We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life's a beach at the Kunterbunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt to your Saves list
Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt
Samara Beach East End, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Life's a beach at the Kunterbunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

On arriving, I thought the location a couple ok Km. from the town was inconvenient but I soon changed my mind because there is nothing so soothing as the sound of breaking surf outside the window in this isolated spot. The town is a bit brash anyway but if you must go there, it's accessible along the beach. Actually you can manage without the town's facilities because there is both a "soda" (locals' restaurant) and "pulperia" (village store) on the main road. The Kunterbunt is a quiet but friendly place with a nice garden for chilling out and a sizeable open-air kitchen. The only annoyance was a yapping dog next door; I won't say what the friendly resident Dobermann ought to do to it......otherwise an excellent place to relax, make friends and enjoy the Pacific sunsets.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room to avoid footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    3
    3
    14
See reviews for
5
28
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The place was very relaxed. It was not the cleanest place...given a dirty smelly towel and it was very noisy all night with barking dogs and chicken calls. Kitchen was convenient but also dirty and when guests gather round and smoke lots of cigarettes...it wanders up to the rooms. The owners were friendly. It was ok, but wouldn't return. Great location to beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

What a great place to stay. Stefan and Maria-Delores made us feel very welcome. They also helped us buy two kilos of shrimp and still warm freshly baked bread. The coffee in the morning is excellent. Their community kitchen is very clean and a great place to socialize with other guests.
If your looking for TV and Air conditioning don't stay here, but if you're seeking sun, surf and home style hospitality this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We were traveling with 3 adults & a baby and we had a great stay at Kunterbunt...Steffan & Delores who were running the place were very helpfull and very nice...perfect breakfast and beautifull views...definately a recommender...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

So I read about this place that says it has a friendly owner, but was sadly mistaken. This guy had a look of disgust on his face when he saw us and we were the only people there...He gave us a pretty bad price, my friend dumbly agreed to a price that was too high for a place with no one there. This guy had two friends or workers there who were also german, who were the most unfriendly people there. When I asked for a blanket, he said in costa rica we don't use blankets. My one friend actually needed a sheet for his bed, and he looked mad when he had to go get one. And by the way, the sheets on the beds were dirty and hadnt been cleaned in a couple weeks it looked like. So there is this grimy kitchen that we were allowed to use because the place was in the middle of nowhere, and they were out of soap. So I go to the front desk and ask to use some of their soap and this guy tells me, 'In Costa Rica, you have to buy your own soap and salt ( because i asked for salt).' And then he goes and asks the owner if he could give me two teaspoons of soap, which he regrettably did...the guy had a whole container and gave me a plastic shopping bag with two teaspoons of soap. This guy had to ask the owner if he was allowed to do this, maybe he was just angry that i interrupted their crazy European techno music in an empty house moment. Maybe. Anyways, this place was dirty, unfriendly, and horrible. The only reason you should stay here is if you want to murder someone and get away with it, because they wont clean your room for the next couple of weeks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We were recommended this place in the lonley planet, which we've decided should now be called Crowded Planet as everything in there is very much now on the beat and track and priced for sucker tourists.

Upon arriving at "kunterbunt" we walked into the eerily deserted reception in the big block " villa" that seems to serve only to restrict the view of the beach from the accommodation (we didn't get offered accommodation in the block despite being the only ones there)

After a minute in reception a bungy German dude came in to the recepton with a look of "what you doing in my house?" and barely greeted us hello before telling us the room prices and leading us to the lean to across the road behind the "villa". No friendly hello or welcome at all - we felt like intruders!

The atmosphere was that of some kind of derelict mental asylum not to put too fine a point on it. Themanager was wacked and the place felt like it might have been niceish once upon a time but was now worlds apart from the places for $5 more in town.

Turn around and bunt the hell away... preferably to the town side of the river that your host won't tell you about, but that prevents you getting home at high tide

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I came to Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt and didn't expect anything except for a cheap stay. I was pleasantly surprised to find the place run by a very nice couple who were more than willing to help me find activities to fill my free time with.

You can have a good but inexpensive breakfast which is served in the beachfront garden which is an excellent place just to hangout. Hammocks are provided. You can also rent kayaks and start your kayak or snorkelling trip directly at the beach behind the garden.

The Cabinas are situated ca. 2 km out of town directly at the marvellous Sámara Beach. To get into town you can either take the bus which runs hourly at a price of ca. 50 US cents or take a 20 mins walk down the beach. This is especially nice at sunset.

Don't expect to find any luxuries here: this is a cheap place. However, the rooms are spacious, light and clean. The fan provided sufficiently cool air and I found comparatively few ants in there...:)

For your convenience, there is a kitchen and a mini pool. Maybe the showers aren't hot, but who wants a hot shower in the sweltering temperatures of a Costa Rican summer?

Overall I had a great time in the Cabinas and say thank you to easy going Antje and Tommi :)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt

Address: Samara Beach East End, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.