My tour company booked this for me - I will be letting them know what I think of that place. First, I don't drink and I guess the hotel recently switched to an "all-inclusive". The guy at the front desk (he was generally nice, friendly & competent) said I could upgrade to an all-inclusive for another $50 a day. I passed on that. The owner (bearded ex-pat in jeans) was there almost every day I was there, & did spend time drinking & talking, but wasn't too intrusive, at least while I was around. But he behaved like this was his personal space. The food was okay but prices were set at a flat $9 for lunch or $20 for supper, with no variance, even if you didn't want everything. I like salads & light meals & fruit, so their heavy American style lunches & suppers (meat, carbs, desserts) were too much for me, & I resented the lack of choice. But this might be what others want. The only thing Costa Rican was the Tico breakfast, served with a bit of an apology. Oddly, no fresh fruit in evidence unlike evry other hotel I stayed at in CR. The staff other than the desk clerk were a bit surly but not actually rude, and were helpful if you were polite & friendly. I could see that they definitely might not seem welcoming to walk-in traffic. American music from the sixties & seventies played on the loudspeakers - which I thought was odd (this is Costa Rica after all, isn't it?). I got the idea that the place was set up to suit the owner, not necessarily prospective guests. I thought the use of the term "spa" was insulting & only done for marketing purposes. No spa on site that I saw. The pool is small. The room I had was, well, dreadful. I made friends with the dozens of ants that crawled out of the light sockets - they never ventured onto the bed, thank goodness, but stayed mostly on the walls. I ignored the mites. There is no beach in front of the hotel, but there is one to the north and more beaches about a kilometer south, along with more hotels & restaurants.
There is no denying, the ocean is glorious and the view is amazing - but you can get that anywhere along the coastline.
Also, with respect to the cute "dog" - at first the fact that a couple of dogs had the run of the place was charming. They'd come and sit down or lay down beside you. But they were filthy, and when I realized that any of about 6 or 8 of them roamed through the pool and restaurant area at will - I no longer found it charming. Dogs are pack animals & more than two together can be unpredictable. I saw two of the same dogs run out & nip at some horses/riders on the shore. The Tico rider had to drive the rotweiler off with stones because he wouldn't stop biting at the horse's heels. And one of the dogs started a fight with a dog belonging to ? some walk-in visitors, friends of the owner's (?)
This place is okay if you want someplace isolated, Americanized, heavy meals, with a beautiful view, and as long as you don't mind sketchy rooms & a place somewhat rough around the edges. I didn't mind the Tico workers but overall I thought the place had "no class" & couldn't wait to leave. The whole thing felt weird and had a strange vibe.
Also, as a side note, Iguanazul is building humongous condos to the east of the hotel. They are in stark contrast to the modest Tico dwellings. I sense some empire-building going on... which may be the source of some local tension & the strange vibes...
Make sure to ask for air conditioned - unless you're ok with super hot rooms
Note, there is no...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comments, we have some notes
Report response as inappropriate
- Ants in the room? The best solution is to tell reception and the problem will be taken care of immediately.
- The hotel beach stretches for 1/2km to the north. It is featured on our website
- The spa offers all sorts of therapeutic massages, yoga, skin treatments, etc
- By the way, I am canadian and I like light food too. You had the option of ordering anything you wanted and it was our fault that this was not made clear to you. We are working on improving the system.
- About the dogs they don't belong to us except for Biscuit the spanish dog that everybody loves.
We certainly thank you for your comments but if you have a problem when you are with us please address it here sio we can fix it. We hope to see you again
Hotel Iguanazul / Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.