We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an unhurried atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons by Shlomy

Seasons by Shlomy
Hotel Arco Iris, Tamarindo 5111, Costa Rica
506-8368-6983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 158 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in an unhurried atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We sat pool side and enjoyed their $28 special which includes an appetizer, an entree and a desert. We were not disappointed.
The chicken liver pate with the granny smith apple chutney was incredible. I ordered the yellow tuna and my wife had the mahi mahi, both of which were enormous portions and done to perfecton. Desert was lemon cream and meringue over lady fingers, very good.
This is not a beach location but the food is well worth going.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oy food to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you have the budget to splurge on one meal, do it here. We ate with Shlomy twice during our 4 day visit to Tamarindo. Everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. You can order a la carte or a 3 course dinner (ladies - careful the portions are huge).
The first night I had a pate' that compares with anything I have had in France, followed by seared Ahi - and a creme brule for dessert. I couldn't eat it all and sort of felt overstuffed.
The second visit, I had muscles for an appetizer- wonderful- cooked in a divine garlicky broth- wanted to take a bath in it. My friend and I split the ahi (had to eat it again) and shared a Toblerone chocolate thing that was divine. Service was good and the staff is helpful. Just don't miss this!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank msinfosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shlomys is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had for our main course the seared tuna and the artichoke and mushroom pasta which were both excellent. We loved the chicken pate appetizer and the bread that came with it. The best was the toblerone dessert mousse.
Than you Shlomy

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RICARDO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

10 of us enjoyed an excellent dinner at Seasons by Shlomy!! All of us thought the food was fantastic and the service was also very good. We had emailed Shlomy ahead to make a reservation and let him know this was a Birthday celebration. He e-mailed back that if we would like he would make a B-day cake for our celebration. Well, he came through with flying colors!
Everyone thought it was one of the best chocolate cakes they had ever eaten. He also personalized the cake and provided candles.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GranadaHillsAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food but service could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to Seasons because of the excellent reviews posted here. We thought that the food was very good for the most part. I didn't find it exceptional as some people have in their reviews. We were seated out at the pool and it was a pretty night so that was fine. We never got to meet Shlomy as others have. I was looking forward to meeting him. Three of us got the 3 course $28 meal package which is a good deal. The service could have been much better. The restaurant is located in the Hotel Arco Isis and you need to walk into the hotel grounds from the street and keep going back toward the pool or you won't see the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Symmesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons by Shlomy also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Seasons by Shlomy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing