We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff, food - everything!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, staff, food - everything!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

So many good things to say about Cala Luna! We stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon after spending time in La Fortuna. The hotel we stayed at in La Fortuna was ranked one of the best hotels in the world, so we assumed that Cala Luna would not be able to measure up and were ready for disappointment. We were so wrong! It completely exceeded all our expectations! We were greeted with delicious fresh juice by a friendly employee, who make us feel so welcome. We were given a tour around the property and taken to our room, which was just around the corner from the pool. Our room was fantastic! I love the driftwood fixtures and decorations and beachy feel. The “shower” is a large, beautifully tiled bathtub in pretty blue, green, and teal colors. I will say that one of my only complaints here was the water temperature in the shower. It would be scalding hot one second then freezing cold the next – very inconsistent. But not anything that ruined our great experience here.

We didn’t have any tours planned when we got here, so the first night we went to the front desk and sat down with Carlos. He was amazing! He gave us so many options of things to do and really listened to what we were interested in. He helped us so much planning things and taking care of us while we stayed there – thank you so much Carlos! Some of the fun experiences we had were the jungle boat safari with Christian, stand up paddleboarding, and sunset cruise on the Antares. If you do one thing while you’re here, you must go on the sunset cruise! SO much fun! I also cannot say enough great things about the food at Cala Luna. Just an FYI - Both the pool lounge and main restaurant serve the same food with the same menu. Everything we had was absolutely delicious! And the breakfasts!!!! YUM! The breakfast is included, so don’t let the menu fool you. You can order as much as you want for breakfast at no extra cost. The coconut pancakes were sooooo good we had them twice! And the wait staff is excellent!

One of our favorite things about Cala Luna was the sunset happy hour. Every night from 5-6 they have free cocktails at the beach for the sunset. Don’t miss it!!! We experienced the most magnificent sunsets I have ever seen. And just because the sun goes down doesn’t mean the “show” is over! We would stay until it was almost dark because the sky became more and more beautiful each minute. We saw so many people stay for only 15 minutes then go back – you must stay and watch! A couple nights we grabbed a six pack of beer in town and brought them down to the beach in an ice bucket and just marveled at the sky – those are some of my favorite memories from the trip! The walk down to the beach only takes about 2 minutes max. If you want to go to the beach during the day to lounge and swim, the walk to Playa Langosta is only about 10-15 minutes. We walked it every day with no problem. You can also walk to the main beaches in Tamarindo, but we found them to be so saturated with annoying street vendors, that we preferred the quieter beach of Playa Langosta.
Another exciting part of Cala Luna was the howler monkeys! Not only was it the craziest thing waking up to their “howls” every morning, but it was common to find them in the trees around the pool or beach just hanging around. We didn’t see any monkeys for the first half of our trip, so we were so excited to see them up close here.

Thanks to Cala Luna and the excellent chefs and staff – especially Carlos - and Joshua and Orlando!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    64
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
153
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great location. More on the romantic side, but still super nice. The ambiance is very mellow the service is phenomenal. It secluded, but still near enough the town of Tamarindo. The property is still very nice for a family and friends, but it is great for honeymoons or romantic getaways. The only small draw is the beach. It is small and you are not that close to it. There is a small path you have to walk through to get there, but once there is gorgeous. Again, small and secluded. To compensate, the property offers guest their own pools if they stay in the villas. The rooms are nice and spacious and call me silly, but I loved how they were decorated! :) Highly recommend this property whether it's the rainy or dry season in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We booked Cala Luna for the beach portion of our honeymoon. Since we were staying in a value hotel in Arenal for the first half of our trip we figured we would splurge for the second/shorter half of our vacation.

The decor of the hotel and rooms is very chic and modern, similar to what we're used to in the US. I loved the decor of the rooms, and the tiled bathtub/shower looked absolutely stunning. Only downfall of the rooms was that we saw several of the larger ants around the room; that might just be typical of this area though.

Our stay was short (2 nights) and during that time we were jam-packed with activities, so we didn't get to explore the grounds too much. Having the connected private beach was very convenient, although it was a little rockier than I imagined. Plenty of tide pools to explore, though! The pool was very beautiful as well, the howler monkeys must have thought so too because they hang out in the trees above it! That was a very cool experience to see one that close.

The front staff was welcoming when we arrived (even though I was sick as a dog upon check-in, unrelated to our stay). Daniel was exceptional in making us feel at home, whether we saw him in the lobby or the restaurant he always wanted to make sure we were happy. My husband ran into an issue with his food and Daniel made sure to comp our next meal and ensure that we were taken care of. Thank you Daniel! (PS all the food we ate there was very tasty, we really liked the restaurant).

