We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Saver Rate
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms.
Very clean very nice place to be.
Staff extremely helpful, pool is spotless
Good restaurant with reasonable prices for quality food.

This place is a bit far from town. 5min drive 20 min walk. But we'll worth it compared to some of the other places on the strip

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    85
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
153
225
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Luxurious hotel, gorgeous pool, beautiful bathroom, incredible food, great location just steps from a secluded beach and beautiful rooms. Of the three places we stayed in Costa Rica, this was by far our favorite! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Dinner was delicious and the setting -- right by the pool - perfect. Both mornings at breakfast (free and yummy!) these beautiful blue birds came and sat near us looking for morsels, seems that's their usual spot! I would very highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Despite the humidity, I would return to Cala Luna in a heart beat. Staff is there to make sure you are satified and we were! The rooms were exceptional, the grounds were beautiful and the staff delightful! I can't find anything to complain about! We had a wonderful experience snorkeling and a night tour of the sea tortoises laying eggs and then wondering around on our own looking for the monkeys which we finally found, heard, and recorded on our last day and night. Fabulous happy hours on the beach at sunset made every evening a delight. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

These hotel in Tamarindo is my favorite, nice beach almost private due to the isolated location. The rooms are spacious and the staff is helpful and friendly. These plase is excellent for weddings, families. They offer free wifi for guest . These is a beautiful plae

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was just about perfect and definitely a great place to enjoy Tamarindo. It's just slightly out of "downtown" so the only noise you hear is from the monkeys and the birds and a $5 cab ride gets you to the action if you're jonesin to get off the resort and into the real Costa Rica.

The hotel food is really, really good - especially the breakfast (which was included with our booking). This is not a "continental breakfast". It's a full-on menu of delicious eats that will have you craving more.

The service is probably what really stands out. Everyone there is super eager to help and they aren't satisfied until you are. We wanted to book transport from the hotel to our next Costa Rican destination, and the tour staff just took our info and told us to go and enjoy the beach or the pool and that they would have it all taken care of by the time we got back. They did NOT disappoint.

Only 2 things hold Cala Luna back from being perfect: 1) it's not exactly on the the beach. It's VERY CLOSE and only takes 90 seconds to walk to the water, but the views aren't there as a result and that's something we often look for. 2) the walls in the rooms are paper thin. If someone in the room next to you is watching TV or even talking, you can hear in loud n clear. That's a real shame considering everything else here is absolutely awesome.

Room Tip: Try and find a room that doesn't have anyone nextdoor. The walls are pretty thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I spent 3 days last week at this fabulous hotel. Service was excellent,employees VERY friendly & accommodating. On arrival we received a Welcome Drink, which was amazing. Staff could not do enough to assist you. I have to praise "Wilbur", who is a waiter at the restaurant. He is the only waiter that we have met ( & we have met many) that asked us if we had any food allergies. I commend him 100%. That is such an important question to ask your guest...He also explained why he does ask......Kudos to "Wilbur".......That should be a standard question in all restaurants....Aside from that, the food was excellent & room was perfect. We will definitely be coming back to Cala Luna

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramón, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we spent a weekend last October it was just wonderful all the hotel employees are great very friendly and the service excellent, they go the extra mile for your satisfaction, the villa very comfortable , very modern and fully equipped, we had time to relax in the privacy of our villa, My children loved their pool just for themselves, the hotel facilities and the food were great, wanting to go back very soon, thank you Fraser , Alex ,Brian we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Tamarindo, Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're ideally located on a secluded slice of the pristine beach called Playa Langosta, where you can enjoy a sunset all to yourself . Our boutique resort offers our guests the finest amenities paired with the friendliest service, offering plenty of space, ample bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and comfortable living and dining areas, our villas, have two or three bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen . Delight your palate with fresh, locally caught fish, vegetables and herbs grown right here at our hotel, and organic wines from the most revered regions on the planet in our Cala Moresca Restaurant. Our relaxed atmosphere and full attention to your needs also make Cala Luna an ideal retreat to celebrate your honeymoon or anniversary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.