We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink and a dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iguanazul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iguanazul to your Saves list
Hotel Iguanazul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Junquillal, Santa Cruz 130-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Harpswell, Maine
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Drink and a dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stopped here to watch the sunset and stayed for dinner. I had seafood rice which was very good and my husband had the comida tipica, good as well. Staff was welcoming from the get go, friendly and informative. attentive service, nice pool. I would recommend the dining. It is out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although my friends and I did not stay at the hotel itself, we still enjoyed several meals at Iguanazul. The employees were extremely friendly and accomodating and the food was positively delicious! My favorite dishes were the casado and the gallo pinto. If you stop by for breakfast, ask for Ana!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel Iguanazul is located in a more rural area and is definitely worth the stay if you want to relax away from big crowds. The view is incredible and the food is fresh and amazing. All the staff that work there is extremely accommodating and informative and helped us with every request with a smile.We were there for my best friend's wedding and the manager,Roberto,and his staff went out of their way to make their day as special as possible. The rooms are not overly fancy and the hotel has more of a rustic feel, its a low key place with a lot of heart! We had to rely on the hotel and tour operators to drive us around and it can add up a bit so when we stay there again we would definitely rent a car.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is not next to the restaurant. We were staying in rm10 and found it a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Hotel last week. We had a great time and the staff was awsome, food was great. We even had Thanksgiving dinner there with all the trimmings. They went out of thier way to make this a great experience for everyone there. This is three star accomidations with five star view and service what a great value.

Room Tip: Go ocean view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is in a picture perfect area near a clean, cute costal town. Iguanazul sits atop a small cliff that provides you with amazing views of the ocean and beaches to the north and south. The rooms are the standard, no frills coasta rican flavor. However, the staff, food, cocktails, and grounds will make your room only necessary for sleep and showering. I only hope Arturo is behind the bar for you because that hombre whips up some fuerte cocktails!

You can spend your day floating in the pool and looking at the ocean. Or you can lie in a hammock overlooking the ocean. I clocked several hours doing both!

The area is not developed much so the surrounding beaches are stellar. You'll definitely need a 4x4 vehicle if you want to leave the hotel grounds for other beaches.

Iguanazul is a gem for a bargain. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel is really only barely affordable for most travelers in the rainy season, when prices drop significantly. Very clean and great views from the hotel over the ocean. However you really need a personal car to get around here, especially if you plan to surf the excellent beaches around. And you don't want to pay the prices for the food and drinks at the hotel, so get what you think you might need while you are in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed at Iguanzul resort third week in March. Located approximately 50 minutes from Liberia Airport. Car rental a must because of location. Staff more then happy to give you directions and recommendations for places to explore. David the owner was very pleasant and concerned that your stay was enjoyable. Resort was clean. Staff friendly and very willing to please. Food was excellent. No buffet so everything was made fresh. Enjoyed fresh fruit platter every morning. Enjoyed Sea Bass 3 times during the week (by choice) and it was made 3 different ways with wonderful sauces. Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere with wonderful pool and bar a few steps away. The resort overlooked the ocean and a walk to the beach was several minutes. Few local people at beach so it felt like it belonged to you. Every night the sunsets were beautiful. I definitely would return. I highly recommend it if you are tired of the large resorts. If you are a surfer (which I am not) owners son states some of the best surfing in the world is located on these beaches. One day the resort hosted approximately 50 kids plus some parents for several hours supplying them food and gifts along with use of the resort facilities. This is the second time according to a previous review. What a wonderful thing to do

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iguanazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iguanazul

Address: Playa Junquillal, Santa Cruz 130-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iguanazul 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguanazul is located in the northern province of Guanacaste, on the Nicoya Peninsula at Playa Junquillal, 35km south of Tamarindo, over a cliff right in front of the Pacific Ocean, a quiet place where you can enjoy a white sand, almost deserted beach, world class surf breaks, great snorkling, spectacular sunsets and more! Our nearby beaches are all pristine and you can walk virtually undisturbed for hours and hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iguanazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iguanazul Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iguanazul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.