We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo to your Saves list
Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Tamarindo Main Street | Right in Front on Tamarindo's Beach Access, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wedding Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the Sunrise Condos in August 2009 for with a group of about 30 people. My wedding took place in Playa Conchal and we opted for staying in Tamarindo in a spot that had access to the beach as well as the town. The condos are all individually owned and were very beautifully kept. The grounds were clean and the pool was great... with children along and many other age groups, we all congregated at the pool each day-plenty of chairs and the large pool was always clean along with a kiddie pool. The beach was a 2 minute walk across the street and everyone had the option of walking the main street of Tamarindo to check out shops and restaurants close by. It was a perfect spot, no one required a car rental. There are several small stores to buy groceries and about a 5 minute drive down the road, is the Super Mercado which has all everything you need. Although it is just off the main road, there is no noise and it is very peaceful... with some units that have ocean views, the sunsets were amazing!

This location was perfect for our venue- we rented our units with Jonathan at Rental Vacations of Tamarindo- he was really helpful and also got us a discount with the size of our group. We would definitely stay here again if we are traveling with a group!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I had an amazing time! Rooms are very clean & large. The staff is nice and very helpful. We saw very few bugs while on property. The wifi could be improved upon but the experience was great overall.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just spent 10 days at Sunrise Condos and would not hesitate to recommend it. Easy walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants but seems secluded once you enter the property. Unit was well equipped, except maybe for wineglasses, and spacious. The pool was beautifully maintained but finding an available pool chair was challenging. That could easily, and relatively inexpensively, be remedied with the purchase of more chairs. All in all, a great spot in a delightful Costa Rican town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Mass.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I am currently finishing up a one month stay at Sunrise Condos (#19) and have been very pleased. The location is ideal....right in the heart of town but with a feeling of seclusion once you're inside the complex. Our main reason for choosing Sunrise was that there would be no need for a car, and with a series of friends cycling through for the month, we all appreciated the convenience of walking across the street to the beach and sampling all of the local restaurants on foot. The pool, though very clean and attractive, suffers from a lack of chairs...only 16 for 52 units, which is ridiculous. Other than that, the condo itself is spacious and well-appointed and perfect for families or groups of friends. This is my fourth trip to Costa Rica but my first time in Tamarindo, and I will definitely be back! Tamarindo has a great, laid back vibe, perfect weather, friendly people and a wide, beautiful beach that is perfect for early morning walks and of course, swimming and surfing.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper floor for the views. The first floor units have easy access to the pool but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just came back from spending 10 wonderful days at the Sunrise Condos. We loved it. Would definitely return again. only complaint is that people come out early in the mornings and put their towels on the pool chairs. But we just put their towels to the side and use the chairs until we left. They could use more chairs around the pool. Location is across the street from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants, grocery store, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I am currently staying at the Sunrise Condos in Tamarindo which is listed as 3 Star Luxury Condominiums on Expedia etc. Sadly we paid Expedia up front for this experience.

We have been here 4 days (scheduled for 14). We have a spacious three bedroom unit (no complaint there) but - we have no hot water, no telephone, no safe, sliding patio doors that do not lock, a dish washer that floods the kitchen floor and 48 units of guests arguing over 14 deck chairs around the pool.

We have talked to other guests here and the ones we spoke with have similar complaints. Some are able to get an Internet connection but downloads and uploads are blocked. Free Internet is available in a hotel lobby down the street.

We talked to the people at the checkin desk here on three occasions. They said the maintenance people would take a look at our problems but three days later no one has appeared.

We contacted Expedia and they advised us they would look into changing their description of the location so others would not have the same problem. (I recommend not paying 100% up fronty for accommodation that may be based on out of date information).

By the way - Costa Rica is amazing - sorry this sounds so negative - just intended as a 'heads up'

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for a week with family in a 3 bedroom condo at Sunrise. Seeing other hotels and condos in Tamarindo, the location couldn't be beat (other than maybe by Diria which has a section right on the beach). You basically walked through the complex, across the small street and you were on the beach. You could also easily walk to restaurants, shops, and grocery stores within a block or two.

The complex and pool were kept clean and secure. I believe condos are each individually managed and rented out by owners, so commenting on an individual condo may not reflect the experience of other condos. We stayed in #17 Casa de Murales and were happy with the condo's location, amenities, and cleanliness. We did not have a view of the beach, but with personal steps from the condo down one flight of stairs onto the pool patio, it was very convienent.

Shop around within Sunrise Condos for your best deal, but the complex itself is a great spot in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: Only higher condos will have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo

Address: Tamarindo Main Street | Right in Front on Tamarindo's Beach Access, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort welcomes global visitors to the very heart of Tamarindo, Guanacaste's top tourist destination. There is simply no more convenient accommodation to enjoy the area on foot. From its location on the main street, guests are just a few minutes from virtually every attraction and service offered in Tamarindo, and literally seconds from the Main Beach (across the street) with swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises, estuary tours, and other ocean sports. Leave your condominium "barefoot, bathing suit, and board under your arm", and dive into the surf. Sunrise Resort guests enjoy one of Tamarindo's largest resort pools, and an interactive cascading pool waterfall feature. Both are surrounded by a wide pool deck and landscaped gardens. The complex offers private parking, 24/7 security, gated entrance, and perimeter wall. Come and enjoy being at the "center of it all" at Sunrise Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Condos Of Tamarindo Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Condos of Tamarindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.