We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lodge Las Ranas to your Saves list
Lodge Las Ranas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Las ranas is located on one of the hills near the beach. The car trip is mostly offroad, as is normal in Costa Rica. Rooms are very nice and cosy and from the balcony a fantastic view of the beach/sea. This is a great place to stay when in Samara. Would definitely come again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-scr, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello Steven,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Lodge Las Ranas and Samara. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We would love to have you stay with us again!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The bungalows are nice and big and the view is wunderful! The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is a little bit outside and you will need a car to get there (the hotel entrance road is very, very steep!)
The only minus is that there is hardly any light in the bungalow and that the breakfast is small and if you want any extras, you will have to pay. We went afterwards to Cafe Carola (german bakery) - highly recommanded.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-scr, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello,

All of us here at Lodge Las Ranas would like to thank you for your reply. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. It is a very crucial tool in helping us to make sure our guests leave happy.

You will be happy to know that we now offer larger breakfast options and reduced prices on the additional meal choices.

We hope to see you again soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, Ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 kids (ages 10, 13 and 14) in August and had a wonderful time. We had two adjoining neighboring rooms, which I've never done before, but we felt perfectly safe and comfortable here. The views from the balconies were wonderful, complete with howler monkeys and the Pacific Ocean. Cody, Aura and the rest of the staff were very helpful and welcoming and made good recommendations for activities and meals. The one downside was that the bed was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if they all have views of the Pacific, but many of them do so it's worth asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-scr, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello TravelingMom40,

We would all like to thank you for your review. These reviews are a key part of our business and help us deliver the best experience possible to our guests. We hope you enjoyed Lodge Las Ranas and Samara as much as we do and hope to have you stay with us again!

Pura Vida,

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just completed a 700 mile car tour of Costa Rica and found Las Ranas in Samara CR (where we stayed 3 nights) to be tied for first place in places we stayed. A beautiful property that is very well maintained and a view to die for... Just outside of town (very close, but still secluded in the hills) this is a fantastic place to stay. Las Ranas is a Family Owned (by Canadians) and run day-to-day by the son Cody. Cody knows everyone in town and all the right places to eat and things to see. One could not ask for anything more in the way of hospitality. The included breakfast was good, complete, and filling.

Cody did share that he is intending to replace the hard mattresses soon - They are currently typical of what we found in CR; a bit thin and a bit hard, but certainly sleepable.

If this is not the best place to stay in Samara, CR we'd be surprised because we did not see one better. This place is the right choice.

Samara, CR is a great small town with some western influences, but not over run with them. Sweet beaches and some of the best food we found - Eat with sand in your toes and soft waves just yards from your table. Lots of restaurant choice on the beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-scr, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Cheesestick,

All of us here at Lodge Las Ranas would like to thank you for your review. We always appreciate when our guests take the time out of their busy lives to give us vital feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the Playa Samara area.

We hope to see you again soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My college age daughter, her girl friend and I traveled to Samara for surfing lessons. When our driver drove us up the private drive to Lodge Las Ranas we were thrilled with its spectacular views and privacy.
The rooms were clean and accommodating in every way, hosting comfortable beds, small refrigerators ,fans, a/c and balconies with ocean views. The Lodge is elevated on top of a mountain overlooking the ocean and the jungle with many opportunities to view the resident wildlife. The Lodge is serene and peaceful filled only with sounds of bird calls and howler monkeys.
The dining area has a spectacular view and a mixture of local Tico style food accompanied by white table cloth dining. We looked forward to breakfast every morning enhanced by Guava jelly and Lizano. The proprietors have mixed Costa Rica living with a touch of elegance that displays their sense of pride in their surroundings. They are both gracious and help guide you to local favorites and arranged transportation for us when needed.
I felt very grateful that they shared their little piece of paradise with us and treated us so graciously during our stay. Bravo, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Landfinder,

All of us from Lodge Las Ranas would like to sincerely thank you for writing us this review. All reviews are a key tool in helping us provide our guests with a great and enjoyable experience. We always enjoy sharing our little corner of Costa Rica and are delighted that you enjoyed it as much as we do.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and Las Ranas was recommended. It's quite an adventure getting there, but once you arrive the setting is quite magnificent with an amazing view of both the jungle and Playa Samara. While not on the beach, you can enjoy the peace and relaxation of this beautiful spot, and can enjoy the views and the pool. It's only a 7 minute drive to Playa Samara. We had howler monkeys in the trees outside our room, spotted iguanas, beautiful butterflies and hummingbirds along with toucans. Cody and his staff did a wonderful job of making us welcome and helping us arrange kayaking trips, an amazing and informative hike into the jungle, and horseback riding along the beach,not to mention recommending places to eat, and sharing some great stories. A typical Costa Rican breakfast is included and delicious along with coffee! The Lodge is reached via some unmade roads and a steep driveway, so if you're renting a car be sure to get 4 wheel drive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello LMK7,

All of us here at Lodge Las Ranas wish to send our many thanks to you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as well as in Playa Samara.

We hope to see you soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have traveled to Costa Rica many times and stayed at several B&Bs along the pacific coast and in the peninsula. Our experience at Lodge Las Ranas was by far the best! Cody (the manager/owner) went above and beyond, provided us with great insight into the area and excellent conversation, not to mention where to get awesome pizza delivery late night...that actually has pepperoni, instead of jamon :) Walter and Aura also made us feel very welcome and directed us to some excellent restaurants (highly recommend El Lagarto). Our room was really lovely - a nice sized bedroom and separate bath with a private balcony; incredible views of the ocean and treetops, toucans on the branches within feet of us, and howler monkeys. The pool is really nice for a morning, afternoon or evening swim and pool-side chairs are set up to provide shade when it gets warmer. Can't wait to go back, this is definitely our future and permanent destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hello Flaherty7277,

I would like to say thank you from all of us here at Lodge Las Ranas. Guest feedback is a great tool for us to make sure our guests leave here with a "pura vida" experience as we say here in Costa Rica. We understand that it can be difficult to get the time to write these reviews when trying to get back into the swing of things back home.

Once again a big thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Address: 800 mts al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Las Ranas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Las Ranas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.