We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We planned to stay 3 nights, but we ended up stayng a whole week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Matilori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Matilori to your Saves list
Hostel Matilori
Playa Samara Center | 50m North, 25m West of Ice, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We planned to stay 3 nights, but we ended up stayng a whole week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We were desperately looking for a good place where to sleep, after a nightmare night in hotel close to the beach. Luckily we found this nice place, in a side street, far enough from the noise, but at walking distance from the beach and amenities.

The description on Lonely planet guide is actually old: they have now 7 seven rooms and not 4, of different sizes and prices. They are divided in 2 small buildings. Both buildings have a common bathroom ad a big communal kitchen. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the woman of the house add here and there classy touches, like the fresh flower decorations on the freshly changed towels.

The bathroom is shared in both buildings: usually I prefer en suite, but the bathrooms were constantly cleaned, morning till evening and I felt perfectly ok in using them.
Also, our room was cleaned and the towels changed every day.

The Posada is quiet, super clean (the owners clean it from morning till evening continuously), and safe. There is free internet and a washing machine (a blessing for backpack travellers like us!).
The owners are very nice and helpful, and they speak spanish, english and italian.

We had also the the luck to see some monkeys passing by in the garden! Doesn't happen often, but can happen!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Posada is a charming little (4 rooms) place with character. The Italian/Tico staff are incredibly friendly & helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and nicely liveable. It's a m-minute walk to the beach. Americans, be aware that It's not intended to be a 5-star hotel, and the bathrooms are shared, which is problematic for some. We would definitely return. It has a fully-stocked shared kitchen if you wish to cook.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Posada Matilori is really the best place we stayed in Costa Rica.
We arrived in Samara and had a walk around the beach to find a place to stay but there the cabinas are not so clean and comfortable.
Posada Matilori instead is great. My only problem, at the beginning when we had to chose, was the shared bathroom. I always prefer private bathroom because you never know how the other guests will act but in this case there was not a problem. Stefano and Yorlenny (the owners) keep the posada very very clean. All the common areas are perfect and rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels and wonderful flower touches everyday.
Free coffee, free washing machine, free internet...
A SPECIAL PLACE TO RECOMMEND

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The owners work very hard to keep Posada Matilori sparkling clean all the time. The rooms are very comfortable and come with extra touches like a fresh flower on our beds every day! The owners are very helpful and professional, recommending the best restaurant in town and giving their guests free use of wifi and boogie boards.


Posada Matilori is a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and pretty much anywhere you would want to go in Samara. It is a very relaxing place to stay and by far my favorite of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Oh and also a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed at this place for one night and while we did move after the first night, it was not because of any problem with the hotel or lack of hospitality. The *only* problem with this place is that it´s a couple blocks from the beach, which ultimately was too far for us as we just wanted to bum around on the beach and watch the sun set. There´s not really anywhere on the beach to just chill except for restaurants, so for us that was a big factor. However, everything else at the hotel is great and if you don´t mind walking in the hot sun to the beach, it´s a great value! The owners are super friendly and helpful and the places itself is very clean and charming. It does not have private bathrooms, which is another thing to keep in mind when deciding if that is an issue for you. There are 2 bathrooms for 4 rooms. A/C is $5 extra. The hotel has a kitchen which anyone can use, free coffee all day, and free use of the laundry machine. It also has free internet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We had a lovely stay at the Posada Matilori over Semana Santa. We paid $60/night (high season) including taxes, free coffee, tea, WiFi and full kitchen use. The house has four rooms total, most guests were friendly and noise-free. The Tica/Italian owners are very friendly and accommodating, always there to assist you with any questions. Fresh soap & towels every day, and air-conditioning is always nice during the dry & hot season. They also offer free use of their laundry facilities.

The rooms were very simple and clean, no frills, but with all the basic amenities: Cable TV, Air Con, dresser and orthopedic mattresses...comfy! The house is 2 blocks (250 meters) from the beach, a very short walk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I found this hostel to be 5 star for hostels. I can only concur with the review that preceded mine. the Italian owner and his Peruvian wife are very, very friendly and proffesional. Most of all, this place is spotless and safe.

  • Liked — CLEAN
  • Disliked — sharing room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Hostel
El Dorado Hostel
#2 of 19 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Matilori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Matilori

Address: Playa Samara Center | 50m North, 25m West of Ice, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is well known for it's charming ambiance and invites you to relax in its great atmosphere. This is the perfect place to meet other travellers and most important to have fun!! ; ) Our Hostel is parted in 2 buildings with a beautiful patio in the middle where you can meet up with other travellers or just chill out in the hammocks. Surrounded by two mango trees and the amazing Costa Rican wildlife you can see iguanas, monkeys and hummingbirds. We have 3 double rooms, 1 four-bed dorm and 1 six-bed dorm, all with shared bathroom and hot shower. The bright and friendly rooms are all well equipped with fans, cupboards and lockers. In the 2 community kitchens you'll find everything you need, even free cafe in the morning. : ) Our Hostel is located in the heart of Samara in a quiet street about 100 metres from the beach and the bus stop. Shops, supermarkets and nightlife are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Matilori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Matilori Cabinas Hotel Playa Samara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Matilori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.