We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy we stayed here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Km From Huacas Intersection, Main Road Towards Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
1 review
“Very Happy we stayed here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it! The customer service here is wonderful. The rooms were clean and the price is the best I ever had for what we got! Yes, this hotel isnt beachfront and when we got there, we were a bit disappointed, as I thought it was. But, the next morning when I saw the pool during the day, I was sooo happy. I love the place so much, we didnt mind that we had to drive to go places.

Enjoy!
Jimmy Wang

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
55
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Got a great deal through expedia for only 80$ a night so booked a night.
The place has a very nice setting, with big clean rooms, equipped with everything, including AC.
The breakfast good, one of the best so far in CR.
The only downside, which is a major one, is that the hotel is located far away from the beaches (and town), and you have to drive 10-15 minutes in order to get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is out of town but the employees are so nice, they make you feel like home. I didn't have a car but they offer me to pay for the taxi everyday. The pool is huge and as a swimmer, I enjoyed making laps everyday. The hotel is very quiet so it is perfect when you want to relax. As soon as you call at the front desk, someone will come right away fix your problem. The food at the restaurant is so good and not that expensive. I recommand this hotel to everyone who wants to spend a quiet holiday and be in the real costa ricain life!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Room is 10 minutes from town. not bad if you are traveling through but car is necessary Not recommended for a two day stay as there is no shade or comfortable chair in the hotel-everything is hard plastic or wood. Costa Rica is priced ridiculously high and this hotel at 85.00 is a good example. The whole country needs a big devaluation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only spent one night at the Best Western Camino a Tamarindo but wished we could spend more. We stayed in room 6 and it was spacious, clean and very quiet. It was especially nice to be right in front of the swimming pool.

The restaurant had great food and a fantastic breakfast buffet with eggs, rice, beans, fruit, coffee etc...

The staff was friendly and the hotel was quiet which I loved. I felt like I could really relax there and would definitely return. It was about a ten minute drive from Tamarindo which I didnt mind at all. Tamarindo can be a little hectic with all the tourists sometimes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) have just spent a week here. The staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and comfy. The pool was great - especially with a pina colada in hand! It was a great base for our holiday. We had hired a car (from a company recommended by the hotel prior to our arrival) and it was easy to get around from there. The hotel also helped us book a couple of tours, which were great. A trip on the Catamaran Panache is a must - lovely afternoon trip out to a secluded bay where you can snorkel, drinks and lunch included. Then a sail home in time to see the sun set over the coast. The crew were great fun! We also went on the trip to Palo Verde with Jairo as the guide - get a tour with him if possible - he is very knowledgeable and great fun too. We later arranged with Jairo to go out turtle watching ... again a real must! Don't forget you are watching wild creatures in their habitat, so be prepared to walk, run or tiptoe across the sand! Go to Playa Hermosa at night and tread on the wet sand in the dark and watch the sand sparkle like little fairy lights beneath your feet! (thanks to the phosphorous). A great place to eat in Tamarindo is http://kahikitamarindo.com/ - reasonably priced food, well cooked and plenty of it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel to spend the night. It is 10 minutes away from Tamarindo, the touristy beach town in the area. The place is well maintained, clean and neat, and people take care of you (we arrived by lunch time and they prepared a nice meal for us by the time we arrived). However, if you are planning to spend the day at the hotel, this may not be a good option. There isn't much to do nearby the hotel (walking distance), although there are a lot of nice beaches within driving distance (Tamarindo, Avellanas, Playa Grande - Where you can watch turtles).

If you don't mind driving every day to have some fun, this is a great option. You will have a good night of sleep in a clean and caring place.

Room Tip: There are standard rooms for parties of up to 3 people, but they also have the choice for a larger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo

Address: 3 Km From Huacas Intersection, Main Road Towards Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Camino a Tamarindo is a privileged hotel in Guanacaste area in where you can enjoy the peace and landscapes that only Guanacaste can give you. Step into a world of style and comfort at the right price, Best Western Camino a Tamarindo Hotel offers the highest standard in service and comfort for relaxing and business travel. Situated in the heart of the North Pacific of Costa Rica, Best Western Camino a Tamarindo is a perfect place for visiting Beaches, National Parks, Volcanoes, Haciendas and many other exciting adventures in Guanacaste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.