We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Cala Luna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Cala Luna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice Room with fabulous bathroom. Very close to Langosta Beach. Fantastic people work there, great service all the way. Would like to thank all for making our week an adventure. Boat trip with snorkling absolutely worth money. Captain and guide top.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    90
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
162
238
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I went back last weekend and loved it again.
We felt like we needed a break from everything and couldn't think of a better place than Cala Luna.
This place is special. From the moment we arrived we already felt relaxed.
Once again I recommend it to everyone looking for a romantic getaway.
Lot's of details everywhere! Food is amazing! We feel recharged!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I were first time travelers to Costa Rica and we were traveling with our family. We spent 2 nights at the JW Marriot and found it to be a big disappointment. On the second day we decided to go look at other hotels in town. We had heard about Cala Luna, but the reviews were mixed (seems like the people with the most insidious complaints like to post on Trip Advisor). From the moment we arrived, spoke with the staff, and toured the grounds we knew we found the place we wanted to spend the rest of our week in Costa Rica.

Cala Luna is truly a paradise. The grounds are lush jungle landscaping with Howler Monkeys, Iguanas and tropical birds within sight. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are open air and very nice. Our family rented a 2 bedroom villa with a private pool that was awesome. The villa was large and half the price of two standard ocean view (sort of) rooms at the JW Marriott.

The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are lush, but it is the staff that make the place remarkable. Ann who runs the concierge is extremely pleasant and accommodating. Ann booked us some great day excursions- river expedition and ocean boat tour. Carlos at the front desk is awesome (yeah Carlos!), in fact all of the front desk staff were great I just don't remember all of the their names. Our favorite server at the restaurant was Enrique, who was a hospitable and a good conversationalist. A big shout out for Enrique!!!!!!!!!!

I gave the Cala Luna a 4 out of 5 because there are no real 5 star hotels in Northern Costa Rica. Even the big name hotels (JW Marriot, Four Seasons, etc.) are not what you'd expect from one of those brands in the US or Europe. But if you're staying in Tamarindo, this is the best hotel around. So I'd say the are a "5+" in Tamarindo, a "4" on a world class scale. And if you are familiar with the hotels in Tamarindo, that is saying a lot.

You won't be disappointed with your stay at Cala Luna. You will be unwound in a half a day by the laid back jungle vibe and disarmed by the genuine kindness and hospitality of the staff.

Room Tip: Get a villa with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had our wedding there and everything about it was absolutely perfect... the villas were great for groups of friends and family to stay in - everyone loved the private pools. The staff there are all incredibly sweet and accommodating and Anne even helped us set up our transportation to our honeymoon in Nicaragua. Everyone couldn't have been more helpful - we loved everything about our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had such a nice relaxing massage, with a delicious lunch afterwards, and restful nap by the pool, who could ask for more. Never want to leave!
The staff is so friendly, very accommodating and make you feel like number 1. The hotel atmosphere is peaceful, very open, grounds are kept up, everyone working to make things perfect. Recommend the following a massage, lunch by the pool, horseback riding on the off property ( owned by one of the owners), the nature walks- relaxing, the gardens unbelievable all the fruits and vegetables grown and used for the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

From the moment you drive into the resort area at Cala Luna, it is clear that the owners and management have thought of all the details. Immaculate gardens, incredibly welcoming reception area with tasteful decorating and friendly staff.
The pool is beautiful, the restaurants have delicious food. La Caleta has gorgeous day-beds to lay out and read a book which you can select from their well-stocked bookshelves.
The rooms are large and super comfortable, the AC cold, the bathrooms beautiful with big deep tiled bath tubs. Also artfully decorated, it is an immediately relaxing environment.
Recommended for anyone who thinks they want to stay in Tamarindo, but would like to be away from it all- Langosta is just a short drive up the road and well worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I love this place. Never wanted to leave the pool area! it was so peaceful, relaxing and well kept. The staff is very friendly, polite and treat you like you are special. I was very happy with the accommodations over all!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
6.3 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 2 in Playa Avellanas
5.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
1.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're ideally located on a secluded slice of the pristine beach called Playa Langosta, where you can enjoy a sunset all to yourself . Our boutique resort offers our guests the finest amenities paired with the friendliest service, offering plenty of space, ample bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and comfortable living and dining areas, our villas, have two or three bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen . Delight your palate with fresh, locally caught fish, vegetables and herbs grown right here at our hotel, and organic wines from the most revered regions on the planet in our Cala Moresca Restaurant. Our relaxed atmosphere and full attention to your needs also make Cala Luna an ideal retreat to celebrate your honeymoon or anniversary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.