We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in Costa Rica!!! a really homy and very nice place nad owners!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Matilori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Matilori to your Saves list
Hostel Matilori
Playa Samara Center | 50m North, 25m West of Ice, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our home in Costa Rica!!! a really homy and very nice place nad owners!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

W were in this posada for three nights. we weren't sure about staying there for so long, but each day,beacuse it was such a great place, we decieded to stay another night... (our vacation were only three weeks in Costa Rica so we wanted to see a lot... but it was the longest we stayed in one place).
The place is very very clean, and the owners really make you feel at home. they also knows about the good beaches in that area, and they also told us about the big event which a lot of femals turtle r lying there eggs, without them telling us that we wouldnt know.
it also has a very nice kichen. a nice yard, close to the beach and located close to the center of Smara, but still it is a quiet place.
for a closer ill say that it was the best place we stayed in our honeymoon.
enjoy and Pura Vida

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Very clean and friendly hotel. A nice place to stay over, the owners are very helpfull and friendly. Use of free internet, washing machine, kitchen, body boards ect. The rooms are spotless and the beach is very close. Overall a very good place to stay!!

Regards,
Koen, Maartje and Marieke from Holland

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My Cousin and I stayed at the Posada Matilori for the second half of our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. The town was so nice and welcoming, and our experiences in Samara were amazing. I think staying at the Posada was a huge part of that. Stefano and Yorlenni were so sweet and helpful and just all around amazing people. We were sad to leave. The rooms were beautiful and the place was kept up immaculately. Having free laundry, internet and use of the kitchen was also a giant perk. I would definitely stay there again and will tell all my friends going to Samara to stay at Posada Matilori.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We were desperately looking for a good place where to sleep, after a nightmare night in hotel close to the beach. Luckily we found this nice place, in a side street, far enough from the noise, but at walking distance from the beach and amenities.

The description on Lonely planet guide is actually old: they have now 7 seven rooms and not 4, of different sizes and prices. They are divided in 2 small buildings. Both buildings have a common bathroom ad a big communal kitchen. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the woman of the house add here and there classy touches, like the fresh flower decorations on the freshly changed towels.

The bathroom is shared in both buildings: usually I prefer en suite, but the bathrooms were constantly cleaned, morning till evening and I felt perfectly ok in using them.
Also, our room was cleaned and the towels changed every day.

The Posada is quiet, super clean (the owners clean it from morning till evening continuously), and safe. There is free internet and a washing machine (a blessing for backpack travellers like us!).
The owners are very nice and helpful, and they speak spanish, english and italian.

We had also the the luck to see some monkeys passing by in the garden! Doesn't happen often, but can happen!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Posada is a charming little (4 rooms) place with character. The Italian/Tico staff are incredibly friendly & helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and nicely liveable. It's a m-minute walk to the beach. Americans, be aware that It's not intended to be a 5-star hotel, and the bathrooms are shared, which is problematic for some. We would definitely return. It has a fully-stocked shared kitchen if you wish to cook.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Posada Matilori is really the best place we stayed in Costa Rica.
We arrived in Samara and had a walk around the beach to find a place to stay but there the cabinas are not so clean and comfortable.
Posada Matilori instead is great. My only problem, at the beginning when we had to chose, was the shared bathroom. I always prefer private bathroom because you never know how the other guests will act but in this case there was not a problem. Stefano and Yorlenny (the owners) keep the posada very very clean. All the common areas are perfect and rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels and wonderful flower touches everyday.
Free coffee, free washing machine, free internet...
A SPECIAL PLACE TO RECOMMEND

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The owners work very hard to keep Posada Matilori sparkling clean all the time. The rooms are very comfortable and come with extra touches like a fresh flower on our beds every day! The owners are very helpful and professional, recommending the best restaurant in town and giving their guests free use of wifi and boogie boards.


Posada Matilori is a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and pretty much anywhere you would want to go in Samara. It is a very relaxing place to stay and by far my favorite of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Oh and also a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Matilori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Matilori

Address: Playa Samara Center | 50m North, 25m West of Ice, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is well known for it's charming ambiance and invites you to relax in its great atmosphere. This is the perfect place to meet other travellers and most important to have fun!! ; ) Our Hostel is parted in 2 buildings with a beautiful patio in the middle where you can meet up with other travellers or just chill out in the hammocks. Surrounded by two mango trees and the amazing Costa Rican wildlife you can see iguanas, monkeys and hummingbirds. We have 3 double rooms, 1 four-bed dorm and 1 six-bed dorm, all with shared bathroom and hot shower. The bright and friendly rooms are all well equipped with fans, cupboards and lockers. In the 2 community kitchens you'll find everything you need, even free cafe in the morning. : ) Our Hostel is located in the heart of Samara in a quiet street about 100 metres from the beach and the bus stop. Shops, supermarkets and nightlife are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Matilori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Matilori Cabinas Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Matilori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.