We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Km From Huacas Intersection, Main Road Towards Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After my last review I have to say that... Thank God breakfast was really good... many different options from where to choose!!!
And today, we got a complementary Sailing and snorkeling trip that was amazing!!! Panache Sailing.
A car is a plus if you want to see beaches around, we've seen more than 10 not far from hotel.
Pool is nice, as well as rooms. No fridge, nor micro. There is a small shop near by and restaurant seems good and people are very friendly there!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianoS08, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Nat, thanks so much for this new comment, we are so happy to hear that at the end your vacations here was excellent, I read the Panache Sailing was amazing for you, we are happy too for that! We hope to see you again in a future. Thanks from all our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
55
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It is only the one and...
1. First room was not with 2 beds as requested
2. When called, reception asked to get.the new key... one would expect a better customer service... bring it! And guess what it stinked of fresh paint... at least it looked good :P
3. Finally they brought the key for the third one... Now...
A. Room A/C is on the side so one gets very cold the other not at all....
B. Shampoo and conditioner also means soap, so bring your own... and cap and any other regular extra that you find in the bathroom...
C. Oh yes, they do have a dryer but not placed on the wall, so fight with it :)
D. Hot water... sure, after 5 minutes and little water, because if you want more, you need to accept the cold one.

I'll pray for a good breakfast, we still have 3 more days here...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianoS08, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Nat T thanks for your comments, be sure that help us to improve our service. We apologize for not being a good experience for you. We are ashamed for those incovenience during the first day of your stay, we are pretty sure that the rest of your days here with us will be different. Your comments are learning for us and help us a lot. I wish that best on your vacations in Tamarindo area. If you have somenthing else to know about us, please contact us at reservaciones@bwtamarindo.com. Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed last weekend with my wife and small Kid in the property and I Need to say everything was perfect.

The Reservationen department was fast and very helpful.

The check in and out was ver quick and the was very focused on guest service.

The rooms offered everthing what is needed when you stay on the Beach. The room was 100% clean and comfortable. The only thing to improve would be to change the pillows. The Rest was great.

The breakfast was simple but very good.

The Snacks and Drinks of the Pool was great as well where great.

We will come back soon

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castrobw, Director de Recepción at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your comment is very important to us. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The chef at this particular Best Western produces dishes that are the best gourmet prepared food I have ever encountered for any price. Insane value. Period. Hotel is clean and safe and the staff are very polite and happy. There are closer places to the beach, at least stop here on a weekend day for a meal. Better food than anywhere in New Orleans, hands down!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castrobw, Director de Recepción at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your comment is very important to us. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellows falls vt.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The rooms were ok, bright and sunny. The plumbing could use an upgrade and the bed wasn't that comfortable, but overall everything was good. The staff was friendly though they didn't have a lot of tour information. The hotel is ~5miles from town or the nearest beach. It is at least a 2hr walk in the dry heat of the sun but doable if you are adventurous. It was a $10 taxi ride back.The hotel has a complementary shuttle but it only leaves the hotel at 10am and picks you up in Tamarindo at 5pm. The driver was very friendly.
The pool was very nice and cleaned every morning. Breakfast was pretty good, fresh fruit and decent coffee.
The restaurant Anders was fantastic. It is an undiscovered gem. The food was good, expertly presented and reasonable. You would pay a lot more for these meals in the states. Menual was an excellent host and made very good mojitos. He was friendly and loved being able to practice his English.
I would stay at this hotel again. If you are planning an extended stay, like others have said, a car would really be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castrobw, Director de Recepción at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your comment is very important to us. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spend 4 days with an older couple friend of us in this hotel at the end of January; it was a pleasant surprise, compare to the rest of the hotel on the area. You will need car to move around as the transportation and location are 15 minutes from the noise of Tamarindo, however the hotel is all tranquility. The staff at the front desk could not be friendlier or accommodating, we got rooms 14 and 15 connected and a step from the car, since my friends cannot walk to much. Rooms are modern and clean and all have a porch to seat in the evenings, a few more pillows and a table will be nice, however we manage by taking out the bed pillow and the tables from the room. The pool is great clean and not crowded at all, it will be nice to update the pool furniture to have more chairs, even during our stay there was very few people and those were enough. And here came the best part, the food at the restaurant is fantastic, we end up having dinner there every evening, trying almost everything on the menu and never founding a fault, all this at a very good prices as well, there was one let down, they don’t have hardly any wines! to much the fantastic food, however the gracious waiter let us know that if we have our own wine he will open and serve it for us, needless to say we immediately went to the room and got one of the few bottles that got there. There was a breakfast included how ever I am sure they will work to improve the food and presentation, as still does not goes well with the many other good qualities of this place. A very pleasant experience and relaxing place, with good service and good food, that is what we all are looking for, and this place have it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are bowgalows like, in front of the pool area, we choose those close to the entrance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castrobw, Director de Recepción at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your comment is very important to us. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great Hotel. Friendly receptions staff. Food was good although service could have been a little better. Extremely clean rooms. Pool was great. Highly recommend it if you want something outside Tamarindo (selling point for us), the drive to Tamarindo is not far. Great value

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castrobw, Director de Recepción at BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your comment is very important to us . By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo

Address: 3 Km From Huacas Intersection, Main Road Towards Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Camino a Tamarindo is a privileged hotel in Guanacaste area in where you can enjoy the peace and landscapes that only Guanacaste can give you. Step into a world of style and comfort at the right price, Best Western Camino a Tamarindo Hotel offers the highest standard in service and comfort for relaxing and business travel. Situated in the heart of the North Pacific of Costa Rica, Best Western Camino a Tamarindo is a perfect place for visiting Beaches, National Parks, Volcanoes, Haciendas and many other exciting adventures in Guanacaste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.