We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, great hotel/staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Negra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Negra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Playa Negra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Santa Cruz
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, great hotel/staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My father has been coming here to surf for over 20 years. He loves Renun and the staff like family. I recently had the opportunity to finally visit for myself. As far as the rooms go, there are some nicer more Americanized-cabinas available or you can go with a more rustic Costa Rican style cabina. We had the latter down by the beach restaurant. A couple notes about the rooms. They Costa Rican style are not for the faint of heart, the 'windows' do not close fully as they are wood panes you turn to open/close, there is a fan for A/C, showers don't always have hot water and the beds are average. Understand, Hotel Playa Negra is more about the remote location, excellent surfing and the cool locals/staff than a top-notch luxury retreat. We enjoyed the restaurant bar most of the time as the point of visiting is to not run around. The food is good and the staff are great. During my stay, we didn't have any issues with food prep, service or rooms. I see why my Dad comes every year for a month!

Room Tip: If you need custom fit bathing suits, rash guards, etc. just down the road is a local named Margaret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a really special property. The bungalows are so charming -- very clean, though bugs and such will get in. We had a bit of an ant problem in our first room, but not in our second (we switched rooms halfway through to move to a bungalow with air-conditioning). The beach access is incredible, and even if you don't surf, you'll enjoy watching others tackle the waves. But it's also great to be able to sit sand-free by the pool, where you can see and hear the waves. I took advantage of the beachside yoga with Rosalie, who was wonderful. The restaurant is good but pricey. We had our Christmas Eve dinner there and unfortunately it was especially expensive while also being really disappointing. But the regular menu's food was tasty. Overall, highly recommended if you want a more off the beaten path vacation.

Room Tip: The air-conditioned suite-bungalow was worth the extra spurge for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for a surf vacation and the stay makes it much more than a surfing experience. It was a five days in paradise when we stepped in the property!

We love the food in the hotel restaurant! Especially the whole fish grilled at their wood grill. I am still trying to reproduce the taste at home. It is the best fish we have ever had. By the way, the food choice at Playa Negra is surprisingly rich. It has so many great choices!

And staff are very friendly and relaxed. We love the yoga lessons offered at the hotel too. You can see ocean from there!

It is also close to multiple surfing beaches. Although not close to any nightlife, which is perfectly okay with us. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very chilled out and one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The surf break is great, service is very good and the location while out of the way, is phenomenal. Bonus: Very little lighting at night enables crystal clear views of the stars and the milky way!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed in Playa Negra a few times. This is one of it's gems! Great food, great location and nice bungalows. Clean rooms and nice staff. Definitely a place to check out when in playa negra. Awesome place to watch the sunset!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Here is a little place that one could call paradise! By the ocean, a wonderful surf spot, a great small hotel run by an adorable staff, excellent fresh food and simply one of the best spot to enjoy life and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent five days at Hotel Playa Negra in March and we really loved it. If you want to avoid crowded places and just relax in the middle of nature, in a very comfortable and cool atmosphere, it's your place. The bungalows were beautiful and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant was fresh and excellent. It was just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Playa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Negra

Address: Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Playa Negra 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playa Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Negra Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.