 previous hostels in town which were terrible compared to this and roughly the same price. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about La Botella de Leche. I stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. I switched from a hotel on the beach in Tamarindo and legitimately preferred this location. Marianna, the host, is absolutely lovely (she even went out of her way to help me fix my bikini top) and her family is as well (dogs and all). I had an amazing surf lesson with her son, Juan, which topped a lesson I had taken a week prior from a top rated shop in Nicaragua. Great times! Great people! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! :)

Room Tip: If you have a friend to share with, get a private room. If not, the shared rooms are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at botella de leche for almost two weeks. It's owned by an Argentinian family. I felt like I was at home most of the time. The staff is genuine and pleasent. A/C in every room, comfortable beds, pool, and big communal kitchen.

If you stay here, ask about sailing on the Antares. Its an experience you won't forget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Botella de Leche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Botella de Leche

Also Known As:
La Botella De Leche Hotel
La Botella De Leche Hotel Tamarindo
Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Specialty lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Botella de Leche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Botella de Leche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.