We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, Beautiful and Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Negra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Negra to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Negra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic, Beautiful and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I decided to have a destination wedding in Costa Rica this past February and Hotel Playa Negra was recommended to us by a Costa Rican friend. We were looking for an authentic Costa Rican hotel experience - not a big, generic resort. Hotel Playa Negra was absolutely perfect! It's very rare to find such a hotel right on the beach in Costa Rica. We had 70 guests and rented out the entire place. The owner, management and staff were great helping with planning and organizing all of the arrangements. The new bungalows are bigger and brighter with hammocks on the porches (a few have AC). The older bungalows are smaller and darker, but closer to the pool and beach. They are all charmingly rustic, comfortable and clean. The hotel restaurant has great traditional Costa Rican menu with lots of options. Their food was wonderful - high quality, fresh ingredients and well prepared. The servers and bartenders were very kind and accommodating to our entire group. There are also a handful of good restaurants nearby for variety. We cannot wait to go back to Hotel Playa Negra for a return visit in a few years!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had so much fun at Hotel Playa Negra. The kids (4 and 6 years old) loved walking out our bungalow door and swinging on the hammocks, the pool, collecting shells, body surfing and watching hermit crabs. My husband and I love how remote we were, the surfing lessons with Manu, the beachside yoga and easy lunches at the Negra Grill. We were also a one minute drive to town to some really fun restaurants and not too far from Avellanas or Pinilla for adventures and different restaurants. We went during dry season so things weren't as lush as I remember the last time I was in Costa Rica (but also, very few bugs!) We had AC in our bungalow and needed it b/c it was quite hot during the day and our son still naps. Water pressure was spotty and no bathtub (the kids missed that) but we didn't really care. You can't be too uptight to stay here - service is a bit slow (especially at the restaurant), but once you accept the chill vibe, it's all good. You need to bring all your own toiletries, etc. (this is NOT luxury). So, if you're a relaxed person who enjoys watching surfers and vacationing away from big, overrun resorts, this is the spot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel Playa Negra is the perfect surf & sunbathe spot - There is a lovely swimming pool and sun loungers to relax on. We were there for a wedding and the staff were all very accomodating. The sandy beach is literally 2 minutes walk from the restaurant and bungalows. You can do yoga classes in the morning, get a massage and go horse riding on the beach (although I would say if you aren't an experienced horse rider, don't do it here as the horses can get a bit excited!) They also have a pool table in the restaurant.

The only thing that I didn't like was having to pay for breakfast as the price of the bungalow was quite a lot. Having said that, I didn't mind as I was on holiday and had a bit of money to spend. For breakfast, you can get Huevos Rancheros (eggs in spicy tomato sauce), bacon and eggs, a mixed fruit platter, Gallo Pinto (rice and beans), coffee and orange juice (I wouldn't order tea as you'll probably get hot milk with a teabag in!).
The lunch and dinner menu is great, with lots of fresh fish and meat on the menu. They have a good back bar aswell, although they weren't that good at cocktails, which was surprising.

The one downside is that the sea is not really for swimming in cos the waves are so strong, and there are a lot of surfers. but the pool is pretty big and good to swim in.

There is also a lot of wildlife to spot - I saw lizards nearly everyday and loads of brightly coloured butterflys. I spent a lot of time picking up and examining drowned insects out of the pool - beetles, dragonflys and crabs. If you are scared of things with lots of legs, I'd be careful going into the restaurant toilets as small crabs like to linger here and jump out at you while your having a pee!

Room Tip: The larger 'suite bungalows' have AC, bigger bathrooms, a walk in wardrobe and a balcony wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Kind of on a whim, we decided to move on from Ostinal and find a place closer to the airport for our next days' flight home. We decided to check out Rancho Playa Negra and just drove down to the beach. When we saw Hotel Playa Negra we asked for a look into a room and we were sold. Cute little round separate units with shutter clad windows. Great chairs on our little porch with view of the beach / sunset .

Nice pool with lounge chairs. Beautiful Beach. Our room was right next to a stand of Bamboo.

Just perfect for our last day in Costa Rica. Our flight was at 1pm so we could spend a relaxing morning and then an easy drive (1.5 hours) to Liberia

Room Tip: We had room #10, Ocean/sunset view from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We spent one night here at the beginning of our holiday. Even though the hotel is beachside we were very glad it was a one night stay. It WAS during the week after New Year's so the prices reflected holiday rates but it is still way overpriced for what it is.

The bungalows are round buildings that are quite well designed. One queen bed with two built in singles on each side hugging the round wall. Shelf space, desk, in room safe included. No air conditioning in our room but the ceiling fan did the job. Unfortunately it is on a timer so stopped mid-nite! Once I got up and turned it back on I was able to fall back asleep. The rooms are quite dark due to the slatted blinds on the windows that are necessary for privacy. Minimal offerings in the room--one towel each, a bar of soap. No shampoo, beach towels. And the hotel is beachside. Upon arrival the room appeared clean until I entered the bathroom. Fortunately I had packaged wipes with me so I could finish cleaning the toilet--gross!

Restaurant on the premises beachside. No breakfast included. The beach and restaurant are frequented by locals which makes for some great people watching, especially as they surf. The restaurant is not inexpensive. If you were there for more than one day making the 15 minute or so drive into a nearby town would be worth it for variety and price.

The small pool does have lounge chairs around it but the cushions are stained and in some cases torn. There is a shaded area with a few hammocks that is restful.

The staff was ok--reception very friendly, wait staff seemed overworked and indifferent.

Again, holiday rates, but NOT worth anywhere near $160!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Beach is huge, and very nice for surfing with kids, food is very good, there's a great "Panaderia" just within the hotel.
Very relaxing, staff is very nice

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

because then it might get too crowded. We love Hotel Playa Negra. The perfect place to unwind and rejuvenate the spirit. Friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable casitas. Plenty of day trips if you can drag yourself off the property/beach.

Room Tip: Close to pool may seem to be attractive, but it's also closer to the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Negra

Address: Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Playa Negra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Negra Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.