We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in Costa Rica!!! a really homy and very nice place nad owners!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Matilori

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Matilori
Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our home in Costa Rica!!! a really homy and very nice place nad owners!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

W were in this posada for three nights. we weren't sure about staying there for so long, but each day,beacuse it was such a great place, we decieded to stay another night... (our vacation were only three weeks in Costa Rica so we wanted to see a lot... but it was the longest we stayed in one place).
The place is very very clean, and the owners really make you feel at home. they also knows about the good beaches in that area, and they also told us about the big event which a lot of femals turtle r lying there eggs, without them telling us that we wouldnt know.
it also has a very nice kichen. a nice yard, close to the beach and located close to the center of Smara, but still it is a quiet place.
for a closer ill say that it was the best place we stayed in our honeymoon.
enjoy and Pura Vida

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Very clean and friendly hotel. A nice place to stay over, the owners are very helpfull and friendly. Use of free internet, washing machine, kitchen, body boards ect. The rooms are spotless and the beach is very close. Overall a very good place to stay!!

Regards,
Koen, Maartje and Marieke from Holland

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My Cousin and I stayed at the Posada Matilori for the second half of our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. The town was so nice and welcoming, and our experiences in Samara were amazing. I think staying at the Posada was a huge part of that. Stefano and Yorlenni were so sweet and helpful and just all around amazing people. We were sad to leave. The rooms were beautiful and the place was kept up immaculately. Having free laundry, internet and use of the kitchen was also a giant perk. I would definitely stay there again and will tell all my friends going to Samara to stay at Posada Matilori.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We were desperately looking for a good place where to sleep, after a nightmare night in hotel close to the beach. Luckily we found this nice place, in a side street, far enough from the noise, but at walking distance from the beach and amenities.

The description on Lonely planet guide is actually old: they have now 7 seven rooms and not 4, of different sizes and prices. They are divided in 2 small buildings. Both buildings have a common bathroom ad a big communal kitchen. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the woman of the house add here and there classy touches, like the fresh flower decorations on the freshly changed towels.

The bathroom is shared in both buildings: usually I prefer en suite, but the bathrooms were constantly cleaned, morning till evening and I felt perfectly ok in using them.
Also, our room was cleaned and the towels changed every day.

The Posada is quiet, super clean (the owners clean it from morning till evening continuously), and safe. There is free internet and a washing machine (a blessing for backpack travellers like us!).
The owners are very nice and helpful, and they speak spanish, english and italian.

We had also the the luck to see some monkeys passing by in the garden! Doesn't happen often, but can happen!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Posada is a charming little (4 rooms) place with character. The Italian/Tico staff are incredibly friendly & helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and nicely liveable. It's a m-minute walk to the beach. Americans, be aware that It's not intended to be a 5-star hotel, and the bathrooms are shared, which is problematic for some. We would definitely return. It has a fully-stocked shared kitchen if you wish to cook.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Posada Matilori is really the best place we stayed in Costa Rica.
We arrived in Samara and had a walk around the beach to find a place to stay but there the cabinas are not so clean and comfortable.
Posada Matilori instead is great. My only problem, at the beginning when we had to chose, was the shared bathroom. I always prefer private bathroom because you never know how the other guests will act but in this case there was not a problem. Stefano and Yorlenny (the owners) keep the posada very very clean. All the common areas are perfect and rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels and wonderful flower touches everyday.
Free coffee, free washing machine, free internet...
A SPECIAL PLACE TO RECOMMEND

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The owners work very hard to keep Posada Matilori sparkling clean all the time. The rooms are very comfortable and come with extra touches like a fresh flower on our beds every day! The owners are very helpful and professional, recommending the best restaurant in town and giving their guests free use of wifi and boogie boards.


Posada Matilori is a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and pretty much anywhere you would want to go in Samara. It is a very relaxing place to stay and by far my favorite of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Oh and also a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Matilori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Matilori

Address: Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Matilori is a very nice, small and fun hostel located in the center of Samara, 100 m from the beach.The hostel is very brightly colored, with a great courtyard perfect for eating, socializing in many languages and hanging out. It has everything you need during your stay in Samara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Matilori Cabinas Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Matilori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostel Matilori to your Saves list