We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Tamarindo
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Quiet and romantic. The grounds are green and lush with bananas, papayas, aloe and a wide variety of flowers. Service is very attentive and the restaurants are exceptionally good - the pool/bar restaurant only uses ingredients that are grown on the hotel grounds and you can taste the freshness. The breakfast that was included with our room was ordered off the menu and was much better than the buffets that most hotels offer. The beach is a few steps away across a quiet road. Tamarindo is a 5 minute taxi or 20 minute walk. If you are looking for a romantic getaway I would highly recommend this hotel. If you are looking for night-life and activities then you may want to consider a hotel closer to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    66
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
166
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

First of all, I loved this property as an adult! We stayed in one of the villas with our own small pool. We have 3 kids (11, 8, and 7 years old). They loved the pool. It was a beautiful villa with pretty backyard and lounge chairs. A wonderful place to relax in morning with coffee while kids played in pool or relax at night while kids took a night swim before bed. However, our particular villa was not stocked well. No washer/dryer even though there were hook-ups. It would have been SO nice to have that avail. No simple kitchen amenities like dish soap, paper towels, salt/pepper/sugar/etc. It is not an easy or pleasant town to go into to shop so we didn't use kitchen except for coffee morning (which was provided each day like a hotel, thank goodness!) There were no pool toys or beach toys or beach chairs. That is sad because the only thing you can do at the accessible beach is to sit and watch sunset. Beach is too rocky for anyone to swim in. It is a beautiful sunset though and kids loved digging in sand and watching the hermit crabs. Just would have been nice to have some small foldable chairs set out or even in the villa to bring down to the beach. Pool at hotel is nice. Restaurants are really nice and food is excellent. Service was SO nice, but a bit vague. Example...walk to swim-able beach is "just a little down that road". Wrong--with 3 kids it is a good couple of miles on a dusty, dangerous road. An hourly shuttle into town to drop off at main area for shopping and a beach drop-off is desperately needed!! We did do the surfing lessons thru the hotel and were extremely impressed with the service and the instructor. The instructor was VERY patient and taught my 11 and 8 year to love surfing. Highly recommend it! So, if you don't plan to go to a swim-able beach or go into town I highly recommend this hotel. But if you have kids who want to swim and play at beach each day I would look into the Capitan Suizo. It looked really nice and has direct access to swim-able beach but isn't right in the middle of the crowded town. I also think the hotel should offer a grocery-stocking service for the villas.

Room Tip: Villas are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My first trip to Costa Rica and by far my best vacation thus far. The upscale hotel has amazing service and everyone is extremely accommodating. The one aspect i appreciate the most from boutique hotels is the personal attention; the staff was so courteous, warm and friendly. The food was delicious; one restaurant had unique blends of tapas while the other restaurant had an eclectic array of dishes... they grow their spices and vegetables fresh in the garden! I also enjoyed the fresh made breakfast and the handsome chef who personally made my omelets :-) Aside from him, my favorite was the refreshing fresh watermelon juice. The ambiance was very calming and tranquil with free yoga in the morning, on premises massages, peace and quiet poolside silence and greenery everywhere; it allows you to appreciate mother nature on a whole new level. The sunlit rooms are cozy and most importantly clean! If you're coming to CR anticipating activities, well the hotel offers an array of options to choose from but the top picks I recommend are surfing, paddle surfing, bike riding through town, horse back riding, zip lining, cooking classes (for real foodies!) and boat tours... we had a jam packed trip. Definitely don't miss out on checking out the cacti labyrinth; it's apparently the largest in the world and you will fall in love with the owner of the premises. Location is very convenient; steps from the beach filled with local surfers and brazilian bikinis. It's also walking distance from a strip of bars, restaurants and local shopping. Hands down best hotel i've stayed in.

Room Tip: I recommend the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great place for a light Tapas dinner. Amazing selection of plates... My family & I went and all got 2 or 3 things and shared and it was SO delicious. Not one thing was bad. Great cocktails too. The atmosphere was awesome... although it's just a view of the pool and the villas, it's really nice and tropical... they achieve the "costa rica" feel, especially when there is live music. I'd recommend eating here if you're staying at a nearby house or in town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is very good and the staff is one of the best I've seen. The breakfast could be improved: the dishes are always the same and it is very difficult to get a juice without sugar.
However, the biggest problem I see in this hotel is it location. That's because while I was planning my trip, I choosed the hotel based on the location shown at Google Maps - just near Tamarindo Diria, on the sand of Tamarindo beach and surrounded by bars, shops and restaurants.
When I arrived there, however, I got really frustrated when I realized that the location shown at Google Maps is wrong and that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, in front of the rockiest part of Playa Langosta. There are no restaurants outside, no bars, no shops and no beach - just stones - and it is impossible to dive into the sea or even to sunbathe on the sand.
If you don't care for the location or prefer to stay away from the city, Cala Luna would be the best choice. But if you are looking for a good beach hotel surrounded by bars and restaurants, don't stay there and go directly to Tamarindo Diria.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great little boutique hotel. The monkeys are a bit loud in the AM, but it's a nice place. They need to upgrade the wifi since it does not work in most of the rooms. Needed to go to the lobby or restaurant-which was a hassle. Given the cost and quality, I'm surprised they haven't spent the $100 to buy a couple of extenders.

Room Tip: closer to the lobby has better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just got back from Tamarindo and staying at Cala Luna was a definite high point. When we arrived and saw our villa, we could not believe we were staying in such a beautiful place - it surpassed our expections. The villa was spacious, the grounds well maintained, the staff incredibly friendly, and the food delicious! After our first dinner there, we immediately decided we needed come back another night. The food was very fresh and well prepared, plus our waiter, Wilbert, was delightful. This was by far our best meal in Costa Rica. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Get a villa with a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're ideally located on a secluded slice of the pristine beach called Playa Langosta, where you can enjoy a sunset all to yourself . Our boutique resort offers our guests the finest amenities paired with the friendliest service, offering plenty of space, ample bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and comfortable living and dining areas, our villas, have two or three bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen . Delight your palate with fresh, locally caught fish, vegetables and herbs grown right here at our hotel, and organic wines from the most revered regions on the planet in our Cala Moresca Restaurant. Our relaxed atmosphere and full attention to your needs also make Cala Luna an ideal retreat to celebrate your honeymoon or anniversary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.