It is a short cab ride to town (about $5 each way) which is a bit of a downside. We were a little spoiled because our much cheaper Arenal hotel included a free shuttle into the nearest town.

All in all we liked Cala Luna. Was it worth the extra splurge? Sure, I guess.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm# 307 and we really liked it. It was about equidistant from the beach path and the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

every small attention was amazing! its the best costumer service I ever saw! we stayed there 1 night for my boyfriend birthday. At the check in we got cold towels to refresh and the best welcoming cocktail ever. I booked with expedia and we also got 50$ credit to spend on the restaurant/drinks! Just before dinner they came to our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolate cakes! It was an amazing gesture! You also get one free drink on the beach to wath the sunset. The resaurant is very good with a lot of variety and the included breakfast is amazing :) the only thing that is not perfect was the location. we were in town before and its a little far from all the restaurants, bars, shops and beach. (5$ cab to get to tamrindo) we were there 1 night so it wasnt a problem!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Cala Luna for a friend's wedding. It was amazing-- from the welcome drinks- to the staff - to the tub-- we loved everything about this place! The "Tor-tu-ga" quickly became my favorite cocktail! Our room was very close to the pool and walkway down the the beach. Our friends were married at a home across the street (Sueno Del Mar), so it was very convienent for meeting up with friends! Our room was beautiful, spacious, and had the most amazing shower/tub! We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning, delicious watermelon juice (among many others) served with fresh baked breads! A homemade jam, typically strawberry, also came with these delights and a full menu! Believe me when I tell you it's worth the breakfast alone, but the pool is also amazing; and the staff is some of the friendliest people we've encountered! Our favorite bartender, Orlando, mixed many "tor-tu-ga"s for me. We loved happy hour by the pool for a little monkey show and good music! There was literally not one thing we didnt love about this hotel, so if you are looking for the perfect Costa Rican getaway, Cala Luna is Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We wanted a more intimate experience for our family than the large properties found along the Pacific coast in Costa Rica. Cala Luna was perfect. We had a family of 7 in the 3-bedroom villa. Some of us enjoyed the private pool, others, the elegant public pool. The beach was fantastic for shelling, lazing in the shallow water and exploring the tidal pools. Everyone enjoyed it! The property was close enough to activities that we didn't have to spend precious time in transportation.
We had several lunches and dinners at the restaurant and found the food was wonderful...fresh ingredients and enough choices for us all. The best part of Cala Luna was the service staff. To a person they were well informed, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My extended family of 10 recently stayed at Cala Luna for four nights. We stayed in three rooms near each other, which were also near the pool and restaurant/bar. The grounds are beautiful and lush. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and accommodating. We especially enjoyed the service from our servers Oscar and Josh, though all of our servers were excellent. Josh even played a song I requested and gave us an informal salsa lesson one evening at the bar/lounge. Carlos at the front desk went the extra mile, finding my family at the pool when I needed to reach them from town. Breakfast was amazing! Everything on the menu was delicious. The fruit plates were excellent. There were different fresh juices to choose from each morning. And smoothies were always available. Lunches and dinners were excellent also. The monkeys that live in the trees were fun to watch. We had an excellent view one day around lunchtime when they came to the trees by the pool to eat. I got some great pictures. The rooms were very nice and clean. We had a few ants in the bathroom each day, but nothing to complain about. The water temperature in our shower did switch from hot to cold and back, which made it a little hard to relax. The other rooms didn't seem to have this problem. No complaints, other than that. We enjoyed the beach at the hotel, even though it isn't really good for swimming. There were great waves to watch and you could enjoy the free evening cocktails and see the sunset. There were also tide pools which kept the kids (and adults) quite entertained. The beach was also great for finding seashells - they were everywhere. It was a short walk around the point to get to beaches for swimming, surfing and boogie boarding. We also walked into town several times.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guanacaste, Tamarindo’s beach district has Cala Luna, the most celebrated boutique hotel in a secluded setting. With picturesque architecture of indigenous hardwoods, this stunning property blends with its lush surroundings. Accommodations are fashioned in sophisticated comforts, and range from Deluxe Rooms to Villas expansive enough to sleep 6. Each Villa in distinguished decor has a private pool, tranquil terraced garden and sleek gourmand’s kitchen. Classic amenities for families to indulge are the hotel’s very own surf school and free-form pool with cabanas. An organic garden is applauded for its abundance and care. After dark, this region’s most admired fusion dishes (International and seafood) are created by Cala Moresca. At-a-Glance: 41 A/C Villas and Rooms | 2 Restaurants | Organic cuisine | Beach | Poolside cabanas | Surfing academy | Yoga gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.